SsangYong Actyon Reviews

2013 SsangYong Actyon from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2013
Year of manufacture2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles

Summary:

You get what you pay for

Faults:

Transmission slips and sticks in gear sometimes when slowing down. Been back to dealership for this, but they have yet to rectify it

General Comments:

Ugliest and stupidest looking vehicle on the road, but they are cheap... which is why my boss bought a few of them as company cars (maybe he wanted to punish us for not making him enough money?). It drives well, though it is not very fuel efficient for a diesel. Mine average 9.5 litres per 100km in mixed driving. By comparison, my 2001 Saab 9-3 high output turbo petrol averages 7.4 litres per 100km.

The Actyon is cheap and reasonably well equipped, but for a few grand more you could have a much better Mitsu Triton

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th September, 2013

2006 SsangYong Actyon 2.0 turbo diesel from Chile

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carKia Carnival

Summary:

Almost a very good car

Faults:

Differential noise when engaging a gear, later fix under warranty at 10,000 km.

Driver's door not opening, some plastic parts broken, fixed myself because the dealer made me wait a week for an appointment.

General Comments:

I am very pleased with the car, looks ugly I know, but I got it because of the size/efficiency factor.

In Chile the diesel price was 2/3 of the gas price, but now it's not, so it's not practical anymore to have a diesel car.

I am getting avg. 9.5 km/l (not so good).

It has room in the cabin, but it has too small a trunk (cargo area), even with the folded rear seats.

A/C needs some power; on summer days it needs a long time to get cool inside.

The engine is OK, but the AT gear box (4 speed) needs improvement.

One of the fine point of the car is its quietness.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2009

17th Nov 2009, 16:37

I drove an Actyon as test drive. I really did fall in love with car. I think I'm gonna buy one.

1st Dec 2009, 15:22

I've been driving an Actyon (five door, automatic) for a couple of months and couldn't be happier! We have not tried it off-road yet, but it's lovely to drive in the city. Much better steering than on the Audi A4 and the automatic is smooth (sometimes there is a little bump when going from 4th to 2nd though). Fuel is about 0.85l / 10km in the city and the diesel has good power. If you don't need to carry big things in the trunk, it's a great buy!

18th Dec 2009, 12:21

I've had my marine blue Actyon 2.3 Auto since Nov this year. I loved it when I first saw it, and love it more with each day.

It's tough and looks the part, unlike all those other soft roaders.

I've heard many complaints about the pitch and roll of the car. But that's exactly how cars with ladder frames and body on frame responds to terrain.

Sure it isn't as quick as some Japanese models. Big deal, I'm 46, so what do I know about speed anyway?

It has a really smooth engine that is identical to the Mercs from the late 90s.

Haven't yet met anybody who didn't like its looks. It's a radical looking SUV with a "don't mess with me look". The car IS me and reflects my persona to a T.

2007 SsangYong Actyon A200S 2.0 XDI turbo diesel from Hong Kong

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 XDI turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54 kilometres
Most recent distance110 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Love it or hate it?

Faults:

Nothing at the moment.

General Comments:

Background:-

OK, here's the story, I was drawn to the look when I saw it from a magazine, and went for a test drive and bought one.

Looks:-

Many would say it is unbelievably ugly, but I am quite happy to say that I like the look of the car; it looks apart from any ordinary cars you see on the road, and the front looks great.

Interior:-

The dealer here offered leather upgrades for HKD4000 (app. USD500), which is a great deal given the quality, though the fit and finish is obviously not the best. Interestingly, it reminds me of the RX450h? However I must say the rear is, though tall, the leg room is not fantastic - expect just a tiny bit more than a BMW 3 series.

Performance:-

It's got enough power, and being a diesel it has great low down torque - though it does suffer from turbo lag on first gear under hard acceleration (found out on the test drive). But that didn't deter me, because being a pickup truck you don't expect it to outrun a Ferrari - though I feel that it is on par with my Range Rover 4.0.

Gearbox:-

A tad old fashioned - being 4 gears and no down slope locking like my BMW 3. I imagine that many would prefer a 5 or even 6 speeder, but is it necessary to have such a high number of gears? As long as the car has good torque band, even a 3 speed gear box is enough. This is the point I don't really understand; why people boast about 5 or 6 speed gearbox - it might be smoother, but definitely not necessary on this car, but may be so in a 1.5 litre car?

Would I recommend one?

Two way answer...

Yes, if you want a nice car with good fuel economy, as well as owning one or two more cars, since it is not practical enough to be a day to day car (too big!!)

No, you can buy a Honda Stepwagon for that money, but do you really like that ugly Stepwagon or a cliche and boring Rav-4???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2007

8th Aug 2007, 06:36

The nasty interior makes me sick. All you can see is a bunch of flimsy plastic inside. The 2.0 XDi is noisy!

11th Aug 2007, 13:57

First of all, for a diesel engine, it is exceptionally quiet, though it may not have the fantastic sound of the 3.6 TDV8 of the Range Rover, but it certainly is far from noisy.

Secondly, the interior may be nasty, but with the leather upgrade it is certainly a lot better than many cars of its class.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 3 reviews