2002 Toyota Celica Reviews

2002 Toyota Celica T Sport 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

8/10

Faults:

Rear brake caliper broke at 67000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is very eye catching and quick over 6200rpm, but very noisy rattles, and the engine is noisy on motorway, it's very loud. And now there is a rattle noise from engine only when pulling away, sound like exhaust. Can anyone help?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2009

2002 Toyota Celica GT 1.8 Liter 1zz from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 Liter 1zz Manual
Distance when acquired30299 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

The worst investment I have ever made

Faults:

Check engine light comes on repeatedly.

Plastics or splash shields are likely and have fallen off.

The car stutters and hesitates frequently at start up, or after driving for extended periods of time.

Lift back shocks stopped working very shortly after I purchased the car, and cost $300 a pair from the dealer to replace. (More expensive than the shocks and struts of the vehicle suspension).

Engine has had a loud knock and tick since 2005.

The car is extremely noisy inside the cabin.

General Comments:

Would trade my Celica for my old Prelude in a heartbeat, despite spending over $25,000 on financing this junk.

Seats are uncomfortable.

The visibility of blind spots is horrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2009

15th May 2009, 20:42

Another good reason to buy a domestic car. Your Celica sounds almost as bad as our Honda Civic. We drive Ford and GM now. No problems at all.

21st May 2009, 21:07

I own a GT myself, and the little things happening are just typical for a Japanese car as the miles get up there. My shocks are shot, I've got to watch my oil a bit more, but if you take care of it, it will take care of you.

You mention a strange "tick"...the VVT-i system produces valve tick, which is not uncommon on many 4 cylinder motors. From what I've researched on Celica forums, it's nothing really to worry about; it comes and goes. I'd say just keep putting miles on your Celica and try to take care of it.

24th Apr 2011, 22:50

My 2002 Celica has been awesome. I love the seats. Yes the lift back struts are dead and it is a bit noisy inside @ 126 miles per hour. My engine runs better than it did new @ 152k. If it was a Ford or Chevy it would be about ready to expire. The steering and handling is better than anything ever made in America, besides the new Corvettes. I could have bought a Z28 for the same price, but how many of them do you see anymore? It would have been falling apart by now!

2002 Toyota Celica GT-S 1.8 turbo 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo 4 cylinder Manual
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

By far the best car I've ever owned!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The handling is perfect. I got it lowered. I'll take any car on back roads!!!

Interior is a 9/10. The only down side is I'm 6'2", so there's no room for anybody in the back seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2007

2002 Toyota Celica GT 1.8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Very fast, and Mean!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car yet. The only thing I can say is that the brakes sometimes squeak on me when I break going really slow. Other than that the car is perfect!

General Comments:

Handle's like mad!!! I love the way the car runs. Very fast for only being a 1.8! Beats an Eclipse or Civic anytime. Believe me, I've done it without any mods to the engine. HA

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2005

14th Sep 2005, 10:29

Hey there... I have a 2001 Eclipse and it's FAST FAST. Thinking of getting a 'Yota Celica. What does anyone suggest?? I have heard bad things about both!!!

My Eclipse has 105000, the clear coat's cracked and the resale value sucks. Has anyone else had this problem?

2002 Toyota Celica vvti 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Great car spoilt by a poor gearbox

Faults:

I had 4 new alloys fitted when I bought the car as they were showing corrosion.

I recently had another 3 alloys replaced after 9 moths for the same reason.

I have had new petrol tank fitted on recall.

I have had new front discs/pads due to corrosion.

All the above on warranty and most without me highlighting a problem.

General Comments:

This is a wonderful looking car that has great handling, it sticks to bends and the turn-in is pin sharp.

I like the silver colour not too bright, but always looks clean and smart.

The car is a 2003 model so has the more subdued interior, which is a big improvement. Looks less plasticky too.

The 2003 has the larger brakes and suspension upgrades as well, this is also an area that many other cars cannot compete in. It simply soaks up back roads.

However, the gearbox is far too notchy, it baulks and isn't smooth. Any search on the internet will show that the 6 speed box is re-known for this. What a shame. The dealer changed the gearbox oil and it did make some improvement.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2005

28th Sep 2005, 07:47

Agree with the comments. My Celica (51 reg) has required two sets of wheels, one complete all round set of brake discs and pads at 21,000 miles and now requires another set at 48,000 miles. The wheels are again showing pitting and corrosion and have apparently not been designed for British weather.

5th Oct 2005, 06:15

I too have the same findings about the 6 speed gearbox and the alloy wheels.

Can anyone recommend an after-market alloy? I am thinking of buying a set rather than replacing crap Toyota ones for more of the same.

15th Jun 2006, 10:03

To fix the notchy gearbox, get upgraded brass bushings to replace the rubber ones. From www.gtschris.com I think. Cheap and easy to install yourself. I did, and it made a huge difference!

1st Oct 2006, 17:01

Just a thought, would Slick 50 for gearboxes make gear change any smoother?

27th Dec 2006, 08:46

Just wondering if anyone has had an electrical problem with the 2002 Toyota Celica. My sister's car just caught on fire the other night. It sat in the driveway all day and then all of a sudden the car filled with smoke and the dash started on fire. Just wondering if Toyota is working on a recall or something?

Ah.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews