2006 Subaru Impreza Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2006 Subaru Impreza Sportwagon 2.5i boxer 4 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5i boxer 4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50237 miles
Most recent distance53500 miles
Previous carStudebaker Lark 8

Summary:

Around town only

Faults:

Head gaskets at 51000 miles.

Center differential roars when going downhill.

General Comments:

The car is pure joy in its handling. I was very disappointed that three months into owning the car, smelled burnt oil at stoplights. The dealer said the head gaskets were seeping. The warranty covered the head gasket repair, and all is better.

The seats are miserable in this car. If I drive it more than 20 minutes, I get a monster sore back, especially if it's on the freeway.

I've owned the car since Feb 2010, it's now Sept 2010, and I will not own it after the coming weekend.

Too bad such a delightful performance is utterly ruined by horrible seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th September, 2010

15th Oct 2010, 08:38

To the person selling your 2006 Impreza because of seats... Read this carefully;

Do not sell your car because of seats. If you are broke, I can give you a driver's side WRX tr seat for free, however; you must pre arrange (postage pre paid) to wherever, with whomever you wish to arrange shipping with.

I will not accept any $ for shipping. I will wrap it, box it and drop it off as directed, and that is all.

This seat is in great shape, and comes with its' airbag.

Also, I will include directions to install it that are simple enough for a 12 year old to understand...

BTW shipping is only needed if you do not live in So Cal.

If with in range of me (Los Angeles), you can pick it up at any public venue you choose. E mail me at usekungfu@yahoo.com

2006 Subaru Impreza WRX 2.5 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired41 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

It's an OK car

Faults:

Nothing wrong.

General Comments:

I have a black WRX wagon. Looks great and turns heads.

Car handles very well. Very quick once rpm's hit 3500. A bit of a dog until that point.

Awd is great in the snow or rain.

Downsides:

1. As someone else mentioned, the paint is poor. I jangled my keys against the door handle and now have scratched paint.

2. Fuel mileage is poor. Also, must use 91 octane...

3. Stereo/speakers are poor.

4. The car is cramped. I am 5'10" 180 lbs and I feel like a big guy in a little suit.

5. Even though I have the wagon, storage in the back is cramped. Also, the carboard floor above the spare tire is easily bent if you place anything heavy over it (golf clubs).

All in all, I would not purchase this car again. I need something bigger. Also, I prefer a car with more "low end" grunt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2007

5th Mar 2008, 15:09

Did you go look at it before buying it or just have it shipped to you without a test drive? performance and lack of space are easy to see when you look at a car and test drive it. If you weren't comfortable in it why did you buy it? If it was too small space wise and storage wise, why did you buy it? If it was a "dog" below 3,500 rpm's, why did you buy it? Should think about these things before spending $25K or so on a car... BTW, mine spools up at around 2,200 rpm's. Maybe you should have yours checked out.

2006 Subaru Impreza 2.5i 2.5liter N/A H4 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5liter N/A H4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Looking forward to another Subaru purchase

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is an excellent winter weather handler. Performance on dry pavement is also very good. Confidence on snowy roads is excellent. The interior is roomy and fits tall passengers very well. Audio system is lacking and was replaced with an after-market unit. Seats are well bolstered and steering is responsive. Terrific braking on all surfaces and conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2007

20th Feb 2009, 22:28

Update: 27,000 miles and zero problems. We now have two Subarus in the driveway.

3rd Dec 2009, 23:56

At lease end at 32k, still no issues with the car. Wife's 07 is at 36k and the only thing replaced has been the tires. Extremely happy with both vehicles.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 8 reviews