1995 Toyota Carina Reviews

1995 Toyota Carina CD 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

As solid and dependable as a hammer

Faults:

New cat fitted for MOT at 112000 miles.

New discs and pads fitted at 114000 miles.

That's all that needed to be replaced on this car in nearly 18000 miles, so not bad!

General Comments:

I bought this car as a cheap runabout until I could afford something newer. I never thought I would come to love its basic and hard working honesty as much as I did. For an older car it was amazingly reliable, and I covered big distances knowing the car would not let me down. For it's age it was quite well spec'd with four electric windows, remote locking, air con, electric sunroof, alarm, and velour seats, and quite comfortable.

It had a nice solid and indestructible feel to it, a bit like driving a Mercedes.

The 1.6 is slightly underpowered, but I could average about 38 to 40 mpg, so I was happy enough. I think if I had the choice again, I would go for a 1.8.

Had loads of space inside for 4 adults, and had a massive boot with fold down rear seats, so very practical car too.

I was sorry to see it go actually, but I have an ST220 Mondeo now, so don't miss it that much!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2009

1995 Toyota Carina LXE 2.2 litre 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 litre 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance292905 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

An excellent world class car

Faults:

Replaced timing belts and water pumps every 115,000 miles - $ 465 total (two times)

Replaced Transmission seal at 205,000 miles -$275.

Replaced front brakes and disks at 95,000, 190,000 and 275,000 miles - $100 each time.

Replaced rear stabilizer bar at 225,000 - $75 + 20 for labor.

Replaced Radiator at 255,000 miles - $300.

Replaced exhaust and catalytic converter at 265,000 miles - $700.

Touched up paint nicks from road debris at 185,000 miles and 265,000 miles - $15.

Tape storage door spring broke on one side at 105,000 miles - $15.

General Comments:

1995 Camry is the most reliable car I have owned.

Slightly better than my 4 cylinder 1988 Camry ran perfectly when I sold it at 206,000 miles.

I didn't need: transmission repair, engine repair, rear brakes, shocks, or struts.

My round trip commute is 70 miles a day, 5 days a week. About 70% is highway driving.

Still gets 27 mpg tank to tank down from 29 mpg since they added ethanol to the gasoline mixture.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2006

1995 Toyota Carina CD X 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carFord Cortina

Summary:

Well...what can I say... AWESOME!!

Faults:

Radiator leaked when new to me, but covered under warranty. Fully repaired.

Drivers seat becoming worn on the right side. Unable to discover why this happened. Usually very careful keeping interior first class. But minor point.

General Comments:

Well, what can I say!!! Awesome car. OK its styling isn't going to set world on fire, but for sheer reliability, performance and sheer peace of mind that she's going to get there, this car is simply the best one that I've ever had. So much so that I'm now looking for another newer one whilst wanting to keep this one as well!!! Says it all I think.

Well done Toyota- and its built in Britain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2005

1995 Toyota Carina Executive 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0i Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

Grandad gets a grey Ferrari!

Faults:

The car has needed new brakes on 2 occasions, and various small things which cost lots to replace through a dealer. I have had new headlamp washer jets fitted as they have broken at a cost of £30 each!

Now I can't get in through the drivers door. I have to open it from the inside. My local dealer says it'll cost £400 to fix! The car isn't worth £400!

General Comments:

This car is huge. It's much bigger than, say, a Vectra, and you can fit a whole cottage in the boot, and yet it's as nippy and fast as a Renault 5 Turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

4th Feb 2003, 06:22

Carina E's, although being made by Toyota, are not up to their usual standard, perhaps because they are made in the UK, and not Japan. Just check the JD Power surveys, they constantly finish below Japanese built Corollas, Celicas etc. However, they are still better than Mondeos, vectras etc!

30th Jun 2003, 05:41

I agree. Its better to stick to a 1992/1993 Carina E, because they were made in Japan. Don't let the age scare you... They don't come more reliable.

1995 Toyota Carina Solair 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Ugly as sin, but will do the job well

Faults:

The air conditioning has needed yearly servicing at a high price.

Electric sunroof has needed servicing three times during ownership of car, but it was installed as an added extra by previous owner.

General Comments:

This is a very dull car.

Very comfortable seats with room for 4 6 tall foot adults in front and back seats.

Unrestricted head room in front and back.

Very well laid out interior.

Looks like a bit off a pudding, but handles well.

It is a very dull car to drive, but will get you from A to B safely, comfortably and reliably.

Very good standard sound system.

Excellent brakes.

Servicing is expensive, but the car is nicely valeted and clean when returned.

Has little or no character, but is very sensible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2002

1995 Toyota Carina Executive 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Reliable, safe and comfortable

Faults:

Interior is irritating to clean, too many small areas unreachable by a vacuum cleaner. Seat material is also a real dust attractor.

Power aerial gets stuck occasionally during the winter.

Headlight washers break off in car wash quite frequently, so try and find a bumper with washers built in. (in later models, this is standard)

General Comments:

Gearbox slightly weird, not as solid as I would like.

Performance is excellent, engine can be a little loud past 5000 RPM.

The rear spoiler is a definite must, as the car does not look as impressive without it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2001

1995 Toyota Carina GS 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Reliable everyday transport, is a bit bland

Faults:

Flexible exhaust joint at 110,000.

Cassette player failing to eject.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2001

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews