2000 Seat Ibiza .cool 1.4 from UK and Ireland


Money can't buy better.


Tape player didn't work from when I got the car. Replaced under warranty but took more than 8 weeks to order and fit replacement.

Black trim around gear knob has worn slightly. This started at 2000 miles.

General Comments:

The Volkswagen engine is smooth and refined.

The Ibiza handles really well on corners.

Very quiet inside, even at speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2001

2000 Seat Ibiza Cupra 1.8 turbo from Finland


Best performance car out there in this price range


The ABS box and cabling got water in thus the whole car didn't work. Brakes, traction control, gas pedal.. etc. The problem was traced to faulty parts and they are now changed. The dealer was very helpful on offered me stuff and a free temporary car for the duration of the service. No problems since.

For the record: the 206 GTi was a pain in the butt all the time I had it, and the dealer was not helpful at all. I drove 30000 km with the 206, had it for 6 months.

General Comments:

Great car as a basis for a tuning project, engine can give close to 300 hp with a turbo change etc. 200 hp quite painlessly.

Torque steer is massive and steering a little too soft for a car of this type, but not a big concern, fixable.

Suspension also a little too soft, but a very good compromise on performance and comfort.

Have driven all the cars on this price range and I can say the Cupra is the best performance car for the money.

Could use 200hp under the hood, but as aimed for a larger public (consumption), 160 hp is enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2001

2000 Seat Ibiza Cupra 1.8 20VT from UK and Ireland


Best performance car for the money!


Nothing major. One loose bit of interior trim, fixed by the dealer. One incorrectly fitted grommet.

General Comments:

As fast as you like. Sticks to the road like glue, though the torque steer can be massive. The car has every bit of kit you want. I paid £12150 from a main dealer with CD, pre-registered.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

17th Jun 2001, 12:35

The 20VT is a fantastic car for the money. My only complaints would be fairly loud road noise in the cabin and a recurring loose, squeaking dash board. Otherwise it has been great,

2000 Seat Ibiza .cool 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland


A VW for Seat money, bargain!


Rear brakes needed cleaning out after 1000 miles.

Tailgate lock became faulty after 2000 miles - awaiting replacement (design fault I was told).

Heater/radio MFD has a loose wire, being sorted when the car goes back for a new tailgate lock.

Front feft tweeter crackles sometimes, being sorted when car goes back for a new tailgate lock.

General Comments:

Replaced the standard 13" steel wheels with a set of 15" OZ Alloys with Toyo T1-S tyres, the car now handles 10x better and really corners well, it also looks the dogs danglees.

The car does approx 40 mpg on a long run and around 35mpg around town.

Not too sure on the mpg with the A/C on as it hasn't been that hot yet :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2001

2000 Seat Ibiza Sport 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland


Fantastic looking, distinctive, sporty and great fun!


Couple of switches etc needed replacing, but dealer fixed them without query.

General Comments:

This is my first car from new, and I couldn't have chosen a better one. It goes great, looks fantastic, and I've seen only one other on the road in almost a year - hence it sticks out.

It's a bit thirsty (32ish MPG, pretty much no matter how you drive it) and because I'm under 25, insurance could be lower, but it's worth it for the fun and features of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2001

22nd Jan 2001, 13:46

Do you know whether the radio can be changed and upgraded for another standard size one?

12th Feb 2001, 06:21

Without ripping the dashboard apart and changing the stereo from behind (and I'm not sure even that would work), no you can't change the stereo. However, I think the standard unit is pretty good. Maybe the speakers could be better, but I put in a Pioneer CD changer with conversion cable, and it sounds great. Remember, people will turn to hear the exhaust grumble more than your taste in drum n' bass!!