2001 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2001 Toyota Celica GT 1.8 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I won't buy another Celica again

Faults:

The clutch was always problematic and had to be overhauled at a cost of over $2200.00.

The engine seems to be consuming a lot of oil, most often approximately 1 can per 2000 miles. I've never experienced anything like it in any of my cars.

General Comments:

Aside from the problems I've mentioned above, the Celica is a fun car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2004

1st Feb 2007, 14:44

Never buy another celica? What you need to do is sell your celica and buy a new one. Most likely the reason for you problems is the owner before you drove it way to hard and burned up the engine and transmition.

24th Mar 2008, 06:46

Your problem with the oil consumption is a fault which is covered under your engine warranty. Take it back to Toyota. The information is well documented.

2001 Toyota Celica VVTi 140 Premium 1.8L VVTi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L VVTi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Looks fantastic, good performance, great insurance/running costs for type of vehicle

Faults:

Belt in engine started to squeak as it has started getting colder outside. Will be replaced under warranty next week. Apparently it needs a replacement belt and pretensioner.

A few minor rattles in the cockpit.

General Comments:

A fantastic car to drive, with very compliant handling. It gets up to motorway speeds faster than you'll ever really need it to, although as everyone says, it does love to rev towards its ~7000rpm red line. Very good fuel economy if you drive sensibly and use 6th gear as much as possible.

Comfortable interior (especially with the leather seats), loads of space for two adults in the front. You can squeeze a couple of adults in the back for very short trips, but that's about all! The boot is huge for this type of car, with handy luggage hooks and little trays under the carpet etc. There is a full-size spare wheel under there as well.

The car looks gorgeous from the outside, and despite being 5 years old now, it still looks very fresh, still gets quite a bit of attention, and girls love it!

The insurance group for the base 140BHP model is extremely good (considering the look and performance of the car). As a 20 year old when I bought the car (with 0 years NCB), I paid around £2200 for the year. My renewal quote for when I'm 21 with 1 year NCB takes it way down to £1000 for the year.

I bought the Celica, used, from an official "Octagon" Toyota salesroom. They were very friendly and helpful, and I get the peace of mind of a years' official Toyota warranty. Although if everything I hear about Toyota is true, then I shouldn't have any significant problems with my Celica.

I would definitely recommend buying this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2004

18th Jun 2006, 17:36

I also own a Celica T sport! The car is great! Yes some people are saying they are having problems with wheels, I can agree with tem on this principle, however the overall outcome you get from this car is rewarding!

Excellent fuel economy, with sexy looks, can you go wrong?

With anything mechanical, it can never be perfect, you just need to maintain it, I enjoy my Celica and its great!

One writer stated he was blown AWAY by a Audi A3 TDi, while he was driving a 140bhp Celica, I own a Tsport while my father owns a VVti, making it the 140, I left standing the a Audi a3 2.0 TDi!!! It depends on the driver!!! Type R’s only 187Bhp, you can tune the Celica TSport to 200BhP without maximum effort, I Have! An Awesome ride!!! Totally recommended!!!

19th Jun 2006, 12:13

Type R is 197bhp actually not 187 and that's a starting point not a full tuned one. first rule of making a fast car... start with a fast car in the first place.

29th Jun 2006, 09:21

Type R is a rapid car, but it doesn't look half as nice as the Celica.

12th Jul 2008, 11:57

Get a toyat starlet TURBO BYE BYE TYPE R.

13th Jul 2008, 15:19

Toyota Starlet 133bhp... Type R 197. Just how is that bye bye Type R???

And if you talk about boosting the starlet... do the same for a Type R and run double the power, or add supercharger to the Honda and add 60bhp.

Now tell me again, how is the Starlet gonna compete???

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews