1991 Seat Ibiza L 1.2 from UK and Ireland


Great little car


Front wings started to rust from the inside. On closer inspection, I found this to be due to a previous front end accident. Since they are bolt-on, I replaced them myself quite easily at a cost of £60 for the pair.

The Pierburg carburettor developed a fault at 40000 miles. It is very difficult to start in cold weather, stalls at every road end until the engine is warmed up, and is "lumpy" at idle speed even when warm. I am currently considering a Weber conversion.

Rear nearside window glass sliders have rusted. The window will open, but won't close with the winder.

General Comments:

Considering this car's age and small engine size, it's quick off the mark and very responsive.

The paint has stood up well to the elements. After a wash & wax, it still comes up like new.

Although the car is small, the boot space is enormous. (Mine is a hatchback.)

My Ibiza is the entry level "L" spec. It has manual steering which feels quite heavy when parking. However, it handles well and corners like a dream.

The interior is very basic, but it's still clean and tidy after 11 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2002

4th Feb 2003, 06:12

I also own a Seat Ibiza GLX 1.5 I need some sites to go on, and has anyone got any cheap alloys? my email address is maxamillon_1@yahoo.com.

1991 Seat Ibiza Special 903cc from UK and Ireland


A great little car - Go buy one


Rotor Arm Broke Didn't Cost Much got a new one for £10.

Light Bulbs Went - cheaply fixed at Halfords.

Exhaust Rings Went - again Cheaply fixed under £2.00 from Halfords.

General Comments:

My car has a tiny engine is over 10 years old and still runs like a dream!.

I find the car to be very comfortable, although the interior is gloomier than a Mortuary.

This Car is great well worth a look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2002

4th Nov 2015, 22:24

That 903cc OHV FIAT derived motor was a peach - always went well despite its size, and when it went wrong, it was easily and cheaply fixed.

Saw service in loads of FIAT, SEAT, Yugo and other makers' models.

1991 Seat Ibiza clx 1.2 from Spain


Surprisingly faster


Water pump was broken with 44000 km.

Exhaust pipe broken 3 times during cars life, last time with 58000 km.

Some noises when the road is not good.

General Comments:

Sometimes I think it has more than 63hp.

It allows me travelling faster than the rest of the traffic. I often go at about 150 km/h at 4500 RPM, and twice at 190-195 (6100 RPM) in a long slope.

It is not very good in slow curves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2002

2nd Feb 2005, 09:05

I have ibiza 1992 with 1.5 litre it goes to 190,195 with 6100 rpm,

1991 Seat Ibiza GLX 1.2 from UK and Ireland


A dream first car, much faster than a Nova, worth taking a look at


Speedo stopped working, need a new transducer.

Both wings have started to rust through really bad.

Exhaust cracked where joined to manifold, quite expensive for a new middle section.

Boot won't open for some reason.

Gear box crunches when put in 3rd gear, clutch pedal squeaks.

General Comments:

Very nippy car, nice bottom end. Beat a Ford Sierra Sapphire 1.8GLX.

Nice looking car, a bit boxy, could do with a wider wheel base.

Brakes aren't too good, but still work.

Tracking is easily knocked out.

Interior is a bit tatty, cheap materials used. But for £500 it's an excellent car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

9th Mar 2003, 13:22

There's no way a 1.2 ibiza will beat a 1.8 sierra in a race. 1.8 sierras are actually very quick considering their weight. as far as I know they have nearly double the power of a 1.2 ibiza.

I suspect they guy you "thought" you were racing was actually just driving normally ;)

1991 Seat Ibiza GLX 1.2 from UK and Ireland


A quick, nice looking car


Speedo not working correctly. It says I'm going slower than I am i.e. doing 50mph on the clock, really doing 70mph.

Thermostatic switch had already gone when I bought it, found out on the first day as my car over heated as the fan didn't come on. Cracked all my water reservoir. Just fit a switch in dash to switch the fan on manually.

Hand brake cable and brakes went, cost a lot to get fixed.

Window glass came out of bracket and hence the glass just drops.

Distributor seal went and oil was leaking out of it into the distributor cap. Got one out of a scrap yard and cost me £30!

Throttle cable snapped.

Clutch went after 1 year of owning. Already had one fitted 3 years ago by the previous owner.

General Comments:

The car is very quick off the mark.

The gears are easy to change.

The engine is a System Porsche and sounds good and has always started. I get a top speed of about 100 MPH (I had to have someone following me as my speedo doesn't work!).

Fully colour coded body kit, i.e spoiler, skirts, wheel arch covers and fully colour coded bumpers.

Smoked back lights.

Mines is also jet black, which comes up new every time I wash and polish it.

Haven't got any alloys on though.

Interior is gray and dull, and the seats are hard and uncomfortable.

The seating position is too high.

Costs a lot for parts, and it's a group 6 insurance for only a 1.2.

This car only cost me £600, and it's been worth it, even though I've had problems, but you get that with old cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2001

29th Oct 2003, 16:36

We add a 1.2 system paorche seat and it was a great little car and we got about 115mph out of it and its quicker than out 1.4 Saxo. but after all our fun we had loads of problems and found out it was a write off shame.

16th Nov 2004, 09:53

Just a bit of info.

The body kit for the Ibiza was factory standard and your best of going to a scrap yard to find one, maybe a 1.5 of the more rare 1.7 sport line. Get the alloys off it to complete the look!

Anyone who's finding that their car is stalling in the cold this season, try pulling the electrical heater connection off and just let the car rev high until the water heats up. It should then run fine.

If the car is crunching gears going into 3rd then it means the syncro mesh has had it and in most Ibiza's it has. Just let the revs drop before you change down to prevent it!

I owned one of these for a while, might buy another if I come across a mint sportline.

5th Nov 2007, 12:50

I have a 1.2 GLX Ibiza. Nice little car, and it's very quick. I've been running it now for two years, but I have had many problems including some of the ones shown above.

My speedo was wrong by only 8mph, but now it's died completely.

I also have the problem with 3rd gear, but as well with others gears sometimes, no matter the revs.

The car is also claimed to do around 41mpg, but I'm lucky to get around 20mpg out of it.

Most importantly is to NOT wheel spin the car; it has a very poorly made engine bracket on it, as I found out when my engine fell out.

Asides from that's she a beauty, very good looking, and generally fun to drive.

Can anyone help me out? Will a 1.5i engine fit into a 1.2 J reg Ibiza???


1991 Seat Ibiza XL 1.2 from UK and Ireland


A reliable, interesting car


Timing belt failure - my fault, destroyed the valves. Fixed fairly cheaply considering. Apart from that, just a couple of door handles.

General Comments:

A lot of fun to drive. Never gets boring.

Excellent seats, driving position and visibility.

Autochoke was hopeless. Had a manual choke fitted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2001

29th Dec 2007, 12:44

These are nice cars, but quite tinny large interior space. They are drivers cars, but I had a 1.2 that lacked power and was difficult to modify; no parts listed for them. The 1.5 engine was the dog danglies.

1991 Seat Ibiza XLS, last of the mk1s 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland


Best way to buy a Volkswagen


Water pump after 90mph for 4 hours, my fault.

Cracked distributor cap, failed to start.

General Comments:

Very reliable if serviced properly and not thrashed.

System Porsche head on VW block is surprisingly nippy. Best over 2000 rpm, loves the motorway.

Galvanised body means only superficial rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2000