2000 Saturn LW Reviews

2000 Saturn LW 2.2 liter from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Best car I've owned, and I've had 50+

Faults:

Transmission shifting cable broke 1st day I had it. Dealer fixed for no charge.

Power window switch replaced after drink spilled on it.

Sadly GM are closing down production of this line, which in my opinion is superior to most of the stuff imported or foreign owned.

General Comments:

Around town with A/C on 27-29 mpg. On a 3000 mile trip, got over 34 mpg loaded down with A/C on avg 70 mph.

Will get into traffic easily. Freeway on ramps are no problem.

Interior and fit much better than brother's same year Honda Civic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2009

9th Oct 2009, 19:04

"Sadly GM closing down production of this line, which in my opinion is superior to most of the stuff imported or foreign owned."

Well I guess my opinion is very different than yours.

Do you really think that Saturn is superior to premium brands from Germany, Sweden & Japan? Please!

9th Oct 2009, 20:50

Saturn is based on Opel. Opel is a foreign manufacturer. The reviewer says it's superior to anything foreign, and that's probably because it IS foreign.

2000 Saturn LW LW2 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

It is a very dependable family mover, good for the money

Faults:

I replaced the Mass Air Flow Sensor a month after I purchased car and the battery was replaced in Feb. Also the up and down for the power seat stopped working.

General Comments:

I bought the car for $6500 with 53k miles privately. We just had our first child and needed a roomy vehicle that wouldn't break the bank. So we opted for a wagon instead of a minivan or SUV. During the first weeks of owning it, I noticed hesitation occasionally and the check engine light came on, I took it to autozone and they said it was a bad Mass Flow Sensor, I replace it my self for $110 and it has been good ever since, I think that may have been the reason the other person sold the car, he may have thought it was something bad. Another time the engine light came and did not go off, I took it to the dealer and they had to replace the battery. Other than that it is a good car, we use it ever day and it has alway started and never broke down on us. It averages about 27 miles per gallon. Also the car has leather, power seats, mirrors, windows, heated seats and mirrors. We are having another child and have put another child seat in the rear. I want to get another year with it before buying a minivan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2007

2000 Saturn LW 1 L-series, Wagon 2.2 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

I t's going to hopefully last me a long time

Faults:

Covered under warranty: Part of the rear framework rusted out at 43,000.

Had a recall: ignition-module, no cost to me.

General Comments:

Handling is great and ride is comfortable.

I love the interior of my car, carmel and toffee colors with green exterior. Still looks brand new inside and out, (as I'm not hard on vehicles.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2005

2000 Saturn LW 300 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired205 miles
Most recent distance67305 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

An exceptionally nice car, poorly done!

Faults:

Replaced left rear McPherson strut 1800 miles.

Oil cooler and coolant bridge resealed for leaks 6800 miles.

Front cam cover gasket replaced for leaks at 7050 miles.

Front control arm bushings replaced and 4 new tires for abnormal front end vibration at 10090 miles.

Replace ignition lock housing tumblers for lockout at 11200 miles.

Replace power steering pump, water pump, timing belt and plastic wheel liner for power steering pump leak at 27000 miles.

4 wheel alignment and and rear suspension camber kit at 32000 miles for abnormal vibration.

Replaced fuel sender units for no fuel gage reading and intermediate steering shaft for power steering leak at 45089 miles.

Replaced MAF sensor for failed sensor at 55600 miles.

Replaced power steering rack and gear set for power steering failure at 59050 miles.

General Comments:

I definitely have a love/hate relationship with this car. It's a pure joy to drive with LOTS of power and superb handling, but I have to drive it to the dealer to get major problems fixed way too often. One of the main reasons I bought the car was Saturn's notable reputation for reliability and this car has been anything, but reliable. Saturn did stand behind their car by providing me with an extended warranty to 60,000 miles, which is the only reason I might consider another Saturn product rather than totally writing them off after this experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2004

13th Apr 2005, 12:18

We also own a 2000 LW3.

Like you, We love this car with regards to how it drives, its look and functional aspects. However, while my list of repairs is just as long as yours, it is mostly for other parts. We are at the end of our extended warranty and this worries me.

Unlike you, the whole experience (car and at times questionable service), has deterred us from an future purchase of a Saturn. Saturn put out an image of quality of product and service, but unfortunately, in our case, we did not get what we expected.

2000 Saturn LW LW1 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Faults:

Tear in driver's cloth seat from routine wear.

Car pulled to right severely; first service visit recommended that more air was needed in R front tire. Second visit recommended four brand new tires. Third visit recommended front end alignment. Problem recurred within 2 months; now the power steering linkage needs to be replaced at a cost of 1500$.

Power steering pump replaced at 36000 miles.

Replaced front brake pads at 60000 miles.

Air conditioning failed at 40000 miles; recharged. Failed again a few months later. They recharged and injected dye. Have never been able to identify the leak AND claim that it works "fine".

Driver door seal leaks water since approximately 40,000 miles.

Trunk tailgate lock broke at 2559 miles.

General Comments:

The center front console is too crowding for people with long legs.

The speed is relatively slow and has had multiple costly repairs since our warranty went out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2003

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews