Suzuki Liana Reviews

2002 Suzuki Liana 1.3 petrol from Sri Lanka

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance134000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 307

Faults:

None that I can complain about. All running repairs.

Replaced an axle boot

Replaced brake pads.

Oxygen sensor replaced.

General Comments:

This car was the most reliable car I've ever had. It was just fantastic. I would just start it up and go on and on.

Comfort was OK since it's a Japanese car, and it was not a fast car, but I enjoyed it very much.

If you want a rock solid car that can be used every day, this is excellent. A great city car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2013

2003 Suzuki Liana L 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 kilometres
Most recent distance43000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Signet

Summary:

Has to be the best value car in its class

Faults:

Ambient temperature sensor failed at 35,000 Km. It has no function except to display the outside air temperature, so it wasn't replaced.

General Comments:

I have never had to spend a penny on this car apart from servicing and a new battery. It is the most reliable car I have ever driven, and at a budget price.

Build quality is first class, no rattles or shakes and all doors close firmly.

Interior is good with great headroom. suspension is not of modern Ford or Audi standard, but perfectly adequate.

Only downside is emissions rating is slightly higher than other cars of the same CC, which means higher road tax €333 per annum in Ireland.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2009

3rd Feb 2012, 05:35

I had a LIANA RXI model 2006 1.3 Lit. I drove it till 2010, it was a trouble free ride, throughout the four years.

Now I have a Liana LXI since Mar-2010. This version is even better. I agree that it is the best car for its value.

2004 Suzuki Liana GLX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carSubaru Justy

Summary:

Crazy depreciation turns the car to scrap

Faults:

Front suspension bushes, several times.

Drivers seat bolster.

Steering bearing.

Automatic transmission.

General Comments:

Spacious, good headroom.

Front suspension bushes had to be sorted under warranty at least 3 times - dealer said this was a known problem, but all they were doing to rectify it was the old 'tin' trick.

Comfortable, ride not bad, but could be better, did roll and understeer quite a lot if driven a little more enthusiastically, luckily this wasn't an issue as it was the wife's car.

OK for the money, but ready for the scrapper at only 5 years old and 27,000 miles due to an unknown fault in the auto transmission. We paid £100 to the dealer for a diagnostic, which stated 'There's something wrong with the gearbox, it needs to be checked'. So it cost us £100 to be told what we already knew. We were then quoted at least £500 to have the transmission removed and sent to gearbox specialist for diagnostic, this is before any kind of repair. We were also quoted £4000 (yes £4000!!!!!!) for a new gearbox, plus fitting and VAT. Seeing as the car was now only worth £1900 trade, the repair was not viable so we got rid of it.

Nice car, and on the face of it, reliable, but an auto box should NOT fall to bits after only 27,000 miles of very gentle driving, so sorry Suzuki, we won't be buying again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th November, 2009

2006 Suzuki Liana RXI CNG 1.3 from Pakistan

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35 kilometres
Most recent distance20500 kilometres

Summary:

Best value against small budget

Faults:

No such serious faults faced

General Comments:

Good experience for owning it. Because @849000/= you are getting every thing like power windows, power door locks, key less entry and above all factory fitted CNG. What else you want? Whereas to own a Corolla with all these items you have to spent approximately 1025000/=

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd October, 2007

2006 Suzuki Liana RXI 1.3L 5MT M13A DOHC from Pakistan

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3L 5MT M13A DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance300 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

I will give 8 out of 10

Faults:

Only front passenger side door is tight, a little bit.

General Comments:

Very good value of money. Very comfortable and efficient car. I found very good mileage average of this car, hence it proves to be very economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2006

24th Dec 2007, 06:15

I bought this car in July 2006. Leakage of petrol from the tank, noisy front speakers are inherited problems. But now the interior plastic moldings start falling. This is a crap car. All Suzuki cars are very poor quality cars. I suggest to all not to buy any Suzuki car. Moreover after sale service of the Suzuki company is very very poor.

13th Feb 2010, 12:54

It's your own thought. I have also a Liana, but it's good, a fully electronic gadget car, but I agree with the same backseat problem, except this, it's awesome, no leakage, no nothing, no handbrake failure, no suspension failure. You guys just think the Liana is a cheap car, that's the only problem, change your mind, then you will see that the same car is like a saloon :-l.

13th Feb 2010, 12:58

If you people are not satisfied with Liana's pick, then there is a exhaust filter in its exhaust pipe; just remove it, then it's a rocket, even beats Lancer and Pajero on M2. I think there should be a remote start facility in it for the early morning starts. Suzuki, please think about the remote start facility, it will make your car comfortable and people will love it :)

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews