2004 Subaru Impreza Wagon 2.5 fuel injected non-turbo from North America

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Head gasket leaking at 100,000 miles.

Right rear CVs had to be replaced at 60,000 miles.

Rusted oil pan is about to fall off.

Complete exhaust system, including CATS had to be replaced, along with O2 sensors.

Timing belt and water pump will have to be replaced shortly.

General Comments:

I am surprised about the lack of negative comments on this car. Buyer beware, check out Subaru forums or put Subaru Head Gasket in the search engine.

This car is a piece of junk. Bought it new with regular maintenance as per manual. Should have been recalls, but for some reason Subaru gets away with it on the head gasket issue.

A very expensive car to maintain. Exhaust system had to be replaced from the CATS back with all O2 sensors, a very expensive repair.

Oil pan is rusted out. Who the hell every heard of a rusted out oil pan on an 04 car?

Right rear CV joints had to be replaced at 60,000 miles. Unbelievable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2012

29th Jan 2012, 16:25

Sounds like this car was driven severely by a prior owner!

30th Jan 2012, 06:52

Sounds like you always went to the dealer, or, you just got ripped off by whoever did the work.

Nothing wrong with the car, more like the way it was treated.

Hence why there are so many positive reviews.

2004 Subaru Impreza WRX AWD 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Perfect, I will never own another car

Faults:

Rear Shocker was replaced under warranty 21000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is a beauty, its handles and drives like a dream. The engine sounds are perfect, you can hear a Subaru coming.

The aggressive looks of this car finish off the cars styling. Everyone should own one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2006

2004 Subaru Impreza WRX 2.0 boxer turbo from North America

Summary:

Very fun car and a smart price

Faults:

The clear coat was peeling from the bottom passenger front door. It was repaired and resprayed under warranty. The dealer even gave me a loaner for 3 days while the work was being done.

Just normal wear and tear otherwise.

However Bridgestone tires that come from the factory are terrible with grip and more aggressive driving.

General Comments:

Very fast acceleration.

All wheel drive works excellent in all types of weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2006

2004 Subaru Impreza WRX 2.0L turbo from North America

Summary:

Bulletproof reliability, AWD handling, and pretty good economy considering

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car. If the reliability of my 1993 Legacy Sport Sedan is any indication, I won't have any reliability problems for years to come. My 1993 had over 282,000 miles when I traded it for the WRX.

General Comments:

I can see why the WRX won the World Rally Championship several years in a row. If I get any traffic tickets with this car, it will more likely be on the back roads rather than the highway. For more information go to the Subaru High Mileage Club at http://www.subaruhighmileageclub.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2006

6th Feb 2006, 10:14

I agree. Even though it is a small car it's hauling around all the AWD equipment. My base engine Impreza is the same way. Not the best gas mileage, but I have the security (and fun) of AWD.

17th Dec 2006, 01:07

If you want to avoid high speed ticket and go to the rally, be prepared to overhaul suspension and engine every few sessions. Without suspension and chassis upgrades it will break in the stock form.

2004 Subaru Impreza RS 2.5 from North America

Summary:

Very safe and reliable car

Faults:

I was driving on HWY and a car cut me off. I steered away to avoid a collision and rolled over my Impreza in the ditch. The front and read ends were collapsed, but just slightly dented on the roof. Witnesses were surprised that we (3) opened the doors and walked out of the car on our own. It wasn't any problems, just follow maintenance schedule. Engine light came on once due to gas cover wasn't tight. We replaced 2004 by 2006 Impreza; its getting better and better.

General Comments:

We like it, very safe and reliable car. Its never let us down, specially poor weather and road condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2006