1993 Subaru Legacy Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1993 Subaru Legacy L Wagon 4 cylinder. Boxer from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Boxer Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles

Summary:

Solid and reliable, but not without it's maintenance woes

Faults:

New transmission just before bought (it was slipping in 5th gear).

Replaced driver's side CV joint.

No a/c. Snapped Belt.

Spark plug wires shorted out, replaced.

Leaks rather large amounts of oil.

Replaced front passenger side axle.

Stereo/speakers experiencing series of faults.

Exhaust system keeps developing leaks, even after sections replaced.

Filler neck was leaking, needed replacement.

Is starting to rust in several places.

General Comments:

Despite the lengthy list above, I actually like this car. It's been rather nice to me.

This car, like most Subarus, handles beautifully. I've never experience any loss of confidence on dirt, in the snow, or in wet conditions, even at unreasonable speeds. The steering is very solid and responsive and the brakes do their job well, despite not being anti lock.

Acceleration is satisfying, and frankly a bit surprising for an aging 4-cylinder. I've been known to rip a respectable front-wheel burnout on occaision, which bring me to my next point.

This machine can take a beating. It's never let me down. Even after being hit a couple times, it's solid as a rock. Always starts on cold New England mornings.

I plan on driving this car until it will no longer pass inspection. The only reason I'd replace it before then would be due to finding an irresistible alternative.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2005

22nd Aug 2006, 12:19

My filler neck has started leaking as well, and I think my CV joints are also in need of replacement. However, I completely agree with every pro you have stated about this particular vehicle.

1993 Subaru Legacy L 1.6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carSubaru Loyale

Summary:

Safe, reliable and economical basic transportation

Faults:

1.Torn CV boots, both sides. More than likely due to driving on too many rough logging roads.

2. AC compressor went out at 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

1. Has been very reliable from day one.

2. Suspension is a bit soft in the corners, but not a problem.

3. Good acceleration and gas mileage, about 22 in town and 26 on the freeway.

4. Mine is front-wheel drive, not all wheel drive , so seems to have a bit more power than those models.

5. Front brakes lasted 85,000 miles before needing replacement.

6. Automatic seat belt shoulder harness is a nuisance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2005

21st May 2007, 12:30

My only comment is that I have also replaced all my half shafts once, and CV boots twice, and have only driven on paved roads, so I think it is more of a design glitch than the fact that you drive on rough logging roads.

1993 Subaru Legacy EJ20 2.0L twin Turbo GT from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 kilometres
Most recent distance97659 kilometres
Previous carNissan bluebird

Summary:

One good car

Faults:

Fuel pump.

General Comments:

Best car I have ever been in very quick and loves the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2005

1993 Subaru Legacy Turbo Quad Cam 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles

Summary:

Fantastic, generally very reliable monster

Faults:

Water pump failed at 85,000.

Crack in radiator plastic end caused coolant loss at 85,000 miles.

CV Joints failed at 90,000 miles.

5th gear synchro mesh failed at 80,000 miles.

Rear suspension wore out at 80,000 miles.

Mass Air Flow Sensor failed at 98,000 miles.

Steering wheel cover split at 105,000 miles.

Sun roof jammed at 100,000 miles.

Catalytic Converter failed at 90,000 miles.

Boot latch pull broke off at 80,000 miles.

Tappets need replacing at 80,000 miles.

Turbo boost solenoid failed at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

I ditched the standard running gear and replaced it all with gear from an Impreza STI. The car now has 320 bhp and hits 62 mph (100 kph) in a little under 5 seconds.

The STI suspension improved the handling no end.

All the electrics still work perfectly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2005

10th Oct 2005, 21:33

What an amazing sounding car now!!

I have a Subaru legacy GT and I have always wondered what it would be like to put a WRX motor in it!!

Well done sounds like my dream car:)

1993 Subaru Legacy L 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles

Summary:

Was fine, but would never pay the price they are asking these days

Faults:

I replaced every single thing on the car except transmission. At 75k miles, it needed thousands of dollars of repairs. Every belt. The fuel pump, sensor, and all electronic elements began going out every couple years. Electric windows burned out. Electric fuses on turn signals & brake lights went out ($250 repair). Then it quit going up hills at 95k miles, and would stall when it hit an incline. No one could figure out what was wrong & was cracks in engine. I took great care of the car, but it died years before I expected it to.

General Comments:

Did not handle snow well, would slide through intersections and slid backwards down hills in snow. But seats were comfy on long distance drives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2005

26th Jul 2009, 22:46

I am not so sure what made you buy a car with all these things it needed/what you did to cause all these problems, but the 4 cylinder boxer engine will go forever, and the rest of the car is reliable. If your car is AWD, which I believe at least in North America it came as standard, you should have had absolutely no problems with traction. Maybe bad tires? This car can make anyone a driving ace. It sounds like you bought a lemon...

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 25 reviews