8th Dec 2007, 10:12

2002 Honda; 3 transmissions and counting... can we send you the bills?

10th Dec 2007, 14:07

Just chiming in about the Check Engine light problem.

I have had my 1999 Camry since 2000 and I am at about 169,000 Miles right now. Only work I have done is brakes regular changes and, recentely struts.

I have experienced the Check Engine light game like everybody else seems to be commenting on. After a few go- arounds with bringing it in to the dealer, having work done and then the light popping on again after a couple of weeks, I decided to just let it ride. I always passed emissions tests (passed just last year,) for inspection and the car runs fine.

However, in Massachusetts this is no longer an option. Your car will fail inspection if the light is on. It is becoming very frustrating for people with Toyotas. I know some people with even 2003-2005 Toyotas that are having this issue already. I go for my inspection sticker next month.

Judging from the views of people on these boards this may become a serious problem for 1999 Camry owners, as more and more states are putting this CEL issue a inspection sticker make-or-break.

Personally, I love my Camry, but I don't have the time or money to go through what some people I know are going through with this inspection sticker nonsense.

19th Jan 2008, 16:14

I have a 1999 Camry LE 6cyl with about 77335 miles on it. The check engine light just came on. It has been running fine since all this time. I put an OBD2 car-code scanner on it and it shows two FAIL items under the OBD2 Mode $06 tests.

TID=$07, CID=$01, and the other error says only TID=$07, CID=$10. The only description my scanner software says is "$07 MANUF DEF". I searched the web for TID $07 and CID $01 OBD2 Mode 06 codes and I found one document that says these codes are for Oxygen Sensor Bank 1, Sensor 2.

In looking to purchase this part, I see mentions to two O2 sensors are required at one site and others only show one "Before Catalytic Converter" sensor and one "After Catalytic converter" sensor.

Which sensor is Bank 1, Sensor 2 on the 1999 Camry LE V6 engine? (I really hope someone can answer this quick on this forum. From what I've read here, it is everyone asking questions (like mine) and there are no posts answering any of the questions).

Hope someone who has replace O2 sensors on the 1999 Camry V6 will answer. I see the front exhaust pipe O2 sensor under my hood, but don't know which one it is... Bank1, sensor 1 or sensor 2? I am thinking of changing that one.

19th Jan 2008, 22:40

1999 Toyota Camry - Just replaced: Timing Belt, Water Pump, Thermostat and Filter, Air Filter, Coolant, Labor $485.00. Mechanic also advised of the P0446 Code as my Check Engine light has been on for some time. Glad to hear all the comments regarding this issue and the mileage mentioned by everyone. Now have over 163,000 miles and up till now, only needed minor maintenance. I think this is a good car!

23rd Jan 2008, 15:13

1999 Toyota Camry - Another Member of the CEL/Inspection Sticker Club.

Car runs great. I bought it used in 2001 with about 30K on it. Currently I am at 165K.

No maintenance aside from the recommended service, oil change, tires and brakes. My last brake job the dealer said I should consider new struts.

Well, about 6 months ago the Check Engine Light came on. I am up for inspection this Month, (Massachusetts, as some people have pointed out, will fail you for the Check Engine Light On.)

Brought the car into the dealer, today. Two problems: EGR VSV and Charcoal Canister. (No surprise after reading all of these comments.) I decided to have them go ahead and do the work. I figured, the car still runs great and I have had not had to put that much money into it so far.

I will try to follow up in a little bit to let people know if the work solved the problem. I have noticed, reading through the comments here, nobody has said whether or not the charcoal canister fix completely solves the CEL problem or not.

The stress I am feeling is: what if I have to go through this again when I need the sticker next year.

If so, it is, sadly, sayonora to the best car I have ever owned.

6th Feb 2008, 09:07

What I am getting from all of these posts is that generally the Camry is a good car except for the problem of the check engine light failing emissions tests. I just need a fast and dirty way to get the light out, and pass emissions with little or no cost. Has anyone ever just pulled the fuse that lights up the dashboard and just replace the fuse after emissions test is passed? If I can I am going to do this. Stop the madness.

8th Feb 2008, 11:01

I own a 1999 V6 Camry, I believe made in Japan. I've had the wires in the back trunk fixed when I could not see the engine display while driving, prior to replacing both backup lights at the same time. Shortly after I purchased the car in 2002 with just over 50,000 the front started rattling and I was told by my mechanic that it was a defect of the strut tower bushings, but it could wait til it was time to replace the struts. I now have driven the car over 177,000 miles and was told by summer it would time to replace them. As far as the Engine Light going on, I usually ignore it, until I decide what is wrong or it just goes away over time. I still enjoy driving the car and engine still sounds great!

9th Feb 2008, 12:30


You must live in a state where there either is no emissions testing, or the testing does not include scanning the car's computer for trouble codes. In my state (NJ), many people cannot drive their Toyota's (at least not legally) because of their defective emissions systems not allowing them to pass inspection.

15th Feb 2008, 08:07

Recently bought a 1999 Toyota Camry with 60,0000 miles on it. Dealing with the Check engine light problem like a lot of others. People I bought from have been very nice and are willing to take car back. My question is should I give car back and look for another vehicle or will I be able to get around this CEL problem?

6th Mar 2008, 13:32

Hi All.

I posted last month about my Check Engine Light problem. I said I would follow up.

I had the work done at the Dealer: about $900.00. (Charcoal Canister, etc.)

The check engine light has remained off for over a month now.

I passed inspection, but while I was there somebody in line failed because of a Check Engine Light on their 2004 Toyota Corolla.

24th Mar 2008, 11:20

I just bought a 99 Camry at 115k. I've read a couple of reports of bad suspensions or struts. There has been a clanking sound from the front passenger side 2 days after I bought the car, and now there is a grinding noise there too. I'm thinking that the brakes are worn out, but does anyone know if that's related to the suspension? should I do something about that at the same time? And also, I live in a mountainous area and my check engine light came on. The code is P0770 though, not P0446. That's the solenoid malfunction. A tranny mechanic said that I should open up the transmission, which is going to cost a lot. But the light comes and goes, and the tranny oil is brown, so I am thinking maybe oil just needs replacing (and get the gunk out). Also, he told me that with transmissions that hasnt had the fluid change in a long time, its worse for it to get a transmission flush. Anyone know if thats true? Is there another way to try to fix the code? I have only had the car for a month. I think I will buy a new car next time...