2001 Skoda Fabia Comfort 1.9 tdi from UK and Ireland


A real performer which guards the pennies yet brings a smile to the face


The only problem in 2 years and 40000 miles is the electric driver window playing up slightly.

General Comments:

Definitely the best car I've ever driven and a far cry from the skodas I used to drive.

It is surefooted, good mid range torque and with an equal measure of motorway and urban driving still manages 50 mpg.

Comfort is good on all types of journey and / or road surface.

Puts a lot of other diesels and most petrol cars in the same sector to absolute shame.

Pound for pound a real driver and owners car.

If only people could get past the snobbery they'd realise a whole new world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

2001 Skoda Fabia Classic 1.9SDi from UK and Ireland


It takes a while to fully understand that you own a 'Skoda' it's that good


Recently had a major service including two new front tires and new front brake shoes. £160.00 all in, although not from a skoda dealer. The mechanic I used was very professional with over thirty years of looking after the servicing needs of lease cars.

General Comments:

It took a while to get used to gaging the distance one was from the kerb, but once confidence was gained the drive was an absolute pleasure.

Boot access is anoying without use of a key.

Keep within the speed limits and wait for more room when pulling out from a side street to avoid anoying other drivers because you cannot accelerate quick enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

2001 Skoda Fabia Classic 1.4 MPI from Germany


Definitely the better Volkswagen! It's cheaper than the original and offers the better value


The radiator's washer broke at about 20,000 km which almost lead to a total desaster because the engine was running out of cooling liquid and the mechanics didn't find the flaw.

General Comments:

On the one hand, the car is really cute and trusty.

On the other hand the maintenance exceeds all limits!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 2002

2001 Skoda Fabia Comfort 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Skoda? Chuck your prejudices in the bin!


Nothing, apart from a blown speaker which was due to me playing the radio too loud. It has been a faultless ownership.

General Comments:

This car corners well, is smart off the line and does over 400 miles on £30 worth of diesel. It cruises well at 80 mph, doing only 2500 rpm which is very quiet indeed. It deserved car of the year in the UK in 2000, and so it should again. Dealers are very nice too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2002

29th Apr 2009, 13:07

Hear Hear! Our Fabia is still standing, and is as good as the day we brought it home, although she has moved us 4 times! Everything in our home except beds and big stuff like that, she has moved every single thing in our house 4 times.

It has been in an accident skidding on the wet road to a curb, totaling one tire, cost next to nothing to repair it, and we all share this one car, it is definitely the best car we've ever had!

2001 Skoda Fabia Comfort 1.4 from UK and Ireland


Great car, average dealers


Clutch seems to be sticking.

Rear door handle came off.

Often smells of fuel.

General Comments:

Very good quality car, this is the only car that I have owned that does not rattle or creak (Mercedes, Renault, Fiat, SAAB - all new cars, all poor quality).

Paint seems to be quite thin.

The 1.4 engine is quite slow.

Very quiet car at all speeds.

Great styling, lots of room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2001

18th Dec 2001, 14:47

Since I wrote this review I have got rid of this car due to three fuel leaks which various dealers cannot seem to fix, the last time it was off the road for five days - it was fine for a day then it started leaking again.

I have bought a new Renault Megane.

I would not recomend Skoda, their dealers or Skoda UK to anybody.

24th Nov 2002, 20:17

My Fabia 1.4 16v has a problem starting when the engine is hot. Garage cannot find the fault. Cold starting is not a problem. The car now runs with a cooler engine temperature, ie the gauge shows that the needle is not in the middle, but towards cold. help please.