1996 Toyota Avalon Reviews

1996 Toyota Avalon from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance312000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Super fantastic

Faults:

I have a leak in the power steering.

I have done regular tune-ups, tires, brakes, rotors.

Normal wear on the leather interior.

Leaky exhaust.

General Comments:

The old girl has 312,000 miles and still runs strong.

I drive her 80 miles round trip to work every day, she has never left me stranded. We feel that she is part of the family. So look out 400,000 miles, here we come!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2011

1996 Toyota Avalon XL from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

The car radio antenna died. So stopped at half and pulled the power plug.

Got a knocking sound in the bumps at back and changed the struts, that did not help and changed the strut heads. That fixed the problem.

Rugged pin had a leak and that should be changed, now just topping the steering power fluid.

Valve covers are leaking, that should be changed.

General Comments:

Generally, a reliable car. Very comfortable and spacious. Except the above I don't have any problems. Just the regular maintenance. All switches and levers work, even after 12 years.

Even though it is old, I still keep it repaired, as definitely it will give 300K. So it is up to half of its life.

People may not like the car, as it is so old with the old model. It used to be a style 4 years ago, after all the new cars with new models... now this doesn't get any looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2009

1996 Toyota Avalon LX V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired151000 miles
Previous carToyota Tundra

Summary:

Bullet proof

Faults:

Loud noise in the rear when you go over the smallest bump.

General Comments:

The 1996 avalon that we have owned since 2000 has been the smoothest, most reliable car I have ever owned. I do all my own maintenance and repairs. The rear end noise that has been a problem for several toyota owners. One suggestion is to climb underneath the car on a level surface. Grab a hammer and hit the rear sway bar. If the noise that you hear sounds like when you go over a bump, the rear sway bar bushings need to be replaced. This job is very easy, consisting of four bolts and two brackets. About 1 hour total job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2007

1996 Toyota Avalon BASE V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance260000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A very reliable cream puff

Faults:

220K. Power steering system has broken and leaks all the fluid out. Probably caused by something I hit.

Interior is very worn, but good for 260K.

General Comments:

Very large and comfortable car. Lots of room to stretch out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2005

8th Mar 2007, 20:59

In the last few months ignition switch and alternator were replaced. This was the first time that the alternator was replaced on it. Runs great still!

1996 Toyota Avalon LX from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Previous carToyota Avalon

Summary:

Why didn't they advertise the recall?

Faults:

I had no problem until 2003. The motor failed and the company replaced everything because they were quietly recalled. Now the cam shaft failed. The dealer is charging me $485 for diagnosing the problem and $1950 for fixing it-- I think this may be associated with the problem I had two years ago--I am going to get it fixed because its worth nothing as it is, but I feel its not right.

General Comments:

After this problem, I don't think I'll buy another Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2005

1996 Toyota Avalon XL from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

The best car I have ever owned

Faults:

I have only had to complete routine maintenance. No other problems or maintenance issues whatsoever.

General Comments:

Very reliable.

Inexpensive to maintain.

Excellent gas mileage.

Very powerful.

Handles like a dream even at 120,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2004

1996 Toyota Avalon XL 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

All around good car

Faults:

The transmission went bad around 74,000 miles. That was not the car's fault though, it was the fault of a bad mechanic. I had the entire engine system flushed and the mechanic failed to refill the tranny fluid.

The CV axle boots tend to fail a lot. They are only like $70.

The speaker system is terrible. I have the 3 disc CD player.

General Comments:

Genrally this car is great all around. It isn't the best looking car. However it's fast, 0-60 in 8.3 seconds.

It makes a nice noise too!

I have tested this car up to 127. I had to slow down because it was a freeway in the middle of town. I have toasted many different kinds of cars.

It has the ECT, which is very handy in the snow.

It has great handling - I drive back and forth in canyons in Colorado and I know handling!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2004

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 13 reviews