5th Jun 2006, 21:57

For all "older" Camry owners who have the check engine light on, note this:

Older (for example, 1999, 2000, and 2001) have a poor design in the trunk. The wires for the high mounted stop light, tail lights, front lights, etc, are attached to the hinge that moves when you open the trunk. Over time, the wiring can become frayed and short out the circuit board that is in the trunk on the driver's side.

This'll cause the check engine light, and the Over Drive On/Off light to come on. There is no problem with the oxygen sensor or the overdrive shift solenoid. Tell your mechanic or electrical shop to test the circuit board and repair any frayed wires.

6th Jun 2006, 12:39

I have 99 Camry with 90K on it. The check engine light is on now. I was told that it is EGR valve problem. Does anyone known how to fix this kind of problem? Thanks.

7th Jun 2006, 10:13

I have a 99 Camry LE v6, was suggested a timing belt and both water pump replacement. The mileage runs at 90K, am told the bill would about $1100, $500 for the parts and remaining labour... getting a feeling that its little too much... wanted to know if this in the correct range or am I being ripped off?

Comments would be appreciated.

28th Jun 2006, 11:04

I am having trouble with blowing fuses for my gauges on my Camry CE. I replaced the fuse and when I put it into drive it blows the 10A fuse. Can anyone shed some light on this problem?

6th Jul 2006, 11:46

I have a 99 Camry LE. The engine light has been on since I bought it in 00. I've taken the no sweat attitude with it, and figured I'd drive it til it died. I have 133K miles on it, and it has not died. I've done nothing to it but change the oil and add gas.

I'm running into problems now. because it won't pass emissions, and in my state, you can't keep it registered like that. I'm getting the gas cap, O2 sensor, and other codes. Despite these codes, the car still cruises like normal, so I drive it. I was told in my state, they have a spending cap for emmissions compliance of a few hundred, so I'll spend that and still drive the car until it dies, like I would normally do. I'd like to get another year out of it, two would be the best.

Every car has its baloney after 100K miles, they are designed this way so we will want to buy new cars and keep the industry going.

18th Jul 2006, 00:18

I purchased my 1999 Camry LE new in June of 1999. Up until last week, I never had a problem with the vehicle. Changed the oil every 3 months or 3K--whatever came first. Car has been maintained at the selling dealer since day 1.

Last week my check engine light came on. Took it to the dealership and the exhaust sensor was replaced to the tune of $314.00. Labor alone was $150.00. Four weeks earlier, my car was inspected and passed with flying colors.

My question is, isn't there a Toyota TSB regarding the O2 exhaust sensor? I remember reading that the fault was a supplier problem that caused the failures. Wouldn't this be covered under the emissions warranty that has been extend to 8 years?

19th Jul 2006, 20:22

I just purchased a 1999 Camry CE with 96K. After bringing the car home, I noticed a noise coming from the trunk (I thought). So I removed the contents of the trunk and it still has the noise. It is noticeable only when going over bumps, little or big. Of course I bought the car as-is and took my chances. Can anybody offer any suggestions as to what it is and how to fix it. Please! It's going to drive me insane.

27th Jul 2006, 18:30

Loyal Toyota driver - never again!!

So many people have codes po441 and po446 with no resolution (either from dealer or private mechanic)

What gives? State of PA won't pass emmissions with engine light on, and there doesn't seem to be anyone who knows how to resolve this engine light issue. Don't keep throwing away good money on replacement parts. Have the engine light turned off and sell the car. I have tried all of the above resolutions and nothing works.

8th Aug 2006, 00:09

I have a 2000 Camry CE.

The engine light went on.

Sometimes when I drive, it smells like something is burning. When I turn the AC off, I don't smell anything. What has gone wrong with my car? Please help!

11th Aug 2006, 20:09

Hi there.

I am about to buy a 1999 Toyota Camry LE which has 76,000 miles on it. I am getting the car inspected and would appreciate your feedback on anything I should particularly look for in the inspection and/or any upcoming repair/maintenance costs I should be prepared for?



21st Aug 2006, 11:56

I have a 1999 Toyota Camry and had a bottom main seal go in the engine ever since it was FIXED I have had to add oil every other week. Two days ago I was on my way home from work approx. 20 miles and heard this clicking sound upon acceleration, it got so bad I parked the car and have not used it since, (I really don't have the money to drop into it right now) I am dropping it off at my mechanic tomorrow any ideas as to what the problem might be? I have spoken to a few people some say the engine is blown others think to tranny is shot. My car has 138K and had a reman tranny put in at 92K at a dealership. Any ideas?

30th Oct 2006, 17:52

The check engine light came on in our '01 Camry at around 75K miles. The dealership told us it was the charcoal filter and that we should change it or we won't pass inspection. So we did for $432 parts + labor.

Two weeks went by and now the light came back on. I don't know what to do.

18th Apr 2007, 19:44

I own a 2004 Camry, 4 cycl, my check engine light just came on? Can't see a reason for it? everything runs fine, all the fluid levels are good, the gas cap is on tight? Only 50,000 miles on it, it's a cert. used toyota. I haven't owned it for two years yet!! Very frustrating to find out it cost hundreds of dollars to fix. There must me some kind of recall on this? this has to be a manufacturers defect. Too many Camry owners have the same problem.

24th May 2007, 23:35

I have the same problem with my Camry (error code p0446). I have a OBDII scanner and I keep clearing the codes and it comes back on in a matter of days. Don't waste your money on a charcoal canister...I've talked to Toyota mechanics and they see this code a lot and still haven't pin-pointed the problem. If I do figure out what it is I'll let you all know. In the meantime, I suggest buying a code scanner and just clear the code yourself before going for state inspection.

12th Jun 2007, 11:46

I purchased a 2000 Toyota Solara SLE new from the dealer with 300 miles on it. I now have 197000 and have never had any problems with it. The only parts that have been replaced are brakes, tires, and windshield wipers. I routinely change the oil myself every 3000 miles using Mobil 1 synthetic. After owning this vehicle, I don't think I'd ever own anything other than a Toyota. Recently I purchased a 1999 Lexus RX300 with 96000 miles for my wife and it runs just as well as the Solara. Personally, I think anyone that ever has to take a car back into a dealer/mechanic more than twice for the same, reoccurring problem needs to find a new mechanic.