2002 Subaru Forester Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2002 Subaru Forester S Premium from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance39450 miles

Summary:

Great All weather car

Faults:

Replaced 2 Oxygen Sensor/Air Fuel Ratio Sensors. The first one was Feb. 13 2002 with 8,272 miles on the car, about 6 months after purchase. I was told they (the sensors) should last about 100000 miles. RIGHT - The car is in the shop today Nov. 12, 2004 getting another Oxygen Sensor/Air Fuel Ratio Sensor. hummm. That is 31,178 miles between sensors. The car is not under warranty, but the part was so it will not cost me a thing.

I am still having trouble in shifting into first. You have to "force" the gears into place. The dealership cannot find anything wrong. It does not happen all the time. (note: I do put the clutch in to shift!)

I agree with a lot of people - the cup holders are placed wrong.

General Comments:

I LOVE THE SUN ROOF.

The car is great on ice.

I enjoy driving the car long distance. Over 18 hours driving at a time.

I work with computers, and the back is great for keeping stuff like towers and parts.

The large windows are great to see what is going on around you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

2002 Subaru Forester 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance37000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Acclaim

Summary:

Overrated

Faults:

Clutch needed replacing.

CD player only works intermittently.

General Comments:

I live in the tropics and the car handles the road very well in the wet.

The rear door is very heavy to close.

Too many things compartments that are of no use.

Long distance travel becomes uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th February, 2004

2002 Subaru Forester L 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance24938 miles
Previous carSaturn LS

Summary:

Very disappointed in the reliability!

Faults:

The service engine light has gone on 7 times and each time it was taken in.

It was not fixed until I contacted Subaru directly.

The EMC was sent out to Subaru to be reprogrammed.

Parts already needing to be replaced have been numerous - rear brakes, oxygen sensor (twice), battery and clutch.

Most recently it will not start in cold weather.

There appears to be no end in sight.

We are still trying to get the problems corrected.

General Comments:

Love the heated seats, sunroof and heated mirrors.

Very disappointed in the unreliability.

Did a lot of research before buying.

Reliability was my first concern.

Did not expect to spend so much time at the dealership while I'm still paying and under warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2004

31st Jan 2004, 06:43

We are having the same problem with our 2003 Forester: it does not start well in cold weather. Recently, it takes nearly 10 attempts before starting, whereupon it will stall and need to be restarted. When the car starts, black smoke emits from the tailpipe.

The first time we returned it to the dealer the EMC was reprogrammed. The second time the dealer could find nothing wrong and said it was normal. Has your problem been resolved yet? Any suggestions concerning measures the dealer can take? We're concerned because of the wear on the starter and future reliability.

2002 Subaru Forester NA 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

A mega-dud. The beauty of No wheel drive

Faults:

This vehicle has only 18000 miles on it and it is the most unreliable vehicle I have ever seen. The Crank malfunctioned at 17,900.

The timing system malfunctioned at 18,100.

The entire engine control system failed at 18,100.

General Comments:

This vehicle is dangerous. Three times the drive train has failed (leaving my wife with no power in rush hour traffic.) The Subaru people have a lot of pictures of Subarus in the forest; it must be because that's where their owners push them. You did read correctly, this car cannot take my wife or daughter on their 5 mile commute to school each day after only 18,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

26th Sep 2007, 20:20

It sounds like you were sold a lemon. What has been done at this point? Are you fixing the repairs? Have you traded it in..?

19th Feb 2009, 16:55

Your Forester must be a lemon because my wife and I have a 2002 with 75,000 miles and no problems at all.

Of course, if you're having problems at 18,000 miles, the warranty should cover everything including a new car if necessary.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 15 reviews