2002 Skoda Octavia Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2002 Skoda Octavia L and K 1.9 TDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carSkoda Octavia

Summary:

Will only be surpassed by the New Octavia due out in July 2004..

Faults:

Boot lock warning light comes on even when boot is locked. Fixed twice under warranty. Is going back shortly for a THIRD time!

General Comments:

This is the Estate version of the car.

The Boot/Luggage Area is massive, there is nothing I have bought that wouldn't go in. Including a double bed.

This is the best car I have ever had for fuel consumption, on my regular 18 mile commute to work (A and M Roads) I always get at least 50mpg. On longer all Motorway driving it averages well into the 60's.

With height adjustable seats, rake adjustable steering and climate control you can't fail to get comfortable, even on the longest of drives (though this is no excuse not to take a rest once in a while)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2004

2002 Skoda Octavia Laurin & Klement 1.9 TDI 110 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI 110 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Outstanding value for money, go and try one!

Faults:

Climate Control letting dehumidified water into passenger compartment, went to main dealer to seek advice, the car was repaired there and then without booking it in for another day, repair took about 15 minutes.

General Comments:

This model is outstanding, the level of trim and specification are without equal in this range for the price.

The driving position is so adjustable this car would suit any person regardless of size.

The 110bhp diesel is very quick for quite a heavy car and still manages to return an average of 48 to 52 MPG depending on driver input.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2004

2002 Skoda Octavia Laurent and Klement 1.8 turbo from Panama

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired110 kilometres
Most recent distance19500 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Best of the best, my next car will be the same brand

Faults:

Some cold starting problem. Dealer does not find any fault code.

Rear right brake light was getting water inside. Dealer replace it under warranty.

Symphony radio having problem with volume. Dealer replace it by a new one under warranty.

Both front light was getting water inside and the inside chrome part of the light looks opaque. Dealer replace both under warranty.

Front windshield window develop by itself a small crack. Dealer replace it by warranty.

General Comments:

The leg space for the rear seat are too small.

I really like the big trunk this car have, also you can lower the rear seats if you need more space. You can`t not believe all the things I have fit inside my car.

This car is very fast, but on the city consumes a lot of fuel. Maybe I have a heavy feet on the throttle :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2004

2002 Skoda Octavia Classic 1.9SDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9SDi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance88705 miles
Previous carVolvo 460

Summary:

Couldn`t get a better taxi

Faults:

Indicators have been repair 4 times.

Wiper motor has been replaced.

Gearbox has been replaced.

Waiting for temperature sensor.

General Comments:

Considering the mileage and abuse the car has taken being used as a taxi it has proven very reliable.

I have been very please with the economy it is returning.

Servicing and various running costs are very competitive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2003

2002 Skoda Octavia 1.6 gasoline from Greenland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance10500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

It's a really reliable car, even starts without preheating on at below minus 25 degrees centigrades

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Haven't anything negative to mention about the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2003

27th May 2008, 09:20

I have experienced most of the downsides mentioned,low sump going over speed humps, replaced that, repaired gearbox. and now my wipers are playing up, but apart from that I have been very pleased with the car it has now done 82000 and running like a watch hope it will continue to. I have it serviced at the correct intervals.

2002 Skoda Octavia Laurin & Klement Estate 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Economical and comfortable car in which to cover long distances

Faults:

Flat Battery at 5500 miles.

Puncture at 11500 miles.

Poor radio reception from new.

General Comments:

I bought the L & K because it has Cruise Control as standard and the insurance premium is £200 less than the equivalent Elegance model.

Over 13000 miles it has averaged 56mpg.

Over 600 miles on a tank full of diesel

Cruise control plus drivers arm rests mean non stop drives of 7 hours do not cause any discomfort.

Better quality radio and speakers and more leg room in the rear would make the car perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

2002 Skoda Octavia Ambiente 1.9 Tdi 90 bhp from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Tdi 90 bhp Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Forget the badge people... you don't know what you're missing!!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing at all.

General Comments:

This is an update to a previous review that I posted on August the 28th 2002.

41000 miles, 11 months and 4 services later and this car still drives like new. The car is still used as a taxi and will be for another 2 years when I shall be trading it in for a new Skoda Superb... and I can't wait.

O.K. so most cars nowadays are built well, fair comment, but most people do not associate Skoda with this quality which is why they have to be praised.

If you are thinking about buying a Skoda then what are you waiting for... for goodness sake... it won't smack your bum! If you do take the plunge you shan't be regretting it!

Go for the diesel, you'll be getting around 50 mpg around town no problem. Even if you push it hard a return of 42 mpg is a certainty.

Take it on a long run at 56 mph you can expect around 68 mpg.

When you're out and about you just have a closer look at the taxis bombing around...you'll no doubt see a few Skodas out there and you know how much hammer taxis get yet all us taxi drivers cannot be wrong can we???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

9th Feb 2011, 18:08

I totally agree with you. I have had my Skoda Octavia for 4 years. I got it second hand. It is the Ambiente diesel 1.9, and it is one of the best cars I have owned, so to anyone out there thinking of getting a Skoda, don't delay, you can't go wrong.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 19 reviews