1998 Subaru Impreza GT555 2.o Trubo from UK and Ireland


Love the car


Radiator cracked and had to be replaced.

Fuel pump gave up.

General Comments:

This car has brilliant performance. I was a bit worried about the extra strain on my wallet, but it is so worth it.

The car has superb handling. The car gives amazing feedback when pushed. You can tell when the limit is, and its well out there!

It if effortless to drive at speed. I sometimes head back home late at night and your cruising at 95, never having to leave 5th gear.

I love the torque the car pushes out. It pulls from 2500 revs. It will pull hard till 6000 but dies away after that.

I do take care of my impreza. It gets an oil change every 3000 miles. Its normally only at weekends when I 'stretch its legs'. And the rumble... its music to my ears.

Modifications include

- 17inch alloys

- Forge dump Vale

- Quick Shift Gear change

- K&N Filter

- Magnex Exhaust.

- P1 Spoiler

I plan to buy a 2Dr next.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2005

1998 Subaru Impreza TS 2.2 gasoline from North America


Very good car


There is a persistent clank on bumps in the right rear suspension when the temperature falls below -5 degrees Celsius. Unable to find cause, but probably just deteriorating rubber bushes.

The front brake pads wore out at 76000 km.

The knock sensor died at 86000 km, illuminating the Check Engine Light.

The rubber door seals and other rubber seals around the body are getting tired.

General Comments:

The car as delivered was a very determined under steerer. Fitted a 1998 Outback rear anti-roll bar two months after purchase, and handling was transformed for the better.

Nowhere near as good in snow as my previous two Audi quattros. Tends to exhibit a weird torque steer at the front right when accelerating in light snow.

Incredibly reliable overall, and I must say the best car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

1998 Subaru Impreza Turbo 2000 2.0 from UK and Ireland





General Comments:

Bought the Impreza just over a year ago and have done 18,000 miles. The car is totally reliable and never misses a beat.

O.k. the servicing costs are high and it guzzles petrol like there's no tomorrow, but it's worth every penny.

I can't believe some of the negative comment's made about it regarding performance and reliability. And to compare it against a Honda Civic R. Come on, it's in a different league. My mate's got a Honda and in a straight line it nearly keep's up. Stick it into a corner and the show's over. That's the big difference. Handling.

I would recommend anyone wanting the ultimate reliable road car to buy one.

One final word. Drive your Impreza through the town centre on an afternoon and watch the head's turn. Drive your Honda and well it's a Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2004

28th Oct 2005, 13:23

Totally agree!

Brilliant machines and handles like nothing else in the price range. I just got my first impreza and I'm over the moon with it.

Mines got 81000miles on it now and hasn't failed me once, runs like a dream, regularly serviced these cars can go forever. got a clutch change and timing belt next, expecting around 500quid for job lot. well worth it!


27th Jul 2007, 05:13

I use to own a impreza turbo, but sold it and got a civic type r, because it just cost too much to maintain, and I can honestly say the honda turns more heads, its red so it does stand out a bit.

18th Aug 2008, 06:30

Yeah I've got a nice UK Impreza turbo 2000 AWD cherry red...

33000 miles... bought for £6200...

2 previous owners, and the car is on an island with a 40mph speed limit so it's never been thrashed...

Had it 2 years now and all I've spent is £220 on 4 new tyres as I do the oil changes/servicing myself...

It's the first car I've ever bought, and I could never part with it!

Just started using Xmile super unleaded and it feels like it's gained power!

I also like the Civic Type R, but I've raced a few from lights to lights and off the line, and they don't get a look in,iIn the dry and especially in the wet! My car is completely standard and in mint condition, so hopefully I'll get most of my money back if I decide to get an Evo 7 (my favorite shape)...

As for looks, both cars are stunning and beauty is in the eye of the beholder!

Although I like the original Civic over the new fat one, but they're both great cars...

18th Aug 2008, 13:32

There's not a lot between them. The Impreza's a bit quicker off the mark, and the Civics have a better top end, but the Civic's a lot cheaper to run and insure etc, and a standard UK Scooby 2000 definitely doesn't turn more heads, as they now look very dated, but both are pretty common and not exactly the prettiest cars on the road!