2003 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 6 of 7

2003 Toyota Camry LE from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance16500 miles
Previous carTOYOTA CAMRY

Summary:

My last toyota

Faults:

Car veers to left. it has been aligned twice, wheels rotated, tires balanced, it started when car was about nine months old, about 7000 miles on car. I feel it is something in the power steering mechanism. toyota technicians can only deal with wheels, tires, and alignment. they can't think "outside the box".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th March, 2005

2003 Toyota Camry 2.0 from Singapore

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9 kilometres
Most recent distance36000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Faults:

Occasional rattle from dash (seems to be affected by temperature of the day). The car's quiet otherwise, so the rattle is like the Japanese water torture. This from day one. Dealer has been unable or unwilling to solve this irritation.

Windscreen wipers now ride higher up on the glass when they are not in use. Seems like they have gone out of rig.

Squishy sound from left front damper over speed humps at parking speeds.

Drive belts are squealing; the car is about 18 months old.

Aircon compressor has been very rough lately. It's quite a load on the engine. Every time the compressor cuts out, it reminds me of the song "I want to break free".

General Comments:

Reliable family transport.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2004

11th Dec 2004, 06:09

Your Camry is sounds exactly like my 2004 one. I have a rattle in my Dash too and it only rattles when it gets warm, but when its cold Nothing. Mine I think is basicaly a good car, but I do wish Toyota would look into there quality control a little more.

1st Jul 2005, 03:23

I also have a 2004 Camry and thought the rattles in the dash, radio and seat belts were from the new vinyl and plastic rubbing and have waited a year for it to "break in". I have an appointment in 2 weeks...I'll let you know the outcome. I love my Camry!! But not the rattles and ticks!

2003 Toyota Camry SE V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired136 miles
Most recent distance22500 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Toyota is slipping

Faults:

Brakes worn early and unevenly.

Sun roof out of adjustment.

Static on AM band of radio.

Creaks and rattles from front glass and sunroof.

General Comments:

The car has potential. The problem is that Toyota has forgotten that a customer is important. I had a problem with my brakes, they were wearing out on the passenger side faster than the driver side. My mechanic brought this to my attention during a routine inspection. He expressed great concern and recommended that I have it checked immediately. Toyota response was that it was in 'spec'. and I paid a $50.00 inspection fee. When I complained they suggested that the factory rep look at it in several weeks. After looking at the car the Factory rep stated that it was in 'spec'.

During this process I was pretty much treated as if I knew nothing of cars and that I should just be comforted by the fact that the experts advised me that all is OK.

I checked alot of places and was univerally told that this was a problem that required looking into. Everyone was concerned except for Toyota.

I bought this car because my 1996 Camry was bullet proof. The brakes on that car lasted over 100k miles.

I sold the Camry last week and don't intend to buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

5th Nov 2004, 22:35

I have a 2004 SE V-6. It has thirty-five thousand kilometers on the clock and is a joy to drive.

There have been no niggling problems and no major incidents.

A lot of my driving is in the city and I find the car quite quiet in town traffic.

On the highway the tracking and handling is good. Great jump when moving to pass other vehicles in the 80-120 kilometer per hour range.

Good car!!!

2003 Toyota Camry xle V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

If it were not for the shifting problem - I would be completely satisfied with the car

Faults:

Poor shifting in low gears.

General Comments:

The car has a problem with shifting from 1st to 2nd. It will lurch and jerk forward before shifting.

I have had in it 3 times for repairs & each time the problem comes back within two weeks.

I have been told that Toyota has had numerous complaints/problems with this issue and that most of the time it has been repaired to the customer's sasisfaction.

I need to know if other folks are having this same problem and what has Toyota done about it? I have just contacted them and started the dispute resolution process.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th August, 2004

3rd Sep 2004, 18:22

Yes. We have this problem during moderate acceleration.

At about 20 mph it just gets stuc for about a second? What should I do?

7th Sep 2004, 17:16

The problem is the computer calibration for the shift adaptives.

There already is one updated calibration available so make sure your car has it.

Let Toyota know so they can come up with another as the first one only helps a bit.

The reason it is OK for awhile after the dealer looks at it is because they are restting the shift adaptives,and it relearns your driving patterns after awhile.

THIS APPLIES TO THE 5 SPEED AUTOMATIC ONLY.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 23 reviews