1996 Suzuki Sierra SJ80 G13b now from Australia and New Zealand




Nothing really. Just the usual things like battery & tyres.

General Comments:

This car is fantastic. I am the only owner & will never sell it ever. We have done over 300000 km together.

She was very slow & under powered, but now has a GTI 16 valve twin cam under the hood.

She recently took us to Cape York & didn't miss a beat. I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2013

10th May 2017, 01:41

My previous car was a 96 Suzuki Sierra. Did 300,000km. A great little car. Parts last forever. No rust. Regrettably gave it to my grandson. I driven thru floods and done unbelievable things with it.

I bought another Suzuki... a Celerio... 3 cylinder. That too is magic.

Loved my Suzuki; only got rid of it as I was forced to street park it. It's still officially mine.

1996 Suzuki Sierra LX 1.3 Unleaded from Australia and New Zealand


Tough, reliable multi purpose machine


The only two things I've had to replace so far is the rear crank seal, which was leaking, and much to my dissatisfaction, still is.

The water and alternator belts were squealing because the alternator was misaligned (???). Even though I've had the car for 7,000 kilometres or 6 months, it stills goes alright and has given my cheap motoring so far.

General Comments:

The car is slow. Very slow. I can't keep up with buses in the city, and don't even think about doing 110kph on the freeway. The vehicle's lack of wind resistance does no favours for the 1.3 litre carburettored engine under the bonnet, which I'm told, pushes out a meagre 23kw at the rear wheels.

The interior is not particularly spacious, but if you are 6"4' like me, you will find the head and leg room very good. All controls are easy to find. It's Japanese functionality at its best. No A/C, power steering so there is less to go wrong. I wouldn't say the interior is exceptionally loud, although I haven't driven many quiet cars.

The ride. The suspension feels like it actually does amplify the bumps as another reviewer has put it. You will find yourself cursing the government about the lack of road funding, because you feel every single little bump. The handling is rubbish, as it is a 4wd and they are prone to tipping.

My car is only a '96, and it has been well looked after, so no rust. The panels are easily dented if you push on the doors too hard, but I have fixed and resprayed them.

As I've said, you have to push it way too hard to keep up with normal traffic flow. So I'm putting in a 1.3 litre DOHC 16v engine to give me a bit of a boost.

Did I mention it's a killer off-road?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2010

30th Mar 2017, 23:11

I just gave my 1996 Suzuki Sierra to my grandson... I did 350.000 km in it. I loved it. Parts lasted a lifetime. My cushy friends didn't like it because of the suspension and how cramped it was.

Mine went fast... yes I used to get more speeding tickets in the Suzuki than I did in the Torana.

I bought mine in 1998. It was road reg in 1997. You gotta find a good mechanic.

Because I found Suzuki a fab car company, my new car is a Suzuki Celerio... a 3 cylinder. As big as a Mazda 2 and just as quick... yes and I'm getting speeding tickets with this one also.

My daughter has the 4wd on her property... it's rust free and looking good. She's surprised at how many people want to buy it.

I truly miss that car... I never went 4wding with it as no guy was brave enough to venture out. 2 got 2 flat tyres while outing... each time I had a female friend as a passenger... I was in road service of course... while we were waiting for the service to arrive, these women broke down in tears... we were still in the suburbs...

OMG... I've an urge to ask for its return... Sad. I missed a heart beat when you mentioned it's the best for 4wd driving... I read on the net it was...

10th May 2017, 01:45

So true... yes it's a bumpy ride, but I used to do 110ks on the Sydney freeways. It is a slow car, but I thought it was my bad driving skills.

1996 Suzuki Sierra 4x4 Breakout 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand


Small, reliable and cheap to run



General Comments:

The Suzuki Sierra is a great little city runner.

We never took it onto the beach, but I hear it's ideal for that sort of four-wheeling activity.

It is the common knowledge that they tip over on steep inclines. If you do go off-roading, be wary of this... they have a short wheel base.

My wife and I found this car a good, reliable no-frills car.

The only thing it lacked was power and speed. Overtaking can be a stressful (and potentially dangerous) pastime, as the top speed it goes comfortably is about 100km/h. Any faster and the engine sounds like it's working a little too hard. Noise inside the cabin is a little loud at these speeds, too. Forget about listening to the radio on the freeway (unless you have a booming sound system).

Even during city driving, I found that I had my foot down on the floor very often. A long incline made it very difficult to stay at 60 or 70km/h. Cars are continually overtaking you.

But if you don't take on the highways, and you want a reliable, small city car that runs on the smell of an oily rag, the Sierra is perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th February, 2005

27th Jun 2009, 05:55

The Suzuki Sierras do have go. Depends on what year and model really. My mate has an '84 model and it goes past 140km/h.

21st Mar 2017, 04:27

Yes, agree totally. I bought a brand new Sierra back in 1989 and it would do 140km/h. WARNING: Not safe at this speed. Owned for 15 years until a red light runner destroyed it. Now driving a Jimny.

10th May 2017, 01:48

Mine was a ripper on the freeways... I guess I had a gem...