1987 Suzuki Samurai Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1987 Suzuki Samurai JX 1.3 litre from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 litre Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres

Summary:

One of the greatest 4x4's ever made

Faults:

Exhaust fell off, but was partially my fault.

Starter will stop working every now and then.

Having some trouble with the automatic choke it won't turn off so truck idles high.

General Comments:

This truck is great in snow and in mud. I use it for plowing and it just keeps goin.

I put this thing through about a foot deep of mud and water and it just crawls through like it was not even trying.

Not exactly the most comfortable truck for a person that's 6.2' but funnest thing ever.

I'm 17 and I plan on keeping this truck till it dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2005

2nd Mar 2006, 10:52

I owned a 1987 Suzuki Samurai (BEEP BEEP, HI) I loved that car. I retired it in working condition with major body damage after a girl t-boned me in a parking lot. It had 463,000 miles on the original engine. Yes, that's right! Four Hundred and sixty three thousand miles. I wish I still had that car. I miss it a lot. Got one for sale? I'm looking for a 1987 Samurai Tin Top with all the extras. Email me at ACLII@hotmail.com

11th Feb 2007, 07:31

We have a Suzuki Samurai 1987 and we love it. We are selling it this week because it is two doors and we want a four door. But it has been a jewel for 20 years.

4th Mar 2007, 09:47

I am 6'5" and if you buy those PRP racing seats and the brakets from Spidertrax it will be REALLY nice. I also have a size 16EEEE shoe, but I fit in it. lol.

1987 Suzuki Samurai JX 1.3 litre from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 litre Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance200010 kilometres

Summary:

One of the Best 4x4's ever made

Faults:

Nothing I Love this Car.

General Comments:

This truck has been abused and still runs strong.

I use it for off roading and has not gotten stuck yet.

This truck is amazing in the snow, I use it as a plow truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2005

1987 Suzuki Samurai JX from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carDodge Dart

Summary:

Great in 4 wheel, but not in the commute

Faults:

Replaced the front and rear seals.

New clutch and flywheel.

New valve cover gasket.

New vinyl top.

Both front seat needed seat covers.

Transmission leaked and needed fluid bi-weekly.

Engine leaked and burned oil needing a quart every other fuel fill up.

General Comments:

When it snowed, the Samurai was great. When I needed to park in tight spots, the Samurai was great. The rest of the time, it was not as fun as I hope. There were way too many mechanical problems that kept popping up. The engine had little power, especially on the highway. Unless you are a little man, this vehicle is only a summer ride. When I had to roll the windows up, I was cramped.

However, I only paid $600 for the Samurai, and put about that much into it over the 2 years I had it. If I had the time to rebuild the engine and up the performance, it would have been a much better ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd December, 2003

26th Nov 2004, 19:53

Yeah I have one also. The motor runs great, but do you know how to put a clutch in, if you do please email me at therwaamericansoldier@yahoo.com with instructions please.

10th Jun 2008, 17:24

I have one that I drove for 5 years on a paper route and put well over 100,000 miles on. I Drove it every day from valley floor to top of summit 134 miles. When it started to get hot it was either out of oil or out of water. Correct it and you are on the go again. Had to park it 4 years ago because it would not pass DEQ. 195,000 miles and it runs great. Best starting rig I've ever had. 22 mpg loaded with 750 # of tools. Was Told that it was the smallest 3/4 ton they ever saw. 25 mpg city 30 mpg highway. Don't recommend for long trips unless you like your arms straight out. 9hrs trip the most I've gone. Yes I would buy another one if I needed one.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 20 reviews