1988 Toyota Camry DX 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Great buy!!!

Faults:

Replaced oil pan gasket at 184,000 miles.

Minor electrical fire at 185,000 miles.

Exhaust need to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car has been the most reliable car for the price I have ever owned. It is smooth and runs great. I will definitely buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2003

9th Mar 2004, 12:17

I love my 88 Camry - it has 248,000 miles and is still going strong. Very little cost in repairs - it's just needing a new clutch! The only recurring problem I have had is having to replace the exhaust pipes (about every 30,000 miles) due to too much condensation (it rusts the pipes).

9th Mar 2004, 16:50

Getting large amounts of water in the exhaust pipes isn't right. Something is probably wrong. If it is normal you should get stainless exhaust, you won't need to replace it all the time.

1988 Toyota Camry LE 2.0 SOHC 4I from North America

Summary:

Long lasting reliability for cheap

Faults:

Nothing major, just Oil change, air filter change.

Replace alternator at 205000 but the alternator look like the original.

Head gaskets are starting to give, small amount of pressure in the radiator.

Replace breaks twice, by fault. Did not bleed correctly.

Replaced all tires twice. A lot of driving.

General Comments:

Great gas mileage, but tranny has some problems. I think its the linkage or something, no 2nd gear. Goes from 1st to 4th and when put in drive2 it goes to 3rd? Weird, but still runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2003

1988 Toyota Camry V6 LE 2.5L DOHC 24valve V6 from North America

Summary:

A Modern, Refined Classic

Faults:

Fuel Tank breather hose failed in January of 2003. Cheap replacement at the dealer.

Other than that, when I first acquired the car, I had it brought back to factory specs. all were minor things such as CV boots, muffler, and plus/wires. I did this just to make sure the car was as it should be.

General Comments:

This is my pampered precious car. My parents bought it new in May of 1988. after 5 years and approximately 71,000 miles of it being our family car, my parents traded it in May of 1993. Fortunately for me, it never saw the lot. It was sold to the retired sister of a good friend of the owner of the dealership. Over the next 9 and a half years, this sweet little old lady drove my car to church and the grocery store. From the time I was learning to drive, I wanted a Camry because of this car and I got one. (See "Bolted together as if to last an Eternity) From time to time I would see her in town, and the folks in the service department at the dealership kept me informed about my car.

In July of 2002, I finally met her and told her if she ever wanted to sell the car, I wanted it. During the last week of August, I was passing by the dealership and saw my car in the service area. When I went in, they told me the lady wanted to sell it to me. So, the next week, I brought it home, got it tuned up and cleaned to my satisfaction. This car is still nearly like new.

I baby it, allowing only 2000 miles a year. It is and always has been garage kept. This car is not driven unless the weather is nice and the roads are dry.

The LE trim is incredibly sumptuous. Rich, plush upholstery, and the V6 is so smooth this car is heavenly to drive. As one of the last Toyotas sold in the US prior to the introduction of the Lexus line, this is one of the classiest, most beautiful cars Toyota ever built. Overall, you can see why they based the Lexus ES on the Camry. We also have a 1991 Lexus LS 400 that my Camry shares the garage with, and the Camry feels similar, but for the difference of RWD compared to FWD. But the Camry is almost as quiet, equally as comfortable, and seems quicker.

No Camry since has seemed right. This design is so elegant, and has just the right blend of performance and luxury.

Sticker on this car was almost $19,000, somewhat pricey for 1988. Adjusted for inflation, the new Camrys have become a much less expensive car, and it shows.

The Second Generation Camry is a modern classic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2003

4th Dec 2003, 08:30

A Camry is not a show car, you'd be best off driving it!! Too little use is bad for a car, especially Toyotas whos engines tend to sludge up!

26th Sep 2005, 02:45

How can you think it's a classic? Those Camry's are so ugly with the black rubber bumpers and cheap plastic hubcaps. I don't think I've ever seen one from that generation with alloy wheels or anything that made them look the least bit upscale or classy. You'd be better off with a Nissan, even Honda's offerings around that year weren't that attractive in my opinion.

29th Aug 2006, 10:05

My Camry has color-coodinated, matching painted bumpers! Oooo... AAaaaa... It still has cheap plastic chipped up hub caps though. No one would call an 88' Camry a classic. There really is no point in babying the car like that... when the time comes to sell the car, you're going to think it is worth a lot more than it really is because of the sentimental value you've attached to it. Unfortunately, most people don't really give a hoot about sentimental value, and will not pay you more than the car is worth.

It's 17 years old. You'd be lucky to get $1,500 out of it, even in pristine condition. I like my Camry, but I can be realistic about it too. For the most part, mine is still running strong at 154k miles.

10th Nov 2006, 19:05

Yeah, as stated in the comment above mine, the resale is going to be very low. I bought mine for $1,200 a few months ago.

21st May 2010, 16:51

"The Second Generation Camry is a modern classic."

I second that, especially when you compare it to any Camry post 1992.

I used to have a 1988 Camry (made in Japan) that had over 210K miles on it when it was donated. Engine and transmission still were in great mechanical shape.

Wish I had kept it. Look at how many 2nd generation Camrys there are out there still up and running. The newest 2nd generation Camry is 19 years old! That's why I consider the 2nd generation Camry the best Camry ever made.

Will always have a soft spot in my heart for these cars. The modern Camrys don't compare.