Subaru Vivio Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1994 Subaru Vivio GLI 4WD 660 from Hungary

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 660 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

A masterpiece of engineering.

Faults:

Ball joint gone - or actually the whole wishbone as it comes as one unit.

General Comments:

Very small car with matching engine. Poor boot-space, but the back seats fold flat and you get a very good load-space. The gears are short, 100 km/h is a bit too much for poor thing. Still, 5.5 l/100 km is great for fuel efficiency. The four wheel drive is great in snow! The manufacturing quality is Japanese, no European car can beat it. I sold it, my heart is bleeding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th March, 2005

28th Aug 2005, 01:45

It's amazing car! I'm using it in Lithuania. I love it!!

1992 Subaru Vivio from Albania

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired21560 kilometres
Most recent distance43987 kilometres
Previous carSeat Arosa

Summary:

Brilliant. I love this car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

In general a very reliable car.

Although it's a car without any problems, you could fix it even on your own because the mechanics in this 53 hp car are so simple.

General Comments:

The Vivio is a reliable and cheap car.

It's more beautiful than other cars, like the Seat Arosa.

My Subaru is also a very spacious car, with four doors and a great trunk.

The small 53 hp- engine is very quick and handles like it's on rails.

At last the best: The interior is so nice and lovely. There are details like the small clock in the middle of the dashboard, or the door lockers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2005

1993 Subaru Vivio GLi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Cheap to buy and run, but a pain for parts

Faults:

He rocker wear i.e the rubber around the head gasket is worn off. Therefore oil is leaking from engine.

The CV joint on the left is gone.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable, economical and reliable. However, all these faults have proved very hard to repair as parts are hard to get and if available, cost more than what I paid for the car! The car is now parked as the CV joint is badly worn. Apparently there are two different sorts of CV joints under the Subaru Vivio 1993, but my one is the rare one! Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

1993 Subaru Vivio GLi 660 from Singapore

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 660 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired58200 kilometres
Most recent distance58400 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

An efficient and reliable car to own

Faults:

The aircondition does not work properly in hot weather like noon time. It is cool in the morning and evening, thus do not know whether the aircondition is faulty.

The rear headboard is noisy when on bummy road.

Engine and road noise are loud.

The steering wheel feels heavy.

General Comments:

I like the car for it is reliable and economical to maintain.

Good road holding unlike some bigger size cars. It feels steady when on high speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2002

6th Dec 2008, 02:30

I own a 1992 Subaru Vivio turbo charged japanese right hand drive in Canada. It broke down and I need to find a service/repair manual, can anyone help?

Dan.

1997 Subaru Vivio GLi 660 CC from Singapore

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 660 CC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 kilometres
Most recent distance25800 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

When you pay peanuts, you get peanuts

Faults:

Seats Creaking from a loose connection point which is un repairable.

Noisy at high speed, 110km/h onwards.

Slow pick up at low gear.

General Comments:

Could have been a more popular car if the pick up speed is improved.

Interior space is seriously small, not a car you would want to take on a long journey.

Good car for fuel saving and low budget drives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2002

1998 Subaru Vivio GLi 658cc petrol from Singapore

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 658cc petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Viki

Summary:

Super low fuel consumption

Faults:

Due wear and tear, the dust cover for the drive shaft found broken and the ball bearing starts to wear off after a long trip to and back from Singapore to Penang, West Malaysia a total of 1800km. The spare parts of the dust cover together with the ball bearing costs me only S$90 per side and labour S$40 and is cheap!!!

General Comments:

As the engine capacity is only 658cc, the car is some how or rather lack of power. To solve, I have upgraded my spark plug cables to the racing type so as to the spark plugs to iridium type. Not only that, I have removed my catalyst converter and now I can easily beat those cars that are below 1000cc less those with 4 cylinders type, turbo or supercharge in the traffic junction.

Another thing which I think is important is the stability of the car. The original tyre size is 145/70/R12 and is able feel the instability especially when a heavy vehicle passes by. To improve, upgrade to 165/55/R13.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2002

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews