2010 Suzuki Alto Reviews

2010 Suzuki Alto 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Fantastic value, zippy engine

Faults:

Paintwork scratched easily

Seat belts difficult to snap in

General Comments:

Really great price for such a reliable car that sips at fuel. It's like running a 50cc moped, I barely notice the needle go down after long journeys.

My favourite thing about the Alto has to be the colour changeability for the interior trim. If you have one, get over to Car Accessories Plus (http://www.caraccessoriesplus.co.uk/manufacturer/suzuki/car-accessories.html). At the time of writing (17/12/12) they have a really good sale on these, down £20 in some cases.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2012

2010 Suzuki Alto SX3 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2200 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Cheap

Faults:

Rear de-mister does not clear the window.

Gearbox is very clunky.

Electric windows judder.

General Comments:

The car is as cheap as chips to run - but don't expect comfort. The rear view mirror doesn't even flip up to prevent 'dazzle'. The wing mirrors are manual.

There is a very worrying noise coming from the front driver's side wheel. This is especially noticeable when the engine is very cold. The heater takes forever to heat up, and trying to find reverse is like trying to find a needle in a haystack. Basically it's just cheap, and it feels cheap.

I wish I had gone for the Hyundai i10 'style' instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th December, 2010

4th May 2014, 17:31

I wouldn't be too quick to wish you'd gone for a Hyundai i10... I was going to get an Alto in Sept 2012, but there was a few weeks wait for one, so I went for an i10 Classic instead.

I've had a lot of problems with both the car and the dealers. It's honestly been the worst car I've owned in 23 years of motoring, and I have just traded it in for a Dacia Sandero, which will hopefully be better.

The Hyundai had pin-pricks of rust coming through in various places, splitting paint around the rear window, was drinking coolant before I got rid of it, and had engine management problems with it over-revving. It was a horrible car to drive.

I used 2 dealers for servicing, and both of them were at it - telling me that my brake pads & discs required replacement when my own mechanic measured them with vernier calipers against Hyundai's own tolerances and found them to be only 40% worn. The second dealer also damaged my Bluetooth Parrot Hands-free kit (which they had no reason to even touch!).

I hired a Suzuki Alto in Greece a month ago, and it was a much nicer drive; so much so that as soon as I returned home, I decided the Hyundai had to go.

5th May 2014, 06:25

Keep a close eye out for rust on the Dacia. Apparently RHD model Dacias are made in India, unlike the European built LHD models. There are lots of reports of rusting along the seams of Indian built Dacias.

6th May 2014, 18:10

Rust is merely a cosmetic issue though. It doesn't actually affect the performance or safety of the vehicle. If the rust bothers the owner, a can of paint and paintbrush comprise a quick, easy solution.

7th May 2014, 06:47

No, I meant brand NEW RHD Dacias are suffering rust, plus it is a safety issue if the chassis develops too much of it!

8th May 2014, 10:24

If you paint over it, the rusty parts are no longer exposed to the elements, and the truck will be fine. It's all cosmetic. A body shop can paint over it cheaply if you don't want to do it by yourself.

2010 Suzuki Alto SZ-L 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Bargain

Faults:

Nothing yet, but it is only 1 month old.

General Comments:

I recently decided to downsize my car after being faced with high fuel bills on a 55 mile commute to work.

I looked at a range of other small, economical cars (KA, FOX, PANDA etc), after which I came across this little car from Suzuki.

The test drive was surprising. The 1.0 litre 67 bhp engine feels punchier and more refined than I expected, even brisk, although the weight of the car is only 800kg, so it doesn't feel strained at all. It has a great balance between ride and handling - the suspension is on the softer side and soaks up bumps brilliantly, but neither does it go sideways in a tight bend. It doesn't feel jittery or bumpy at all - quite the opposite - it feels very planted.

It will happily cruise along quietly at 70 on the motorway all day, without leaving you exhausted. I actually think it is a better car at higher speeds, because it does need a steady input of revs when pulling away or driving around town.

I like the fact it has 5 doors and yes - it will seat 4 people in comfort. This is not a g-wiz style citycar, it's a proper 5 door hatch.

I notice that certain reviews are damning of the interior, but I like it, and it feels very well put together, no rattles etc. To be honest, a soft touch interior will only ever be important to me the day I plan to live in it - and I don't.

What tipped it for me was the price: £5800 with an old trade in - brand new! For that you get air conditioning, electric windows, Special edition trim, front fog lights, MP3CD, 4 x airbags, remote central locking, ABS, EBD, emergency brake assist, 3 year warranty, 65mpg and road tax of 20 quid a year.

This is a far superior car to my old C1. I can fit the family (+ car seat and pram!) in easily. For motoring on a tight budget, there aren't many cars I can think of that rival it at this price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th October, 2010

2010 Suzuki Alto GL 1.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2800 kilometres
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Great value for money; we wish it sold in the USA

Faults:

There has been a brake system recall that was fixed for free by our local service place.

General Comments:

My Mother bought our "Zoe", the new for 2010 Suzuki Alto for approximately AU$14,000 in March, 2010. Our main reason for this choice was that it was one of the cheapest automatic cars currently on the market. The other close competitor was the also new Proton S16, but the Suzuki seemed like the safer choice of the two, as Protons have had a spotty reputation.

We've been quite happy with Zoe. She sips fuel and zips around town quite happily. The handling is much better than our 2000 Focus, and is almost sporty. On the downside, the ride is rather stiff, so long trips can be a bit trying despite the comfy seats. The rear seats are a touch cramped, but surprising in size in relation to the car. The rear cargo space is minuscule, so I don't think it'd be suitable for a family trip.

All in all, we really love the Alto and regret we won't be able to purchase one when we return to the States.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2010

7th Oct 2010, 03:53

Hi, I've heard people mention oil leaks on the late model Altos. Just wondering if you've experienced this at all?

16th Apr 2011, 21:39

I have the 2010 or 2009 auto. I have had no oil leaks and travelled eighteen thousand, though I have changed the oil and filter three times because it was filthy. Running in maybe..?

I have to say I love this car, slow to take off but I am OK with that. I don't expect eight cylinder power from what is a pretty gutsy three cylinder. It's a ripper not for rev heads or thrashers. It would not last kissing time.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 4 reviews