2000 Seat Toledo Reviews

2000 Seat Toledo Stella 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Great car, affordable, comfortable and powerful all in one

Faults:

Nothing, clutch is slightly loose, but perfect otherwise.

General Comments:

Very comfortable and easy to drive over long distance, handling is exceptional and reactions are very quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2007

2000 Seat Toledo 20VSE 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28600 miles
Most recent distance29100 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

So far, I'm very happy, and apart from one or two little niggles mentioned it hasn't missed a beat

Faults:

Faulty brake light switch. Very common on equivalent VW's, Audis and Skodas apparently. A very minor thing in itself, but would not allow the car to come out of 'park', being an automatic. Unit replaced.

Slight connection fault on the drivers reading lamp. Unit replaced.

Drivers door lock a little stiff. Lubricated and now fine.

No other faults, and still very happy.

General Comments:

I was looking for a German car, but couldn't find one with less than 100,000k on the clock for what I was prepared to pay. It was then I considered the Seat Toledo. It's a Volkswagen-Audi under the skin. For £3995 I got a German-built car with a genuine 28,600 on the clock.

With a 1.8 20 valve Volkswagen-Audi engine, it'll soak up the miles with ease. Even though it is an automatic, and is therefore slightly more thirsty, it's a doddle to drive. The performance is stunning accompanied by a raucous note from the twin exhausts.

I had a choice of two models; a 1.8S and a 1.8SE. I decided to go for the higher spec SE. It's got cruise control, climate control, ABS, traction control, all round electric windows, six airbags, six track Cd multi-changer and cassette Sony stereo, computer, all round disc brakes, front and rear headrests, power steering, remote central locking, four speed intermittent wipe, front and rear fog-lights... I could go on.

With the package I got, for the money I spent...unless you are a badge snob, why pay all that extra for an Audi or Volkswagen badge?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2006

1st Nov 2006, 07:49

Why pay for the AUDI or other german brand?

I will tell you why.

The Seat is not an AUDI or an WV.

The price is lower for a reason.

How many good looking older Seats do you see on the.

Road?

I live in Sweden and the Seats produced during the 90:s cannot live up to AUDI/WV quality.

However other brands have managed to climb up the quality ladder and I hope that Seat will follow them too.

I myself drive a 1989 Peugeot 405 in nice condition.

Good luck with your car and I hope you will enjoy it for many years.

2000 Seat Toledo SE 1.9 TDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

A superb car for the money

Faults:

Absolutely nothing until over 60,000 miles when the transponders (on the keys for the remote locking) failed.

Light knocking from anti-roll bars over bumps from 50,000 miles. This was checked out and assured safe, so it doesn't bother me.

General Comments:

With the TDi engine you can have your cake and eat it! Loads of mid-range torque for overtaking on country roads, effortless motorway cruising and never less than 48mpg!

The Toledo is easy, quiet and smooth to drive, with sharp steering and good brakes. The ride could be a little bit firmer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2003

2000 Seat Toledo V5 V5 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A good friend for a long time to come

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong at all, it just runs and runs.

The Ground clearance of 3.5" (8.5 cm) between the front tires lets me "kiss" the speed bumps a little to often. I do not know of he previous owner has lowered the suspension.

General Comments:

Best car-buy I ever made. Sporty car with all the mod-cons you wish for. I love how the radio reduces the volume when you slow down the car. My V5 has full options (CD-changer, leather, ABS, TC, electric's all around)

Cheaper than a Golf or A3 but much more toys for your money.

I run on LPG gas without any problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2002

27th Jul 2002, 17:29

My Toledo TDiSE is a marvellous car. Never anything wrong with the car, absolutely perfect.

It has an incredible amount of extras. I listen to classical music with the 6-CD autochanger. It is also such a lovely looking car. I have now done 63,000 miles with it.

2000 Seat Toledo SE 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance11200 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

An excellent car if you don't mind the cramped rear seats

Faults:

Right hand headlamp unit not working on delivery.

Brake discs badly corroded after the car was left in the garage for 8 weeks while I was in hospital.

General Comments:

This is a company car, chosen because it gave the most "bangs per buck" in terms of equipment, performance and tax-efficiency.

In general I have been very pleased with it - it is very well equipped (climate, CD autochanger, 4 electric windows, alloys, ABS+TC+EBD, trip computer etc), economical (50+ mpg except when mainly used in town), gives excellent mid-range performance and is comfortable on long journeys.

My only serious complaint is the extremely cramped rear seat space. I'm 5'11", but if I set the driving seat to be comfortable, only a child could sit behind me. As it's driven one-up 95% of the time this isn't a problem for me, but I would suggest anyone buying one as a family car take a serious look at this.

But it does pretty much all the old-model Audi 100 TDi did for £5k less.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2001

2000 Seat Toledo 1.6 manual from Singapore

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 manual Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Luxurious performance car at a bargain

Faults:

Notchy 1st and 2nd gear, sometimes hard to engage gears.

General Comments:

Value-for-money car, where can you get a VW/Audi car at a fraction of their cost and loaded with more options?

Build quality is up there together with VW/Audi.

Comfort and handling is way much better than any Japanese car I've driven.

However, 1.6 engine is 8V tech. Should wait for the 16V version. Engine performance is not bad but not as fast as Japanese cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2001

6th Aug 2001, 16:13

I own a new diesel Toledo and I find it a truly marvellous car. Beautifully built and so far totally reliable. So many people comment about what an outstandingly good looking car it is. My car is Indigo blue.

2000 Seat Toledo S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

A great bargain

Faults:

Everything is fine.

General Comments:

Great value for money, just like a Volkswagen Bora, but £3000 cheaper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews