1988 Toyota 4x4 Reviews

1988 Toyota 4x4 2.2 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance246811 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Words cannot describe the way I feel about this truck!

Faults:

Replaced the clutch at 136,000 miles.

Replaced the rear differential around 180,000 miles.

General Comments:

Most dependable vehicle I have ever owned; this truck has delivered freight, survived 2 teenagers, and 4 wrecks.

She looks like heck, but can haul a full load of firewood at 75 mph without breaking a sweat!

I drove her off the lot in 1988 with 11 miles on the odometer for $10,500.00 (I took about a 8 mile test drive). She has never let me down, and I have never had to be pulled out of the mud or snow; I have rescued larger 4x4's though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2007

10th Sep 2009, 19:17

Wow! Bought my stock 88' Toyo in 03' for $5000! Love it! It's sitting on my Dads property with the engine torn out waiting for a rebuild it probably didn't need, LOL. The joy and pain of having a mechanic for a Dad.

1988 Toyota 4x4 SR5 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired232000 miles
Most recent distance290000 miles
Previous carChevrolet 1993 Toyota V6 P/U

Summary:

The best all around truck I've ever owned!

Faults:

I suspected that the head gasket blew, The compression was 175lbs for all six cylinders. The head gasket was leaking near a water jacket. The engine still ran great! Head gasket was changed at 270000 miles. No valve job was needed and the engine uses one quart every 1200 miles.

I had a "cold start" problem and the problem turned out to be a bad relay.

General Comments:

This is one of the best trucks I've ever owned! No matter how hard you treat it, It keeps running great! as long as you service it regularly! I've pulled several 3-4 thousand pound boats and 4X4'd for hundreds of miles.

In the last couple of years I've made many upgrades like: 6K winch, suspension, 5.29 gears, Detroit locker in the rear, aux fuel tank, and removed the front sway bar and added adjustable Rancho 9000 gas shocks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2004

1988 Toyota 4x4 SR5 Extra Cab 3.0 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter V6 Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance217356 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

Best reliable pickup out there

Faults:

Replaced the starter.

Replaced the clutch.

Replaced rotors at 210,000 miles.

Replaced power steering pump at 200,000 miles.

Replaced the head gasket at 150,000 miles, not because it needed it. There was a recall so I figured "Why not? With 150,000 miles and free!"

Repaired radiator.

Seats are very worn, even broken.

Small frame around interior door handles has started crumble from age.

Exterior mirrors broke at about 75,000 miles. They were just cheap factory plastic.

General Comments:

This is the best vehicle I have ever owned. It's tough, reliable, pretty powerful, good looking. I only have two complaints about it that I can live with; the exterior stock mirrors are garbage (from day one), and the defroster/defogger has been a piece of junk since day one. But, for as good as this truck has been to me I can't complain. It is now starting to fall apart cosmetically, but I can live with that. It is 15 years old with 217,000 hard miles on it and I live in a state with and average of 340 sunny days a year. In the summer the sun is brutal on our paint & interiors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2003

22nd Jun 2003, 15:29

Same problems with the clutch, and brakes, interiors are in good shape, the air conditioner is very good, and it has 212,476 miles, the mirrors BAD once a week I have to do the adjust, but I am very proud to own this vehicle, good luck my friends...Pete.

7th Apr 2004, 08:39

Hey there Toyota fans,

Me, I'll never buy a truck unless it is Toyota. I own 2, '86 extra cab 4X4's

One is jacked up 7" With the manual trans. E.F.I. 4 cylinder.

The other is stock, but has the automatic trans. and Turbo E.F.I. 4 cylinder.

I have no complaints on the trucks!

No wait, I do have one... I cannot find body's for them, as you see I rolled both!

Keep Trucking!

Ttownjoeshow@hotmail.com.

16th Jun 2004, 01:58

I have a 1988 Toyota Truck extra cab SR5 V6 with 107,000 miles on it. 240,000 miles would be average for a truck this year! It is black with silver stripes and gray interior like the one on the manual (I have all three that came with it). It has a factory: sunroof, power antennae, power mirrors, power locks, power windows, deluxe drivers seat, rear bed light, a light that came from Toyota that plugs in under the dash on a cord, manual hubs, manual transmission, factory speakers and cassette AM FM radio, delay wipers, A/C, tilt wheel, stock aluminum alloy 4 spoke wheels, stock tires. Everything on my truck is stock. The exhaust system has been replaced with a stainless steel system. It has of course had a new battery and new stock size tires. It has the original tool bag and jack and accessories. It has never pulled a trailer. I have never seen another truck equipped like this. I wonder how many were produced in this particular set up. I believe this is quite a rare truck! There are some mods I would like to do, but I am hesitant to do any to this truck.

Russ.

Russ@redlinecommunication.com.

23rd Nov 2005, 22:56

Just thought I would let you know that there is a solid front axle conversion kit available for the '88 pickup. just google pro off road.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 3 reviews