2008 Suzuki Cultus Reviews

2008 Suzuki Cultus VXRi 1.0 gasoline from Pakistan

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.0 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance58000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Khyber

Summary:

Good features for a reasonable price

Faults:

That car was 1998 model, so it's old, and every month I had to take it to the workshop. Its engine got weak, and piston rings and valves were worn out

General Comments:

The engine of this car is really powerful.

If you use Iridium spark plugs, it gives up to 230km per cylinder.

A/C is good.

Beautiful car.

Not very comfortable, but reasonable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2010

2008 Suzuki Cultus VXRi 1.0 petrol CNG from Pakistan

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol CNG Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres

Summary:

Overall it's very beautiful and good, also on CNG

Faults:

Driver door lock was broken a few days ago. It's all plastic and not very well made.

Doors themselves are poor in quality.

Brakes on general tyres, which come as standard, are poor.

Window winding system is very poor.

Seats are not so bad, but the rear ones don't seat 3 comfortably because of their shape.

Body is very weak steel and plastic.

In the Santro that I bought new in 2003, the fit and finish was way better than this car.

General Comments:

Its engine is excellent.

CNG system is excellent.

Except for the door handle, I didn't have any trouble with the car.

It runs well on CNG at motorway speed, and in spite of the CNG cylinder, its trunk space behind the rear seats will carry a lot of things if you buy bags which are slim and fit in there.

A/C is excellent. Cooling system seems good.

Its CNG system keeps it as powerful as it is on petrol, which is better than in the Santro, which I also bought new in 2003.

Its brakes are also better than the Santro.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2009

22nd Nov 2009, 10:19

It is a very nice car having pretty good drive with full hold on turning. It has a good road grip upto 120 km on motorway. Fuel consumption with Efi is close to Mehran. It starts in morning on first attempt even in extreme cold. Road clearance must have been slightly greater.

2008 Suzuki Cultus VXRi 1.0 efi from Pakistan

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.0 efi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance4000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Cultus

Summary:

Good

Faults:

Well the CNG setting is not OK with my car, don't know about the others. EXCEPT this CNG setting, every thing is going perfect.

And one more thing, the alignment is not correct.

General Comments:

Well the new Cultus 1.0 efi is going well. It's 16 valve and 4 cylinder, and it's very good in on second gear. It completes to 90 km/h at 6000 rpm.

But this new model is very comfortable, and is very good; buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2008

22nd Dec 2008, 02:34

I have this car for last 5 months i.e. VXRi. It is good city car for small family. Its CNG version is good but according to most of people it has only one problem like Liana, it takes more time to convert from Gasoline to CNG.

Pak-Suzuki should add good quality of tires with it and should reduce its price.

16th Jan 2009, 10:55

My friends, I have bought Cultus VXRi on 22 August 08 and it is going well. Till now I drove 1000 km on petrol and then on CNG when I came from the workshop the workers could not make the setting properly, then my driver had adjusted it. If you have one you must go the dealer. The best car in Pakistan paksuzuki hits...

4th Apr 2009, 02:46

I have recently bought a Suzuki Cultus VXRi, and to date I'm a satisfied customer. The only problem is that it starts on petrol and stays on petrol for 90 seconds, and so the petrol bill has increased. But as as far as I have been able to investigate, even Pak Suzuki are helpless in this case.

29th May 2010, 17:38

Let me clarify to the users that it is always good for piston engines to be started on petrol and then converted to CNG. It's not about being helpless for Suzuki, it's about lack of knowledge of the technician you consulted. This is an additional feature of the new CNG kits that they start the car on petrol irrespective of the fact that you switched it OFF on CNG. For all those who do not follow this, I recommend that give the first start of your car on petrol, let the heat gauge touch the first graded line on the temperature gauge, then convert to CNG before your wheels roll. Doing so will not only enhance life of your engine, but you will feel the difference even while driving on that day. Enjoy... (Aeronautical Engineers know it better, and those related to Lycoming are fathers of such issues.)

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 3 reviews