2001 Saturn SL Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2001 Saturn SL SL2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance33500 miles

Summary:

Great for short women like me!

Faults:

Windows stopped working in the ghetto in the first few months. Free to fix though.

Radio went out in the first few months. Free to fix too.

Rack and Pinion went out in the first year. Free to fix.

Left Strut went out a few months later. Free to fix.

Car stalled on the way to emergency room - battery died. Replaced by Saturn for free.

General Comments:

A comfortable car for short people. Taller people can fit, but it's not as comfy for them. There are 5 seat belts, but realistically you can seat only 4 without squishing.

The trunk is a nice size, and the folding seats make it easier to haul/carry things.

Their 3 year/36000 mile warranty really came in handy. The warranty covers maintenance (oil changes) as well as broken parts.

I've taken this car on several vacations, and I use it for commuting as well. It gets great gas mileage, so it's pretty cheap to drive. Now that I'm out of warranty, the dealership prices for maintenance are just out of my league. They want $541 for the 36,000 mile check-up!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th July, 2004

2001 Saturn SL SL2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles

Summary:

Good reliable car, worth the money!

Faults:

The ignition wouldn't start on the first turn, and there was a slight sound in the transmission when the car was driven over 60 miles per hour. All of these problems were corrected under the warranty and the car has ran great ever since.

General Comments:

This is an excellent and reliable car. The service crew at Saturn is very helpful. Although I didn't purchase my vehicle at their dealership they still welcomed me with open arms. There were minor problems that I didn't notice with my car, and they corrected the problems before the problems were ever brought to my attention.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2004

2001 Saturn SL SL1 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35493 miles
Most recent distance35682 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

Great value

Faults:

No problems under the hood, but the interior seat fabric wears easily.

General Comments:

This car performs outstanding for the price. Acceleration is great for a 4 cylinder. The rust and dent proof door panels are a plus. This car comes with many standard safety features such as dual air bags, steel beams in doors, daytime running lights, and well-developed crumple zones.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2004

2001 Saturn SL SL2 1.9L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Good car for the money

Faults:

Leather on headrest came loose on the front passanger seat at 25,000 miles.

Driver side interior door panal cracked on the armrest at 32,000 miles.

Kick panel came loose on the center console at 35,000 miles.

All parts were repaired/replaced under warranty and have had not problems since.

General Comments:

The car runs smoothly and handles well. I have had not mechanical problems with the car yet.

Seats could be a little more comfortable for long trips. Your legs start falling asleep after about 2 hours.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2003

2001 Saturn SL 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance13550 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

A great cheap car that performs above its price

Faults:

The seats uncomfortable on long commutes.

General Comments:

The Saturn is awesome on gas and provides a quite smooth ride for $14,000. No problems so far and I am not expecting any. If I do have some problems, a friendly Saturn dealer will service my car exceptionally.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2001

24th Oct 2001, 23:50

I appreciate that your car is not that old, however these cars have many flaws. You should get rid as soon as possible, before the many problems arise. Believe me Saturn dealers are not friendly once they have sold you the vehicle. You will soon have a real oil burning motor. These cars are junk. If you do not believe me then check out past reviews. This is an outdated crude and rough engine. Do yourself a favour, get another car as soon as you are able.

2001 Saturn SL SL1 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance39000 kilometres

Summary:

Love my Saturn

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car... yet.

General Comments:

I positively love my Saturn. It's safe, and thus far very reliable.

I slid off the road when driving up north this winter. I might add on glare ice, down a hill, while speeding. And after spinning out, the car slammed sideways into a two foot tall wall of ice. Not surprisingly the car didn't have a scratch. It did however climb the ice without bending the axle or doing any serious damage to itself.

The SL1 handles very well for it's weight.

It truly is astounding as far as fuel efficiency goes.

However the fact that the car is so light causes problems on exceptionally windy days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2001

2001 Saturn SL SL1 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance250 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Great value, great service, good car

Faults:

As a second time Saturn owner, my 2001 SL1 has not had any mechanical problems at this time. I am still with in the break in period, and it was delivered to me in flawless condition by my retailer.

General Comments:

This is the second Saturn I have leased and I find it to be a good value to own. Saturn is currently offering Zero due at lease signing for all SL1 models leaving customers only responsible for taxes and the first months payment (around $800-1400).

After looking around, most car companies are asking for ludicrous amounts of money due at lease signing. My previous 1998 Saturn served me well, and my 2001 is much improved in terms of quietness, refinement, and value. Give it a look, you might be surprised.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2001

10th Feb 2002, 11:57

I own a 2001 SL with a manual transmission. It is in the shop now for the third time. At 11,000 miles the synchro rings went and the transmission locked up. Now the bell housing is leaking. It has been replaced once, but is now leaking again. The transmission does not shift smoothly like other cars I have had. I really like this car, it is fun, cheap to operate, and I just like it. But I am getting concerned that it will not last and that the transmission is just weak. The car has 14,800 miles on it.

I hope I am wrong.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 29 reviews