1993 Suzuki Swift Reviews

1993 Suzuki Swift GTi 1.3 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance113500 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Absolute future legend!!

Faults:

The wiring from the air flow meter to the throttle position sensor rubbed through, to cause to car to not run. This was sorted in a couple of days.

General Comments:

This car is a proper street legend, boshing out Saxo VTRs like anything.

From its little 1.3 engine, it produces 100 bhp, which ain't half bad.

Saxo boys, don't even try it on with a Swift GTi, because you will look stupid when it goes flying past you!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2005

9th Sep 2005, 02:18

A Saxo VTR takes over 9 seconds to 60. A VTS - you have no chance. Not exactly the highest goals in the world anyway. A future legend! Be real.

22nd Oct 2005, 08:01

9.9 seconds to be exact which is, quite frankly, embarrassing for a 1.6i. A nova GTE would do it no problem.

The swift has got one of the best 1.3i engines ever made.

Fact.

1993 Suzuki Swift GTi 1.3L from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance218000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Barina

Summary:

Great Car, but get problems at 200,000k's

Faults:

Suspension was already gone when I got it.

CV Joints replaced at 190,000km

200,000Kms-218,000Kms Replaced fuel pump, rotor button, and ignition module and ignition coil.

Car is playing up not sure why.

General Comments:

It is a very great and fast car that I love so much. Only problem is it keeps playing up and no one knows why. You will be just sitting there doing nothing and the car will just stop for no reason, then when you turn the key to start the car it sounds like the car is trying to kick over, but it won't. If any one has any ideas on getting my car to work again could you please tell me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd March, 2005

6th Apr 2005, 16:15

I guess I'm having the same problem. My car would just turn 0f. After a while it will start again. Have you solved your problem. How Can I fix my Suzuky Swift.

14th Apr 2006, 04:39

I have the same problem with my 1991 Swift GTi as well, however mines only done 87,000ks, when it goes it goes well, however sometimes it won't start for days, it starts about 1 out of 100 times I guess.

29th Jul 2009, 20:46

I have a 1993 Suzuki Swift and I have the same problem; occasionally I start up the car and it turns off on it's own. Also when I'm driving on the motorway doing 100k, the car starts to hop a little as if it's about to come to a halt. I have been told it may be the carburetor. Does anyone else have any clues?

7th Jan 2010, 08:13

Maybe it's spark plugs?

15th Feb 2010, 20:13

I have a different car, but same problem, I had a 1.4 turbocharged 86 Spectrum, pop the hood and check all exposed wires, any harnesses, and if you can get the car to start, while it's running wiggle all connections. Mine just got so filthy and some were bent just from driving and the weight of the wire harness bending the connectors. If you wiggle any wires and it dies, there's your problem; mine was the bad connection to a MAP sensor or something like that to control the fuel flow.

20th Dec 2012, 16:17

Dirty fuel tank and fuel pump filter, and probably fuel filter as well.

1993 Suzuki Swift L 1.3 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance262000 kilometres

Summary:

Best purchase of my life

Faults:

The transmission broke two times. But the second time, I put a used transmission. My head gasket blew at 230000 km.

General Comments:

Indestructible. this car is very hard because I drive it like a crazy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2004

1993 Suzuki Swift GTi 1.3 DOHC from Colombia

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 kilometres
Most recent distance97000 kilometres
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Very high performance for the buck!

Faults:

The first and second gears have had problems. Shifting from 3rd to 2nd is noisy, except when going very slow.

General Comments:

I think this is one of the best sports cars for starters, considering its cost. I use it daily and race it during weekends. Handling is superb, and with suspension mods, it turns like on rails. With minor modifications, lap times are only seconds short of highly modified pure racing cars.

It is a real head turner, and owners of expensive German imports are always surprised.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

19th May 2002, 01:23

I do not consider the Swift Gti a sport car.

It only have around 100 HP, compared with a Golf VR6 of 174 HP or a Subaru Impreza WRX 224 HP.

Several compact cars can go from 0 to 60 MPH (100 KMH) in less than 7 seconds or on the lowers 7's. A Swift Gti goes from 0-60 in 8 seconds which is not fast compared with several sedans that has the same performance and also at a low price (Exa: Hyundai Elantra, etc, etc).

Finally I found the suspension and chassis very weak, specially due to my experience as a rally race driver.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews