2012 Subaru Impreza Sport Hatchback 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Great little work horse, and a comfy commuter

Faults:

Nothing yet, it's still practically brand new.

General Comments:

I really like the way it drives. I compared it to a BMW 3 Series and an Audi A4 (both are at least 10k more expensive than a fully loaded Impreza Sport), and I can honestly say that this car drives better, feels like it's on rails, plus you get better gas mileage than in a BMW or Audi.

Of course the fit and finish are much better in a BMW or Audi, but if you are judging pure driveability, then Subaru wins.

I bought this car to replace my 2004 Honda Civic. I was looking for similar MPG and more substance, and I got it with Subaru.

I don't really enjoy the Bluetooth, and road noise in a new Subaru is pretty bad, but everything else is quite nice and enjoyable.

The design is OK, better than the old one, and definitely better than the 2004 car.

In short, it's a good work horse; fun to drive, slow, but good on gas. I would recommend it as a first car for a teenaged kid, because it looks sporty, has plenty of safety features, is cheap to own and to maintain, and is very forgiving for a new driver; great stability control.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2012

2012 Subaru Impreza Limited 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Buy it

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Great car.

I like:

- The beautiful design, inside and outside.

- Handling and comfort on most roads. Never harsh over big holes. The steering is quick and precise.

- Computer on the console shows very useful information.

- Very economic car. I refill it every 2 weeks.

- A lot of space inside and cargo area.

- Great audio system (I have a Pioneer with DVD player), USB and iPod integration. Bluetooth.

- Small steering with illuminated controls.

- AWD for sure. Very confident to drive with.

- Wiper defrost.

I don't like:

- No direct injection.

- No Stop and Go (engine shut down on red light), which is available in Australia.

- Horn sound.

- More needs more insulation inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2012

7th Mar 2012, 10:31

What kind of mileage are you getting? How do you like the CVT transmission? Is it a lot different than a regular automatic?

11th May 2012, 16:51

I've had this car for 2 months now, and I still can't get used to CVT. I don't like way the engine revs up when you are trying to get up to highway speed. There is a notable lag in gear shifting from Forward to Reverse, you have to wait for 1.5 - 2 seconds before the gears engage, leaving you sitting there with no movement. I also hate doing 3 point turns in that car. The CVT is great on gas and very smooth, but as far as drivability and fun, it's pretty useless. :)

2nd Sep 2012, 16:15

I test drove a base model yesterday. Road noise and acceleration is deafening. Seemed to struggle going up a hill. Salesman seemed to stress Bluetooth, USB, docking station, etc. Maybe a young person needs this stuff in a car.

At over $20K, I think more attention should be placed on the car itself, not the electronic stuff.

Will not be buying one.

2012 Subaru Impreza Sport 2.0 flat 4 from North America

Summary:

Major improvement looks wise, and an amazing driver

Faults:

None, brand new.

General Comments:

Just picked up the new Impreza Sport last night. Having driven a couple of them already, I can say the drive is awesome, and it feels much more powerful and peppy than the 148 hp would have you believe.

The CVT is amazingly smooth, and it is a chain driven unit too, so it is more durable than most. It also has the paddle shifts on it, so you can simulate gear changes for a more sporty feel. I actually like driving this car much more than the Legacy that I compared it to, in making my purchasing decision.

This is my third Subaru vehicle, and I have had awesome luck with their vehicles so far. I expect this car to be on par with the rest. It has a nice quality fit and finish. The Sport package is to me the best route to go as long as you like a wagon. It comes with many standard features on it, like the winter package and the 6 speaker sound system and Bluetooth. I think it is also the most attractive package with the larger 17 inch gun metal gray wheels. My car is the Marine Blue Pearl color.

I am happy to be AWDriving once again. I will update this thread as I go, and let everyone know how well the car is performing for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2012

5th Jul 2013, 22:38

I couldn't help but notice that your previous car was a Ford Focus. I traded in a 2012 Ford Focus Titanium for a 2012 Impreza Sport Limited about a month ago. The DCT in that car was too unpredictable; you never knew for sure if the car was going to move when pressing the gas pedal. And those transmissions are failing on people at an alarming rate with no real fix in sight, so I got rid of mine while it still worked.

I love the Impreza, it has a nice clean dashboard layout and lots of room for people. There's plenty of pep for getting around town, and the gas mileage is the best for an AWD.

Best of all, it goes when you press the gas pedal every time, like a car should!

My only complaint is that the stereo isn't that great, but it's easy to replace.