2002 Seat Ibiza Reviews - Page 2 of 7

2002 Seat Ibiza SE 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Wish I'd never bought it!

Faults:

Engine management sensor since day 1 of purchase.

Passenger and driver windows both needed to be replaced within 3 months of purchase.

Wing needed to be resprayed after a period of frost - 5 days after purchase.

Ignition coils - now on 4th set.

Door seal on passenger side.

Bushes on both sides of car needed to be replaced Christmas 2006.

Cracked suspension coil discovered Easter 2007 with broken bearing as well!

General Comments:

Fuel consumption is very good and the car handles well.

CD system great as is the air con.

The rest of it, well it's a disaster zone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th April, 2007

15th Apr 2007, 16:11

Could not agree more, the Seat products are no where near as reliable as VW products, especially the dealers and Seat UK, they're way behind for customer care.

2002 Seat Ibiza 1.2S 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Rover 416

Summary:

Car excellent to drive, but now lack confidence in the car due to these faults

Faults:

Rear window heater switch from purchase.

Rear washer fault within months of purchase.

Dealer who supplied the car was useless as they could not get parts from Seat and were very unhelpful.

Replacement suspension bushes year 4 after only 16000miles.

Broken main suspension spring at 17000miles.

General Comments:

The car generally has run well, but clearly suspension faults has occurred after running the car for a relatively low mileage.Unfortunately these faults occurring out-with the warranty period.

Communication with Seat U.K. via e-mail was not helpful as they were unwilling to consider any action as the car was 4 years old and the mileage was considered irrelevant.

I am now not confident about this car and would not buy another Seat model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2007

2002 Seat Ibiza s 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carSeat Arosa

Summary:

Unreliable components and costly repair

Faults:

2 Sets of coil packs have broken

Lights on dashboard needles did not work

Rear Windscreen Wash stopped working 3 times

Lower bushes on front suspension

Passenger window fallen out

Plastic Clip holding the Bonnet Support is Broken

Oxygen Sensor

Timing Chain Tensioner and guide

Glove Compartment Door gets caught

Seat-belt does not retract on drivers side.

General Comments:

The car handles OK and is economic.

A little bit lacking in power, but not bad for a 1.2 3 cylinder engine.

In my experience very Unreliable with many faults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2007

3rd Jul 2008, 17:18

Totally agree, almost everything in this review has also happened to my ibiza.

2002 Seat Ibiza 1.4 Chill 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carSeat Cordoba

Summary:

Good (so far)

Faults:

Nothing as yet.

General Comments:

Looks good (silver)

Well speced - a/c, climate, alloys, 6 disc autochanger, headlamp protectors etc.

Not quite as quick as the Cordoba, but then it has a slightly smaller engine.

Comfort is good, although access to rear seats could be better. If only Seat had fitted sliding as well as tilting seats. Reasonably airy cabin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2006

2002 Seat Ibiza s 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

The car is a lemon and SEAT should take responsibility for selling unfit products

Faults:

I purchased the car as a one and a half year old from a dealership.

The engine diagnostic light has lit up 8 times (5 times there was nothing wrong and eventually a part was replaced under warranty).

The rear windscreen washer failed to work after 2 months.

After the 3 year warranty ended the car went into self-destruct mode. The drinks holder snapped off.

The petrol cap rubber attachment snapped.

The suspension started creaking and twice it had to be returned to the garage for wishbone and bushes to be replaced.

One of the rear lights only works when it feels like it.

The catalytic converter now has failed.

I had previously written to SEAT UK twice, but never got a reply (apparently due to the dealership giving me the wrong building in the address - still someone could have passed it on). Obviously with the latest problem the cost will come to around £1400 on repairs in 6 months.

SEAT's goodwill gesture is to meet half of the cost of labour and parts for the catalytic converter only. I am devastated.

Two dealerships out of three I have dealt with have been rude, unhelpful and overcharged me blatently. When approached about it they turn their backs on me.

General Comments:

I will never buy a SEAT again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2006

8th Mar 2006, 13:31

Your lucky seat uk rang back!!

9th Mar 2006, 16:02

I totally agree with the comments made. The AA had to rescue me today. Out of the 4 coils that are fitted in the engine 2 have failed in the last 3 months. Just a few days after the 3 year warranty ceased. This was just the icing on the cake as during the warrnaty period we had already had 2 new coils replaced, new window motors in both passenger and driver. Oh and a paint job on the side panel after a period of heavy snow appeared to wash the paint away!

Buyer Beware is all I can say.

Main Dealer totally unhelpfulland we have had to fight all the way to get the warranty jobs done.

I am going back to buying non European.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 29 reviews