1989 Subaru Brumby Reviews

1989 Subaru Brumby from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired346735 kilometres
Most recent distance364673 kilometres
Previous carHolden Camira

Summary:

It's a great lil beast, and every country girl should have one

Faults:

Replaced rack and pinion right after purchase.

Replaced both CV joints soon after the rack and pinion, along with the lower left hand ball joint.

Next was the left hand wheel bearing.

Then some touch up work; just minor things such as the horn, the right hand window winder and a hole in the exhaust. All of this had been in need of repair since purchase.

Now the right hand wheel bearing is being replaced.

Along with the rotors in need of machining.

All round the suspension could do with replacing.

General Comments:

Although I have had to spend quite a bit of money on repairs for the lil beast, I still think it's great.

It's cheap to run, which in this day and age is a great bonus.

Still doesn't miss a beat, even after its 360 odd thousand kms.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2007

1989 Subaru Brumby MY 1.8L flat four from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8L flat four Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired271000 kilometres
Most recent distance281000 kilometres
Previous carFord Telstar

Summary:

Awesome to drive, excellent to work on, and just the best looking offroader out there

Faults:

CV boots were broken when I got the Ute.

When fixing the boots, I put the CV joint back together wrong, which caused it to break after a long drive. Replaced it with a second hand part for only $10; great value.

Rear wheel bearing started making noise right after buying the car; replacement was about $45 with self installation.

Engine mounts were worn out. Fixed them up myself at no cost.

General Comments:

It's a great Ute. Drives well, and at a great price.

My old car I rolled off a rather steep hill and almost down a 15M cliff. If I had 4WD with that car, it probably wouldn't have slid off the road.

It has twin carbies. 2" inch lift kit, which is great for off roading. It has a lot more as well, you can see it all at my site www.OffroadingSubarus.com

There a little hard to find good wheels for, because of the stud spacing. But I'm on a good Subaru forum that has articles on how to change the stud pattern to 6 lug type.

I have fitted my Pocket PC to fit in the car as a stereo. Which sounds great with my 12" sub woofer. Also the 4" speakers sound awesome in this car; it must have good acoustics.

There's always more I want to put on this car, but it is still cool hot it is.

These Subaru's (the wagons 81 to 94, Brats 81 to 86, Brumbies 81 to 94 and hatches 81 to 86) go up against Toyota Hilux's and other big 4WD's off the road no problems. They're just awesome little four wheel drives!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2005

27th Jul 2006, 04:22

Hi there, I have just purchased a Subaru Brumby 1990 and would like to know where the forum site you mentioned is if you don't mind.

Thank You,

John,

Bendigo Vic.

16th Apr 2010, 17:30

Best cars ever!! Service them and they will never let you down, I use mine for snow, dirt, beach, just can't beat them..

I've got a 84 stock and there's not many places it won't go.. these little work horses are built correct, and if you ever get a chance to buy one, do it!! I bought mine for 4 and been offered 8grand.. wouldn't sell it for anything...

1989 Subaru Brumby GL 1800 unleaded from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission unleaded Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance201600 kilometres
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

The beaut-est of Utes

Faults:

Left rear wheel bearing needs looking at.

Screw missing out of the rear view mirror (BOUGHT WITH IT epoxy-ed into place!).

Bought with petrol cap replaced with temp one and lock dodgy in flap on tank.

Stereo needs just the right spot to not crackle.

Seats, yeah, can get a bit intense late after a long day, but she's so steady on the road, it more than makes up for it.

General Comments:

What a fabulous little beast.

All the good qualities of our last car, the Hilux, plus bonuses like it sits so bloody well on our windy highway and is such a safe car for me to commute long distances late in.

Great headlights and high-beams, wonderful overdrive type thing with the accelerator which means I can sit at a constant speed.

Great stretch in third, which is really handy in town, and like the lack of fifth because our highway changes a lot and it saves me a gear change!

Runs on the proverbial sniff of an oily rag

Heater and vents great

Love the coupe doors - no more banging my head.

The dog loves it, and is red like the car.

She does not look out of place either at home in the bush, or in the office car-park at the newspaper where I work (where most have pretty fancy looking cars).

After picking it up off a yard, without even getting another inspection, and then putting it thru 300 km plus days for ten days straight without a single hiccup I'm thanking my lucky stars I got this car.

Also, I've never had anyone say a bad word about them: they go forever, and the CV joints etc replacement is not more than the vehicles worth, and they hold their value.

Except I'll be holding onto mine until I'm a cranky old woman, I'm sure.

I even let the husband drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2003

20th Feb 2005, 20:01

I have just bought a brumby and although the cv joints need replacing, as well as a few other little things, I love it!

Your comment about the coup doors made me laugh and give a little cheer, as I have been saying the same thing all along - no more bumps to the head!!!

Bj.

1989 Subaru Brumby 89 equippe 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired266000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres

Summary:

An absolutely honest little gem

Faults:

Replaced CV joints once.

Slight oil leak from selector shaft in gearbox.

Cat converter replaced at 300000.

Passenger seat is wearing.

General Comments:

The best car I have ever owned, this baby goes all day without missing a beat.

The only mechanical repairs needed can be considered wear and tear.

Loves running in the cold weather.

But can get uncomfortable on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2003

1989 Subaru Brumby 1.8 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 litre Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 kilometres
Most recent distance134000 kilometres

Faults:

Front Quarter Panels rust easily.

Very little leg room for taller people.

General Comments:

No breaking the speed limit in my little brumby, but after a $3000 paint job and a humping stereo I go nowhere without it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2002

1989 Subaru Brumby MV 1.8, 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8, 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Terrano II

Summary:

An ever lasting companion

Faults:

The gear box had an oil leak where the gear stick went in and the gear stick was loose.

The paint was a bit flaky and there was a little bit of surface rust.

The universal joints came loose and needed replacing after a rough ride on the beach.

General Comments:

My brumby is my mate and will scare me sometimes, but will always be there for me.

It now as a mean looking coat of black paint and has no more rust.

There is a new improved sound system which gives it true character.

Once new tires are put on and a wheel alignment is done it handles like a new Impresa.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2002

20th Jan 2003, 21:02

The Subaru Brumby is a mean machine. Since when could you drive it on the beach?In my 89 Brumby it's got a Subaru Wrx engine in it!!!Belive it or not!

John.

2nd Jun 2006, 09:21

I went the other way and dropped a 2.2lt in mine with awd and low as stance. keep it quiet as no one knows...yet.

25th Jun 2006, 05:35

Brumbys are the best!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 6 reviews