2005 Scion xB Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2005 Scion xB from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Muffler gasket burned out. $30 to fix.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is great for a family of 4.

Handles great in the snow. I drive on icy roads and it doesn't drift at all. One time I hit a snow patch at 45 MPH, which sent me nearly sideways, and I was able to regain control correct it.

It's not a race car. Not even close. But it is comfortable at all speeds.

I'm a huge fan of a manual transmission, and I'm so happy that Scion offers it.

It is surprisingly big considering how small it is. It's big enough that I took it to Home Depot and bought sixteen 8' 1x4s. They fit no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2009

2005 Scion xB from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles

Summary:

Car of the future

Faults:

Aftermarket windshield leaks.. but was covered under the warranty, no biggie.

Floor cover torn a little.

General Comments:

Very economical plenty of go power.. not for high speed chases, but very practical and efficient.. kind of reminds me of a Tercel.. gas mileage is pretty good, but it feels good and tight.

LOOK OUT FOR SALVAGED SCIONS.. I noticed a 1/3 of the scions listed were salvaged.. they are designed for passengers to make it, not the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2006

2005 Scion xB 1.5 VVT from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 VVT Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carToyota Previa

Summary:

Comfortable, Economical and Da Bomb to Drive!!

Faults:

Not one single problem in 20,000 miles of Houston freeway goose and go.

General Comments:

We bought the car on Memorial Day weekend 2005. This coming weekend makes for one year with what we consider to be one of the best cars we have purchased to date.

This little car is amazingly spacious. It is economical and averages about 31 around town in traffic and we recently got 39.7 mph on a highway trip averaging 70 mph with no cruise control. VERY impressed.

Kudos to the dealer for their impeccable service. They treat us the same whether we roll-up in our new Scion or our 16 year old Previa sporting 200,000 miles on the odometer.

The only thing we would change about the car is to add an extension onto the sun visor as is it totally inadequate when used to the side.

Drop the Hybrid Synergy Drive system into this car and you would have a truly awesome vehicle.

The Vehicle Stability Control that came standard costs thousands on comparable vehicles if it is available at all. It took over the other day in a cornering situation in the rain and WOW it worked perfectly. AWESOME!

Can't wait to add a second xB to our driveway soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2006

2005 Scion xB 1.5L VVT-i engine from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5L VVT-i engine Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance180 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Best. Car. Ever

Faults:

Nothing so Far.

General Comments:

I love driving this car! It may be only a 4 cylinder, but it's quick, and handles superbly. I have had no problems with getting up to speed, or passing on the freeways.

When driving around town, people walking on the sidewalk, and even other motorists notice the car and stare openly, which kind of gives you a cool feeling.

The gas mileage is good, clocking in at an average of 30MPG city, and 35MPG freeway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

21st Mar 2005, 12:21

The Scion is a remarkably bland, underpowered car. I traded mine in after 2 months of ownership for a Chevy Cobalt. The Cobalt has more standard horsepower, better styling, plus you get that great GM feeling!

11th Apr 2005, 12:17

The car is the farthest from being "bland". It may be a little under powered, but the aware and conscious buyer would know that this engine is no "power house" and the car is built for its looks, modification ability, and for cruising- not for racing. It has an excellent resale value, almost more than the MSRP, and is an incredible buy.

Keep in mind when looking at this car and another, like the Cobalt, that the Scion is made by Toyota- a manufacturer whose cars have a very high resale value, unlike many Chevys. Plus you have the reliabilty of a Toyota.

All in all, if you're looking to race, this is not the car for you, but if you are looking for comfort, style, reliability, great gas mileage, and overall exceptional value and performance- then this is your car!

2005 Scion xB 1.5 Liter from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance451 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Very unique, and fun to drive!

Faults:

I have had only one problem thus far. The motor mount on the drivers side was loose. They tightened it and everything else is great.

General Comments:

This car is very unique. I get a lot of funny looks while I'm driving, but I like that.

Very roomy, there is plenty of leg room in the back seat as well as the front. Enough leg room that my 6' 6" friends are comfortable, not just o.k. back there.

The cargo space is small when the seat are up. When they are down though, there is lots of space.

The acceleration is weak, but the gas mileage is great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2005

30th Jul 2005, 09:29

I love the Scion xB. Sure, it's underpowered, but you can't beat the versatility and gas mileage for the money. And the looks? They're obviously hit or miss (see first comment) - I love these cars!

19th Aug 2005, 10:00

Seems like only people in US think that they are ugly. Yes it's not Hemi or F150. I drive 2003 F150 now, and I'm thinking to switching to an xB. You get so much more than what you pay for with those cars. I don't think I need a truck to drive me to work, I'm not that heavy. Plus with Scion I can have more 2 people in my car. I would use truck on weekends to haul dirt bikes. My wife was saying the same thing, how ugly they were, until we went to dealership and drove one. She was like awww, I had no idea. xBs rule...

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 13 reviews