2000 Subaru Outback Reviews - Page 6 of 15

2000 Subaru Outback Limited 2.5 ej25 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 ej25 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

HEAD GASKETS needed replacing only after 10k miles of driving.

Transmission is failing.

Body style is plastic and cheap.

Plus a million other little things.

General Comments:

NOT WORTH IT!!! I have spent enough on this car to have bought a brand new one, and the list keeps growing. Both owners before me babied this car as have I.

These cars are flawed from the get go. 96-99 have internal HG leaks and 00-04 have external HG leaks. The percentage of Soobs that leak are EXTREMELY high. I'm staring at a 2000$ bill for mine right now! This car is a big gamble with high risk. I should have heeded warnings from other people, but I decided to get it anyway. Now I'm really regretting it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2008

2000 Subaru Outback Legacy from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Good, if you have $ to spend

Faults:

54,000 new battery/alternator.

80,000 new tires, front brakes.

88,000 engine light went on. Diagnosed with needing two exhaust/catalytic converters - not done.

88,000 major service.

90,000 replaced windshield, due to crack.

100,000 new rear brakes.

113,000 flushed coolant, added additive on my own.

Many chips on front bumper.

General Comments:

Good car. Great in all weather.

I purchased car used from dealer.

I have taken car to dealers several times for service.

I was NEVER told about Subaru extending warranty on coolant/told to add additive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th August, 2008

2000 Subaru Outback from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40200 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

Disgraceful!!!

Faults:

As the original owner of a 2000 Outback with 40,000 miles, that is driven by my wife as gently as a car can be driven, I was shocked to be told that the transmission, which has an ever longer delay going into gear, would require a full replacement at a cost of approximately 3,000$$$. I wish I had read these posts before committing to the repairs. Now I will be waiting for the gaskets to go. Hopefully I can get some value out of this heap before that happens. My first and last Subaru. BE WARNED!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2008

17th Jul 2013, 16:59

$3,000 bucks? Hell, you can buy a Outback Grand Wagon Lancaster. Here in Japan you can pick up a 10-year-old with well under 100,000km on the clock for no more than $2,000. Drive it out of the auction yard all paid.

With a Subaru, after 100,000km you're on borrowed time, but you can push timing belt replacement a bit. In fact it's best to scrap at 100,000km and replace, as here in Japan it's often cheaper as in the countryside scrapping's free. On the 2.5-litre, the head gasket will blow at around 160,000km. Essentially a last owner vehicle.

Bottom line, you're paying too much and expecting too much.

2000 Subaru Outback from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Good in bad weather, expensive overall

Faults:

Loosing fifth gear, this has happened to us twice. When it happened to us the second time our mechanic was very surprised, he had another car that he just fixed for the same thing a second time. He asked Subaru what was up and they told him to used lock washer (s) when doing the repair and that might help. So hopefully it will not happen again. If this happens to you ask your mechanic to use lock washers when making the repair - it could save you a second or third repair, which runs upwards of $1500.

General Comments:

The anti-lock breaks bounce the car and make lots of funny noises.

MPG is too low.

The car has cost us much more than planed for repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2008

2000 Subaru Outback from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired43 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Great reliable car for 5 years, but disappointed by current transmission problems.

Faults:

Day I paid the car off my CV joint and front axle broke at 130,000 miles ($1200.00 bill).

Check engine light came on at 100,000 miles (O2 sensor). Have not replaced this due to $850.00 price tag.

Replaced CD player at approximately 20,000 miles.

My tires really get chewed up fast on the highway (on third set after three alignments and regular balancing and rotating tires). Very frustrating.

Overheats regularly in 100-110 degree weather (had radiator and intake area cleaned due to only operating at 20% efficiency due to plugged with bugs!). ($150.00 bill)

Drivers seat is wearing out.

Headlights and fog lights burned out at 155,000 miles.

Undercarriage coverings are starting to fall off near engine.

Transmission problems. Automatic transmission shifts slowly and with considerable noise. Also when deaccellerating it sounds like the transmission is working too hard and making way too much noise. One repair shop said I need to take it to a transmission shop and bad noises coming from transmissionnny may mean a new transmission!?! I am going to replace transmission fluid first.

General Comments:

This car ran great in snow, rain, mud, hot weather until now. I loved this car until it started breaking down.

Have only been stuck in a snowbank once and regularly plows through snow drifts with ease. Very safe car on icy roads.

In cold snowing weather ice builds up severely on wheel well fender area and driver needs to continually break it free with foot or any available tools.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2008

2nd Mar 2008, 13:27

Next time, you may want to consider a stick-shift vehicle. Cheaper to buy, better MPG, better performance, and far less things to go wrong. With proper driving habits, you can get well over 100K out of a clutch EASY. My 2 cents worth.

24th Apr 2008, 07:50

Hey, I have the same problems with my outback. I have 128k, just replaced the right side axle (did myself,$85, dealer wanted $225). Replaced front brakes. Rotors are shot but don't have the money to fix. Trans takes it good old nature time engaging into drive from a stand still. Car shakes bad from bad rotors. Always smells like its burning, maybe ill get lucky and it will catch itself on fire. Pretty good mpg considering the AWD. Gets about 27 mpg highway. Tires wearing good, no problems. Needs new belts, but there's that money issue again. Good luck with yours.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 48 reviews