1993 Subaru Impreza Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1993 Subaru Impreza WRX 240ps 2.0 16v Turbocharge from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Turbocharge Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52230 miles
Most recent distance54338 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

True sports car

Faults:

First day I purchased the car I took the batter off to reset the ECU, when I connected it the rev counter didn't work, no dash lights were working and car wasn't charging, was down to a split in the circuit bored behind the clocks, a column fault, was easily fixed.

Needed a new battery, old one had a dead cell £36 for a new battery.

Top radiator pipe split, another column fault, £10 to fix.

General Comments:

This car is amazing, once you drive one, you WILL want one.

When I bought the car it was 100% standard, since then I have added a 3" de-cat down pipe and de-cat system with 4" back box, the car now has that lovly flat4 noise.

I've fitted a Baileys twin piston dump valve to pro-long the turbo.

Its stupid how quick these cars accelerate, so far I've had 130mph on private track, still had more poke.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2006

18th Feb 2006, 10:06

I meant to write battery, not batter LOL, excuse the mistake.

5th Mar 2007, 02:41

Sounds as if its mis-firing.

5th Mar 2007, 09:20

Yea, but what a missfire!!

11th Sep 2007, 09:13

I own a 94 import subaru and it does not compare to other true sports cars I have driven, i. e Mitsubishi GTO which I have owned and an EVO and both have walked all over the scooby. Petrol on my scooby was outrageous, I used to have a Esso petrol tanker on call as I was never sure if I would make it anywhere. Basically, poor layout inside, cheap plastic and light panels all over. Not very good for passengers. WOuld not recommend to anyone who wants a car that is practical.

23rd Jan 2011, 22:57

GTOs are like fake Ferraris, and Evos are over rated. I have a 93 rally spec 555 Subaru and its power is out of this world, sounds awesome, and goes great. Anyone buying one of these cars shouldn't complain about fuel costs, as it is inevitable that more hp means more fuel consumption. if you worried about fuel, buy a Toyota Corolla or Honda Civic.

1993 Subaru Impreza awd l 1.8 ltr boxer 4 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 ltr boxer 4 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance205945 miles
Previous carSaturn ION

Summary:

Great car for commute or even long trips

Faults:

Nothing really. Blown CV-boot, but this was my fault driving her off road.

General Comments:

This is a great car- runs really strong even after 200,000 have rolled over. I have the wagon and it holds quite a lot of stuff, plus who doesn't love a 4-wheel drive car?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2006

1993 Subaru Impreza L Gas from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission Gas Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Faults:

There was nothing wrong on my 1993 Subaru Impreza after I purchased it.

General Comments:

This car was the greatest car I ever had. Even any other car can't beat it. It got a 1.8 Liter engine. It have good body. It's the nicest goodest car I had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2005

1993 Subaru Impreza L 1.8L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72282 miles
Most recent distance87282 miles

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Minor - but burns oil.

General Comments:

I was looking for a commuter car and bought the impreza. I am the third owner and I have put 15000 miles on the car. I immediately put new brakes and tires on the car and have had NO PROBLEMS with it. Very reliable. I get about 26-27 mpg which right in the range its supposed to get.

The only "bad" thing is that it burns oil. I have to add about a quart a month. I put 2000 miles on the car every month.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

17th Feb 2005, 08:32

Sorry - I wrote the review and failed to mention that I bought the car with 72000 miles on it and wrote the review at 87000 miles.

1993 Subaru Impreza Base from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

This car is off the charts - good

Faults:

Very little has gone wrong with this auto. It truly lives up to the Japanese standards of excellence. If anything, I would not fully recommend the ride as it is a tad rough, but for the money, it is well within reason.

General Comments:

Without a question, this is the best car I have ever owned in terms of reliability, durability and total satisfaction. Coupled with owning the worst car I have ever owned (Plymouth Voyager) I guess I've broken even, but only due to the extraordinary resilience of this car.

I would buy another (and plan to) in a hearbeat.

A bit cramped if you have more than 2 kids, but a perfect all-around commuter car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2005

26th May 2005, 21:37

No such car as a 1992 impreza. they started making imprezas in 1993.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 19 reviews