2000 Subaru Outback Reviews - Page 7 of 15

2000 Subaru Outback Limited Wagon 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Abysmal

Faults:

Brakes replaced at 100,000 miles (free by dealer)

Rear tailgate constantly freezing shut

100% new brakework at 120,000 miles ($600)

Side power mirrors inoperable

Rear whiper motor not working

Clutch replaced twice ($800)

Head gaskets replaced at 140,000 miles (with other work, $1600)

Head gaskets and radiator replaced at 160,000 miles ($1600) The garage says radiator fluid leaked on the headgaskets and ruined them...

Constant water leaking from the tailgate after it rains (it gets the back all wet!)

Tail lights constantly blown out on account of the leaking water.

I can't list all the small things that are wrong with this car.

General Comments:

I can't afford to keep this car running. As a college student, I looked at Subaru's reputation for long running and unstoppable reliability. It's just like a Toyota, I thought. "Now that I got rid of the Audi, my car troubles will be over!" But there's so much more to add to the list, it wouldn't all fit.

There's a lot good to say about the car. The inside and outside still look brand new (a little rust here and there, but that's the high mileage). The car has a solid feel. The leather seats are in great condition, as is the dash, door panels. Some interior lights are no longer working. But, sure as hell, that check engine light never misses a beat. No rattles, some wind noise. Engine power is lacking in my opinion, as is GAS MILEAGE (it is AWD, I suppose).

It is a great car in the winter, but I just can't afford this car. Oh Subaru, maybe I should have just gone for the Toyota reliability in the first place.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2008

22nd Jul 2008, 03:33

Can you advise if you have fixed the leaking tailgate? I have the same problem and cannot seem to find a leak!

14th Sep 2009, 01:03

Has anyone found a fix for this problem? Please contact me jkainula@lakeheadu.ca

I also have this problem!

21st Jul 2010, 21:50

If the car has the dual sunroofs, there is a pipe at either end of a channel on each side of the sunroof. If the pipe gets blocked, the water can't drain, so it backs up.

2000 Subaru Outback limited 2.5 litre from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance80500 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Not what I expected

Faults:

I bought the car in Aug 06. In Sept both fuel level sensors had to be replaced. 3 weeks later, the map and knock sensors were replaced. A few months later, both O2 sensors were replaced, and the idle speed control sensor was cleaned. When starting in cold temps, the idle races up to 3000 rpm and stays there for a while; dealer says it is normal?

General Comments:

Do research before buying a car.

I am glad I took out an extended warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2008

2000 Subaru Outback Wagon 2.5L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

Disapointed!

Faults:

Soon after we got this car, at 115,000 miles, it was in for service & performance problems and the mechanic told us the head gasket at the #3 cylinder was leaking. Woow, $2200. later head job and timing belt and some other misc. costs.

The mechanic found to his surprise that 2.5 L Subarus are popping up on mechanic trade internet sights as having numerous head gasket problems.

I looked back into the car's record at the original dealer where it was serviced before we bought it and there were many serious repair jobs including a head gasket job at about 60,000 miles and a clutch.

Now at 140,000 we have just bought another clutch.

I thought Subaru's were reliable out to 250,000 miles and more.

General Comments:

Again we thought we were buying and paying a little more for that Subaru reliability. But this has been pretty expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st January, 2008

2000 Subaru Outback Limited 2.5 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance88900 miles
Previous carSubaru Outback

Summary:

If you could put an old Subi engine in a 96-03 model, it would be unstoppable!

Faults:

There seems to be an odd smell coming from the vents when I warm the car up and let it idle for more than 10 minutes.

..or drive around for the same amount of time.

What is this smell?...It's like burning rubber or plastic?

Is this a pre-cursor to a most likely Head Gasket failure?

Or is this just something that is normal with this year and model Outback?

If anybody out there has had this problem please respond quickly, I only have a few weeks left on the warranty and want to know if I should do something about this now before it gets worse,

EMAIL me at pitubaby76@hotmail.com

General Comments:

I like all the creature comforts this Limited model has, BUT, like many people say, the more options, the greater the chance of many costly repairs.

I have owned a few older Subarus, but I am getting VERY nervous after reading many, many similar horror stories about head gasket problems.

I never had these issues with my older Subarus, I just hope I won't be one of, what seems to be many unhappy Outback owners venting about the 2.5 engine faults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th November, 2007

16th Nov 2007, 16:20

I found out it was on oil leak... more to come on the "leaky Subi" I have recently purchased...let's hope it's not what I think it is...pitubaby76@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 48 reviews