2004 Subaru Impreza WRX 2.0 turbo from North America


The best car I have ever owned


Several squeaks and rattles in the dash. I used information on the net to take apart the dash and use silicone to completely eliminate the rattles.

General Comments:

This car is a complete joy to drive. It is quick, has sharp handling, and powerful brakes. In Minnesota, the all wheel drive makes quick work out of winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2005

2004 Subaru Impreza 5 door WRX 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland


Great car, superb handling, terrific fun, can't knock it


Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Absolutely brilliant car to drive. I had the performance pack fitted and with this the power (and noise) is absolutely awesome, everything else on the road just disappears.

The handling is superb, the suspension just the right mix of firm for the handling and compliant for the comfort. The feel and weight of the steering is spot on and the gear change (with the optional quick shift fitted) is mechanical and precise.

Only complaint would be that the interior isn't up to much, steering wheel and seats are good, but can't say much for the rest of it - that said, it doesn't really matter, too busy looking at other cars in the rear view mirror!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2004

2004 Subaru Impreza GX 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand


Torquey, Unique and Safe


Nothing the car has been fine so far. Very slight rattle from the front right door.

General Comments:

I purchased my Impreza GX after researching the Lexus IS200, Golf and BMW 3 series. Whilst the Impreza is not in the same class as the Lexus nor the Bimmer, I thought it had great potential of being a great driver's car because of the boxer engine's extra torque and lower centre of gravity it provides.

The stock standard Impreza GX understeers quite a bit so I whacked on a rear sway bar, front anti lift kit and a rear camber kit from Whiteline. These are all essential in getting the car to handle much more neutrally. I found that these modifications did transform the Impreza's handling very significantly and it only costs my AUD$1500 in total. Go for the base model impreza and add these mods on.

My only real critisism of the Impreza is the lack of steering feedback even though the mods did sharpen the steering up quite a bit. Fuel consumption is also a surprisingly high for a car in this class.

The boxer engine is very very impressive with its pulling power even thought the Impreza is a bit of a porky pig at 1.27 tons. Man... this engine sounds like a mini Porsche... very smooth even at higher revs. The engine is definitely one of the Impreza's strongest points not so much the AWD system.

I would have preferred a rear wheel drive only impreza matted with a boxer engine. AWD is a bit overated unless you want to go crazy in the wet. Its more a point of differentiation in a marketing sense rather than a functional one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2004

2nd Oct 2004, 02:59

Hi All.

Thanks for the imparted wisdom. Two questions for you:

1. Is the "Whiteline" installed by the dealer on request or post drive away?

2. Is this kit really necessary for general city/ freeway driving?

Many thanks in advance...

22nd Nov 2004, 23:31

Love my GX 2004 Impreza Hatch. In my business I have to haul boxes of goods around city areas and I have found the space available with the compact car size fantastic. Having previously been a V6 driver I have found the economy to be an improvement and it didn't take long to adjust to the smaller engine power... all that torque makes up for it.

1st Mar 2007, 16:55

I agree with all of the comments, but not in the AWD point. The utility of this system depends a lot on the weather, the freeways features and pavement conditions and quality.

Here in Chile, specially in the South,which is very rainy, AWD is extremely useful giving the sensation of a CAT... with an amazing stability and security sensation.

Well I would like to drive the 2.0 R... someone has an opinion? does it worth the money?


Julio, from Chile.

7th May 2007, 06:07

I own one, and I love it, totally worth the money especially if you're one of those people who don't want to shell out for an expensive AWD model.

22nd Aug 2007, 22:32

The Impreza GX is a great car for the money. Its engine answers nicely when asked to respond. As for AWD; I can't complain as I have gave my car an absolute gut full around tight turns and bends and it doesn't move an inch. In a lesser car I wouldn't be writing this. Great looking car; add a set of 18 inch wheels and an exhaust system to add some bark to the bite it already has. See your dealer for an STI rear wing and you are set. You will have a WRC replica for easily under 30 thousand.

2004 Subaru Impreza WRX STi turbo from North America


The fastest AWD!


No problems.

General Comments:

The Subaru WRX Sti is finally here, and it's all that anyone could want in a car and more. The performance of this car makes you feel like you can fly. With an amazing zero to sixty time of 4.5-5 seconds flat, and a maximum top speed of around 160 mph, this is no toy! The all wheel drive system allows extreme pickup and unbeatable speed like no other car. The performatnce is wonderful with awesome engine sound. If you are into street racing, try this car! Haha...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2003

4th Dec 2003, 08:39

Nice car the scooby, but still not as quick as the Evo VIII FQ 330!

20th Dec 2003, 08:07

Evo 8 330 a lot more money than sti.

21st Jul 2004, 10:10

The STI is definitly a better car than the Evo. The STI has a lot more comfort and a lot more horsepower.

13th Oct 2004, 19:54

I strongly agree that the Subaru Impreza, WRX STI is possibly in the top 5 world's best cars. It can out excel any porsche, and with 0-60 time 4.5-5 seconds. It can outrun even a viper with 0-60 time of 5.2 seconds. It is even cheaper than most cars, like mustang. I think a car that can beat almost any car on the road, and cheaper than most cars. It's possibly one of the world's best cars.