29th Mar 2010, 22:01

After 600 miles.

Lots of road noise on rough freeways, rattles come from all doors and moonroof. Hwy MPG around 25.

The car feels light in city traffic, easy to maneuver but taking it over 75mph makes me nervous.

Cargo area cover is coming apart - will ask dealer to give me a new one.

Why is the engine emitting that loud and strange noise after cold starts?

22nd May 2010, 12:55

Yeah, stay away from this vehicle. Poor quality overall.

13th Aug 2010, 03:27

Subaru vehicles in Australia and Europe (I guess) are imports and made in Japan. North American Subaru vehicles are manufactured in the US and get a really bad write up here.

I am on my third new Subaru, and have had six years of trouble free motoring. My current Subaru is the 2 litre diesel, and it is well built, reliable, ridiculously economical and refined.

It seems the problems North American owners gripe about have everything to do with local manufacturing, while European and Australian/NZ spec cars seem to have none of these issues.

In Australia, Subaru have a solid reputation for excellent build quality and reliability, and the highest resale value of any make. If the diesel is introduced into the US and Canada, and it is an import, it will definitely be worth looking at.

14th Oct 2010, 19:06

The comment above me regarding the "US manufactured Subarus" is nothing but smoke up the rear.

Subaru Foresters are manufactured in Japan and imported to the United States. They are NOT manufactured anywhere in the United States. That is a different story for the Subaru Outbacks though.

But I guess some people can't be bothered to do research before opening their mouths only to feel helpful.

20th Apr 2011, 23:11

Give me a break...

Someone would not purchase a new Subaru or any brand if the car was as bad as the author of this review claims their 2010 Forester apparently is.

This review was obviously written by someone who just wants to put down the Subaru brand. Many people are unhappy with the fact that Subaru makes nearly perfect cars. Their reliability is legendary and build quality makes American built cars look like complete junk.

Please don't put Subaru down just because they build perfect cars that run for 300,000+ miles without a single problem.

22nd Apr 2011, 15:13

I guess I can't really speak to much about Subaru's reliability, because I didn't own mine for very long.

Long story short, I bought a used '95 Legacy L Wagon about a year ago. It needed only a few maintenance items to get it running well again. I replaced the timing belt and gave it a good tune-up, and it was running quite well.

150 miles later, the rear subframe broke in half while I was driving home from work. The subframe couldn't even be replaced because the unibody had also completely rotted out, and when I attempted to removed the bolts, the entire rear floorpan fell out of the car.

Not impressed with Subaru by any means, and will not be buying another one, new or used.

18th Jun 2011, 19:37

You are complaining about a 16 year old car with rust? American cars are shot at half that age. Ever check the drive way under an American car after three years? Fluids all over the place. I have the identical car you claim to have problems with and I have 151,000 miles on it.

19th Jun 2011, 13:38

So this person bought a car they totally hated, just because they got a good deal on it? Now I know why GM is selling cars so well!

The sound from the engine you hear when it is cold is different, because you've probably never owned a flat 4 before. Subaru's do run a bit loud when cold, but they smooth out when they warm up. I've had two, and both were the same. They kind of sound like a VW at first.

The rest of your complaints are unfounded at best. I have compared many many cars over the years, and Subaru's are on par or better than many of the competition. Their AWD systems are better than any other, which makes them amazing year round vehicles. The complaints are outlandish at best. Plus I don't care if they took off $10K!! If you hate it, you hate it. Why on Earth anyone buys a car purely because it is a good deal, is beyond me. The fact they sold it with a mere 150 miles on it, means they more than likely lost more money reselling it than they got off on the vehicle to begin with.

A good deal is only a good deal if it is something you like. That is like me buying 10 pounds of liver at the grocery store just because it was 50% off. Ewwww... I hate liver, but hey I saved a ton of cash on it!! Yeah, makes absolutely no sense does it?

5th Nov 2011, 11:39

I agree this review is questionable at best, and no I do not, nor have I ever owned a Subaru - but I find it hard to believe someone would buy a vehicle they disliked this much, because of a good deal on it.

They appear to be fine cars, by the way.

24th Jan 2012, 23:40

Our Forester is 13 years old, and has only required regular maintenance! Oh, and a knock sensor, wheel bearing, timing belt tensioner... that can all be expected.

Our Subie runs and feels better than some newer cars we test drive. It is an absolute engineering wonder, and yes I think it is perfect! We totally are going to buy a new one, but we cannot justify having car payments when ours runs and looks like a dream! No rust either!

I think we will keep this loaded 1999 Forester until it dies. When that will be, I cannot say, but I'm guessing in the range of 500k-600k km or more!

Absolute quality, check out the Subaru high mileage club and see where it's at!

Living in Saskatchewan, where it is winter 5 months out of the year, I can guarantee there is nothing better than Subaru AWD! And yes, I've owned a 4x4, a Pathfinder, which doesn't even come close, and uses twice the gas... never mind a full size truck 19L/100 km... ouch!

7th Mar 2012, 21:34

Subaru has the highest repeat customer numbers in the auto industry. Their vehicles are highly engineered with high quality materials. They are built for safety and for being practical, and will last for a long, long time.

25th Jul 2012, 22:59

I should think that maybe your engine sounds rough when it is cold because... it is COLD. You should also reconsider taking this car over 75MPH, as it is not a sports car, and was never designed for speeding about on the motorway. I'll agree that there are rattles, but the reliability and decent MPG, coupled to utility, were enough for me to take the plunge and get the car.