1999 Toyota Avalon Reviews

1999 Toyota Avalon XLS 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Verona

Summary:

Amazing, reliable car for the price, and great options

Faults:

Overheating problem, possibly related to leak in the compression cycle. Not sure as I sold the car due to unknown repair costs. This could be a fluke, as I haven't heard any other complaints on the model.

Replaced other parts, mostly due to the age of the car, and basic wear and tear:

Radiator.

Brake rotors.

General Comments:

An excellent buy for the amount of money I spent ($6,000 in 2008). There is an enormous amount of room in the rear for legs. I am 6'4" and fit in there with several inches in front of me. The car does ride lower than most sedans, so if you have problems rising from a lower position, you may have difficulty with this car. The trunk is ample for almost anything.

The car kept up fairly well over time. The tank holds 18 gal, and gets close to 31 MPG on the freeway, giving you a range of well over 500 miles. The V-6 has ample power to merge with traffic, or pass anyone needed.

I only have one gripe with the car. The cupholders are horrendous. There are only two in the car, both in the front, and I wouldn't put anything larger than a can of soda in them. If you have a tall drink (say from a fast food restaurant), it could easily tip over and spill everywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2010

19th Nov 2010, 00:13

I completely agree with your comment on the cup-holders. Man, I had a great laugh out of this! Thank you.

8th Feb 2011, 15:06

How did you get 31 MPG?

1999 Toyota Avalon XLS 3.0V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 kilometres
Most recent distance302000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 320i

Summary:

The very best built buy the best!

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

The best car by far I have ever owned. I recommend this car to anyone who does not want problems and also know they have a very secure feeling in this vehicle. It is very safe and reliable. I would still drive this car across the country again. I have taken this car on many long trips and it has never broke down on me once. I still use it as my daily travler and rely on this car heavily with 302,500 km's on it. It has always started in cold weather and still drives like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2007

1999 Toyota Avalon XLS 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19750 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carInfiniti I30

Summary:

Amazingly Great

Faults:

Nothing Wrong.

General Comments:

Reliable, comfortable, just maintain it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2006

11th Aug 2006, 19:26

Sounds like an amazingly great car by all standards!

(sarcasm)

10th Dec 2010, 15:24

We bought our used Avalon XLS in 2001. Prior to that purchase, we owned a horrible Chrysler Concord. Once driven, the vehicle felt like silk on glass. What a great car! We had normal maintenance issues, but nothing of serious nature. I highly recommend this disguised Lexus. We had to give it to our son, but a loved one gets a well appreciated car.

1999 Toyota Avalon xls 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carGMC Yukon

Summary:

Great combination of luxury and sport!!

Faults:

NONE.

General Comments:

A superb luxury vehicle with very few faults. I have only owned the Avalon for a couple months, but it runs and drives beautifully. It has much more get-up-and-go than I would have expected. It has a very useful feature, a button that switches the transmission from normal to power, essentially changing the gears at a higher RPM in power mode... saves gas when you don't feel the need to scream around town.

The only faults I can think of is it would be nice to have rear A/C, a couple 12 volt outlets, it only has the cigarette lighter and recommends premium fuel.

I heard about this sludging problem, I am a firm believer if you change your oil every 3K miles, you won't have this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2006

1999 Toyota Avalon xls from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

A car designed wrong way

Faults:

The car has major brake problem. It created noise on brake-pads early.

I have spent thousands of dollars on the brake. The dealer says there is no complaint from brake and I am the only one who has problem.

Do you believe that?

General Comments:

This car has serious brake problem and is not safe or reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th December, 2002

12th Feb 2003, 14:39

Quote; "This car has serious brake problem and is not safe or reliable." You don't have a right to say that. Did you ever think of how you treated the brakes? or Maybe that the car you had was a lemon. So please do not refer to all of the Avalons'. I had my Avalon for 2 years already, and no brake problems at all.

1999 Toyota Avalon Platinum 3.0 L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9887 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

A Japanese Lincoln!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. Even though its main use is to go to bingo three times a week, no mechanical problems occurred.

General Comments:

As a traditional Lincoln or Cadillac buyer, when my daughter convinced me the Avalon would suit my needs better, after I test drove it, I can say that Toyota has made a car for us 80 year old drivers. Even though I only drive it three days a week, it truly is a dependable car. It's a perfect size, not too large like my Lincolns or Cadillacs, yet large enough to fit 5 without hassle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2001

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 6 reviews