1994 Saturn SW Reviews

1994 Saturn SW SW2 Station Wagon 4cly. Twin Cam from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4cly. Twin Cam Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance69800 miles
Previous carPlymouth Plymouth

Summary:

Great Value for 14 year old car!!

Faults:

I have enjoyed driving my 1994 Saturn SW2 Station Wagon for a number of years. We are the orginal owners and recently while trying to reset my odometer for a reading on a trip, my odometer stopped working altogether? Other than gas/oil/tires, etc.. the car with its twin cam engines runs like a top at 65+ mph on highways.. any suggestions to get the odometer running again?

General Comments:

Very spunky engine and great handling automobile..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2008

1994 Saturn SW SW2 1.9L DOHC from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired112500 miles
Most recent distance124188 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

Despite how I don't like small cars, this one is handy and runs well, Worth investing some new parts

Faults:

Ignition Cylinder at 118,000 miles.

Transmission Intermittent problems at 122,000 miles

(Found Transmissions on Saturns this vintage have problems with iron deposits and bad valve bodies. This can be frustrating at times because it will not upshift or engage if hot).

Burns approx. 1 qt every 2,000 miles.

Catylitic Converter at 114,000 miles (plugged with carbon from oil burning)

Some sun damage from being an Arizona vehicle (after 100,000 miles or so)

General Comments:

It's a nice car, gets better mileage than my '92 Cutlass Ciera did, but definitely not as comfortable. Too small to me, but then again this is coming from someone used to full size Cadillacs, Ford LTDs and Lincolns.

Good for travel, I use it going up north, and an optional roof rack helps a lot for carrying larger items.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2007

1994 Saturn SW 2 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

It's probably lasting longer than the average GM or Ford

Faults:

I have had to replace two generators, 3 batteries and the starter. I have always suspected a problem with the electrical system, but the dealership says no. I have a minor oil leak that would cost $300 to repair because of the difficulty in getting to the oil pan. Three of the four electric windows stopped working, and Saturn wanted $300 apiece to repair them. A local auto glass repair shop repaired all 3 for $400 total. One window just needed reconnected; somehow the "band' that controlled it had come off. The driver's seat became very worn by 2002.

General Comments:

I was told by the dealer that this car would last as long as a Toyota. Not so - it's been falling apart by degrees for a number of years. My next car will be a Toyota again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2007

1994 Saturn SW SW2 1.9L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

Summary:

Very reliable car, great manufacturer

Faults:

I have had to replace several exhaust pieces, including the catalytic convertor, the downpipe, and the muffler around 145k miles. I believe these were all original parts when I received the car, so they lasted their time.

Some people claim to have had longer life out of the clutch, but my car's is in need of replacement at 160k. This is completely normal as far as the current mileage is concerned.

General Comments:

This car is really nice and I've enjoyed having it as long as I have. It's time to find a replacement for it though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2005

1994 Saturn SW sw1 1.7L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance95500 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Plain vanilla wagon that gets the job done, and needs all-wheel-drive to excel

Faults:

Replaced front disc pads at @69k miles. An easy repair for me.

Clutch/throw-out bearing failure/replaced at 88000 miles.

Sparkplugs/wires/airfilter at 91000 miles. Easy repair.

Rocker-arm shaft broke/replaced at 92000 miles.

O2 sensor replaced at 93000 miles. All Service Engine codes now extinguished. Easy repair.

Oil consumption at 1 quart per 600 miles, starting from my purchase. Switched from 5w30 oil to 20w50 oil. Apparently oil consumption reduced to 1 quart per 2100 miles.

Seat partly caved-in due to heavy use. Not "necessarily" due to my slight over-weight problem. ;) ;)

Chronic shimmy circa 60mph due I suspect to out-of-balance tires. More later...

General Comments:

This is a good car that I use for work, five days a week.

Recent 5mph "collision" with taxicab was repaired by wiping his car's paint off my right passenger door. Microscopic damage is invisible.

I don't trust this TEN-year old car for cross-country trips. Still, I kinda like it. I wish it had all-wheel-drive, like my Subaru.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

1994 Saturn SW SW2 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10

Faults:

Overheating. Engine blew out on me. Stranded on interstate. Had to purchase a new engine.

Also: starter problems. Car would not start. Have had this looked at several times by service places. Power locks went out.

General Comments:

Horrible experience. Will never buy a General Motors car again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 1999

11th Dec 2000, 15:49

I have found the car to be great for me. I purchased my 1994 SW2 with 87,000, and it's still running like a champ at 132,000 just one year later. I'm one satisfied customer.

17th Dec 2001, 14:14

I bought an SW2 with 132K on the odometer. In the year and a half I've owned it, since then I've spent $850 on it for repairs and replacement of old worn out parts (i.e. driver's seat, driver's door armrest, and steering wheel).

When the car hit 195K, I bought another Saturn and now race this one on the local autocross circuit. For a cheap little entry level wagon, nothing beats this car.

8th Feb 2003, 13:13

I bought my 94 sw2 with 90,000 miles on it. 2 years later, I've put 40,000 miles on it and have replaced nothing but the tires. It needs about $250 of exhaust work, but it's still going strong without it. Very reliable car.

12th Oct 2003, 13:58

I recently bought a 1994 SW2 with about 96000 miles. After replacing on bulb in the left fog light, I have had no problems. Awesome car.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 6 reviews