2001 Skoda Fabia Reviews - Page 5 of 7

2001 Skoda Fabia Elegance 1.9TDi from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9TDi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carSkoda Octavia

Summary:

Unexpected driving experiences

Faults:

I am now using my third set of tyres.

I am now having my third set of main lightbulbs installed.

General Comments:

This car has a very good performance, plenty of room for passengers and luggage en looks very nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2004

2001 Skoda Fabia Classic 1.9 SDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 SDI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

It does what it says on the can

Faults:

At 32000 miles, the stitching on the driver's seat started to fail. The dealer immediately accepted that this fault is covered under the manufacturer's warranty. Whilst the dealer was fitting the replacement seat cover, the stitching on that failed resulting in some damage to the internal parts of the seat back. The dealer has ordered a replacement seat back which will hopefully be fitted in the near future. The seat remains usable whilst awaiting the replacement of this part.

General Comments:

There are two minor design faults worthy of mention.

Firstly, the boot can only be opened by a lever inside the car by the driver's door which is a nuisance when wanting access to the boot only and not the car's interior - a boot lock is far more practical and no less secure.

Secondly, rear visibility is relatively poor due to the thickness of the rear pillars.

Other than that, an excellent car giving 50+ mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2003

6th Jan 2004, 04:43

The OEM power locks has that nice button on rear door that allows you to open trunk from outside. Furthermore, if you have remote control, it allows you to open trunk only just by pressing the button.

I own '01 Fabia Combi Classic with such power locks and recently I had my dealer to set it up for automatic locking after car set up on movement. I like it a lot!

4th Nov 2007, 17:12

1.4 Classic Fabia - sluggish and thirsty - would go back to my Peugeot 306 1.9td any day! - (if it hadn't died of old age!)

If I had a bit more money to spend, I would definitely have gone for the golf equivalent 1.9 TDI Fabia. Hey-ho, beggars can't be choosers as they say!

2001 Skoda Fabia Comfort 1.4 (8v) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 (8v) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

A solid investment

Faults:

Rear right door seal replaced due to minor water ingress.

General Comments:

The Fabia is an extremely well built car and in 'Combi' form a very elegant small estate that comfortably carries four and their luggage.

Fabia drives better than its cousin - the latest Polo.

Ride comfort excellent.

Over-sensitive electric power steering the only minus point.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2003

2001 Skoda Fabia Comfort 1.4 16v. from Dominican Republic

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v. Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carSkoda Fabia

Summary:

It's a good car for value, and it's beautiful!

Faults:

My a/c compressor failed, my alternator failed, my power steering failed, glove box light failed, water temperature sensor failed, front left power window machine failed.

General Comments:

I love my car, but it needs a lot more torque...it's lazy on takeoffs. I would appreciate more power.

And I would like if it were more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

2001 Skoda Fabia Classic 1.4. 8v from Greece

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4. 8v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Amazing value for money

Faults:

Power steering computer control switch faulty at 20,000 kl' Part expensive 120 Euro.

Paint faults starting to show.

Door sills mark very easily.

Small leak from water hose.

General Comments:

Wonderful value for money. Only car with Cruise Control and Climate Control for 11,000 Euro.

Very quiet and comfortable. Road holding and cornering very good.

Last July we drove 1100 Kl', from Germany through France to London in one day. We arriver very relaxed and fresh.

Eight valve engine has very poor take off power, sixteen valve engine much better. At the time we bought the car, only the eight valve was available with the dark gray interior. Looks great with white body and dark windows.

Many other cars seem very uncomfortable after Fabia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

8th May 2010, 02:43

I have a 1.4 Classic. It's my first car and I love it. It's cheap to insure and all my friends have Corsas and think it's great, just like it is to drive.

5th Jun 2010, 04:59

Skoda Fabia MPi 8 valve Comfort. The best car I ever had. I have it 9 years now and it still going. I will never sell it.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 26 reviews