19th Jun 2006, 09:45

The problems are due to Suzuki moving assembly to China in late 2004, and seems to be limited to the AWD. Since buying my 2005 I have had:

- 3 four wheel alignments.

- 6 tires replaced.

- Viscous coupling for AWD replaced.

- A power door lock replaced.

- The styrofoam on the rear bumper fall off.

- Lower control arm bolts re-torqued after almost falling out.

- The manifold heat shield was loose and rattling.

- The hood was loose and rattling.

- The rims are now scratched and scuffed due to all the tires that have been installed.

A wful

E ngineering

R esulting

I n

O verhaul

Absolute worst car purchase of my life.. all this in less than 12,000 miles... What a piece of junk.

22nd Jun 2006, 07:34

Well for ones there is a problem on AWD cars in regards to rear wheels alignment.

I don’t know about your dealership, but they should of replace your tires for free.

I personally have 2006 SX AWD premium package. No problem with wheel alignment.

Drove 12000 miles so far.

I do recommend it over Honda Fit.

22nd Jun 2006, 19:32

With so many problems, you should be able to sue. I think CT and NY require four problems before you can take the manufacturer to court, but other states may differ. I'm sorry you've had such an unusually awful experience.

1st Jan 2007, 20:57

Our 2003 Aerio SX AWD has factory Yokohama tires on it with 40,000 and no problems so far. If only our Toyota Avalon had as few problems as the Suzuki did!!

29th Mar 2007, 08:11

Our Aerio has totally eaten the tires at 20,000 miles.

We lost our AWD and could not make it up our hill to go home.

The Dealer fixed the viscous coupler and aligned the wheels.

The AWD works now, but the car vibrates at 55mph and above.

This is probably our last Suzuki.

3rd Apr 2007, 08:33

I have 20,000 miles on mine...2 wheel drive.

I have had 3 alignments done

My car steering wheel shakes uncontrollably above 60.

I have replaced my tires THREE times!!!

I bought it brand new in 05' and it has yet to pass an inspection without the tires failing due to wearing from the outside in, which I was told by Suzuki the way the car is made is why they wear like that.

So far, they have done everything at comp..BUT, it is crap that every year, my new car fails inspection, I have to take off work to get it to the dealer service department to get the work done, then I have to argue for a half an hour on why I'm not going to pay for the work. Also, sooner or later, I have a feeling they won't cover the tires anymore. These cars are nothing, but LEMONS!!!

10th Apr 2007, 06:10

Sorry guys, but you don't know what you are talking about, the Aerio is a great car. I deliver pizzas with it, and have already done 116000 miles and never changed a bulb, and bought another one AWD 2006. So if you know how to inflate the tires properly, you'll never have that problem again. Good luck to all of you.

15th May 2007, 21:27

Tire pressure being wrong? I can't believe I just read that, these are major problems not minor ones.

15th Oct 2007, 17:52

Anybody who gets to inspection every year with a tire wear problem so bad that their car cannot be approved hasn't been paying any attention in between. Tires, especially on AWD's, need attention at least once and preferably twice a month. If you live in territory where you get lots of flats, then more often. If you have cheap, high flex tires, then you won't have much left, especially if you spend time on highly abrasive surfaces. If you drive hard enough to bounce your sway bar out of it's retainer, then it really doesn't make much difference how or by whom the car was assembled. It's still going to fall apart sooner than later.

3rd Apr 2008, 23:36

Update on original post... (Suzuki made me sign a "gag" order not to disclose the details of how this came about") but

I got rid of the piece of crap (2005 AWD Aerio) after 15 months of agonizing ownership about 20 months ago. The 1986 Toyota Corolla I bought quickly to replace it, has already given me more trouble free kilometers than the Suzuki ever did. Would recommend a 22yr old Toyota over a new Suzuki any day... a sad testament to Suzuki.

4th Nov 2008, 04:28

I purchased the vehicle new. In the last 3 yrs, I have had to repair/change driver's side front end appox. every 2 months. Balancing, tire air and alingning will not do, I have tried everything, new tires every few months, etc. still have the vibrating, excessive wear of tires.

My other problem is the alarm, had the dealer check it 4 times already, purchased new parts and control various times, still goes off by itself, even while driving!

30th Dec 2010, 05:25

05 Suzuki Aerio Sx FWD. Bought new and has 130000 miles. Have had ZERO problems other than an A/C compressor and 2 A/C relays. Front brake wear is excessive. Needs pads every 15-20k. Tires averaged 25-30k miles, but now using Khumo's, which have 20k and look to go another 30 more.

Overall, far far more reliable than my 98 VW New beetle. Great car for a great price.

8th Feb 2014, 19:07

+1 on over inflated tires and ripping.