1977 Toyota Celica Reviews

1977 Toyota Celica GT 20R from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 20R Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

They sure don't make them like this anymore

Faults:

Not one thing was wrong with this car, except it was a little low on R12 freon. My buddy has 3 30 pound cylinders of it, so I went over there and charged it up. Ice cold now!!!

General Comments:

I used to drive a pickup truck before the $4.00 gas thing in 2008. I bought a Honda Civic and I hated that car. I was driving down the road one day, and saw this 1977 Liftback for sale for $800. It ran perfect and the body was in great shape.

The interior was in bad shape. Torn seats, worn carpet, and no headliner. I fixed all that for under $500, and now I have a car worth $5,000.

I think it's a great car that is getting rarer by the day. I miss the legroom and roomy feeling of my old truck, but this car is a great way to save gas and ride in style at the same time. Extremely reliable car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd May, 2011

1977 Toyota Celica GT 20R from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 20R Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Summary:

Great sporty car with a beautiful body

Faults:

The cars carburetor wasn't very well plumbed and will frequently change the way the car runs by itself. Slight leak in the head gasket, but not much oil loss. Seats came very badly worn. The headliner glue was becoming weak and so it was starting to fall. Electro sensor isn't very accurate and usually gives false data.

General Comments:

I spent only $375 on this car and it ran just great. The U-joints were very worn, but were replaced for only $25 dollars. I put new paint to cover some rust threatening spots. The car handles extremely well with a tight suspension and still pulls $130 MPH without any modifications (could probably go faster on a track). Is really a very beautiful car with great lines and with a good coat of paint, quite the babe magnet. For a 1st car I would recommend this car to anyone in the market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2006

22nd May 2007, 17:16

My sister (who I was living with for several years at the time) owned a 77 Celica Hatchback. At the time, it was quite a stylish car. However, even back in the late 70's and early 80s, she had several problems with this car, including the data display that always indicated something was wrong, even though there was no problem.

It was fun to drive, but I would hardly call it reliable at any point in it's life span.

1977 Toyota Celica GT 2000 2.0 DOHC 18RG from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC 18RG Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carHillman Avenger

Summary:

A very quick and rare classic with the pulling power of 140 horses.

Faults:

Sills under doors required steel plates to be welded, which cost about $200 NZ.

General Comments:

This car was purchased as a toy project. The model was a 2 door lift-back which I later found out were quite rare in NZ. The engine had just been reconditioned and came with twin Mukini carbs when I bought it. The engine was an 18RG.

In standard form this car was reasonably quick pulling somewhere between 140-145BHP and only weighing ~950kg.

Being 6"2 I found the 'cockpit' a bit small, however the drivers seat was very comfortable and all instrumentation within easy reach.

When I sold the car I had it running with hardened springs and at 184BHP with modifications to the exhaust, extractors and head.

I would recommend this car to any driver looking for a car that is bullet-proof and has outstanding accelaration for its year. This engine is particularly easy to modify. If I could get my hands on one, I would definitely buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2003

22nd Jul 2004, 05:00

The liftback weighed more than 950kg. The TA22 Celica coupe weighed in at 940kg - the 1973 Liftback (RA25 GT2000) weighed in at 1040kg and it was the lightest of the early model liftabcks. The 1977 (I assume you mean the RA28?) weighed more than 1040kg.

17th Dec 2005, 04:07

You're wrong. The 1977 RA28 weighs more than 1040kg. Your scales are wrong or you have ripped out stuff from your RA28 to make it lighter. Check your specs and do some research because 950kg for an RA28 is utter rubbish. The TA22 weighs 940kg and I can assure you the liftbacks weigh a fair bit more.

7th Mar 2007, 03:18

Hi, I have a 1977 celica with an 18RG motor. It will be good for parts, it has not been running for a while and has a lot of rust, but a lot of things are still good if anyone is interested than please write back cheers.

28th Mar 2007, 22:47

1040KG sounds about right.. The LT RA28 1977 2D Liftback has a kerb weight of 1080KG.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 3 reviews