1991 Toyota Carina Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1991 Toyota Carina XL Matchplay 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

An economic, trustworthy car which is certainly recommended as a secondhand buy

Faults:

The radiator developed a leak at 133000 miles.

General Comments:

Good fuel consumption, still proving to be very economic.

Rarely requires water or oil top up.

Good volume of space for transporting, with back seats folded down and parcel shelf removed.

Comfortable size interior and simple to drive.

However interior decor is rather bland and the seats are rather firm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2005

29th Nov 2005, 06:43

I really love my Toyota Carina II 2.0 this car is so trustworthy, and very practical car. Here in the Philippines, where the road is not that smooth, comparing it to my other previous cars, this Carina II runs very smooth and stable. And in the highway, I can cruise this car and leave other cars. And we maintain this car with yearly rust proofing and synthetic motor oil. And this car remained like brand new condition. I got this car from my Mom, who bought it in brand new way back 1991. And right now, even this car is already 14 years in our family, we don't have any plans of selling this Carina II. Instead, we keep on buying Toyota products like their Carina E, Camry and Hi-Ace van, and they all satisfy us. I really thank Toyota for producing quality safe cars that are so reliable.

25th Jan 2006, 14:49

I have had a 2.0gl auto for the past year. never let me down once, but a total nightmare on petrol. must admit due a service, but on tight budget whats best I can do for least money.

29th Jan 2007, 16:12

My father bought the Carina Matchplay brand new in 1991. He owned it for about 7 years and passed it on to me. It had it's first set of brake pads at 80,000 miles and brake shoes at 110,000 miles. I have just sold it with 207,000 miles on the clock. I serviced it regularly and it gave me an average of 40 miles to the gallon. A truly brilliant motor car.

19th Oct 2008, 17:34

I have a 1991 Carina XL 2.0. A very good car and on 105,000 miles. I have noticed the clutch appears to be biting too quickly, does anyone have any ideas for me please?

31st Oct 2008, 11:10

I owned a 1993 K plate Carina E 1.6 saloon, and apart from being a huge car inside, it was a good car. I did little work on it, I sold it when I brought a Honda Concerto 1.6, I sold it to friends of mine, who when they took it for a MOT it passed with no faults. It now has 124000 on the clock and is still going strong, well done Toyota.

1991 Toyota Carina XL 2.0 diesel from Poland

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance235000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Great wagon for every day and highway

Faults:

The exhaust system corroded and fell apart - exchanged for a new one.

Rear shocks expired.

The radiator rusted out at 230 000.

I had to buy the air-box silencer since the car had a front left crash and this expensive plastic part was not included in the repair.

I decided to replace an entire wiper arm as the spring has gotten weak. Actually I had one from Carina E installed, fits perfect.

General Comments:

The car drives smoothly and is dynamic for a 70 horsepower diesel station wagon.

I have had bigger wagons before this one, but the size comes in very handy.

Despite the look, the seats in the Carina are among the best standard fit seats I have ever experienced, even better than those in my old 240 Volvo I would say.

The quality of fit and finish is high.

The Toyota is cheap to run and a real fuel miser, thus I feed it the best fuel and oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

1991 Toyota Carina XL II matchplay 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A great deal of reliability and economy in a cheap secondhand car

Faults:

The battery had to be replaced at a cost of £42.

There was a minor oil leak from the filter seal, which was cured by replacing the filter.

General Comments:

This is a very economical car to run and continues to perform at better than 40 miles per gallon.

It is a rather dull car to drive, and "16 valve" emblazoned above the boot lid spoiler all looks rather ridiculous when it is outpaced by many vehicles lacking spoilers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

21st Jul 2006, 13:57

The Carina is without question one of the quickest 1600cc family saloons for the money. Nothing the same spec in its class will outpace it. Serious torque for a family car, and ultra light as well.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews