2003 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2003 Toyota Celica GTS 1.8 4 cylinder 6M from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 4 cylinder 6M Manual
Most recent distance44900 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Sexy

Faults:

Clutch had to be replaced at 36,600 miles - this cost 1400.

Water Pump leaks need to be replaced at 45000

Drive Axel seal leaks need to be replaced at 45000

Fuel Injection was done at 36,000 per Dealer.

I don't know why the clutch went out so early and naturally it is not under warranty. I don't know if FI was necessary as the manual does not indicate. Also do not know why the water pump leaks at what seems to be low mileage. I don't know enough about cars to determine if this is normal.

General Comments:

I don't race in this car enough to know how awesome the ride is. The car does have a safety mechanism that pulls or yanks you back to reality if you try to floor it. When I first purchased and was not familiar with the handling, you can feel the speed and power of the car nervously. However you get in control within a day.

The back seating may appear small but it really is not. I am able to drive around adults in the back. Although the illusion of it being small gets you out of being a taxi service. My Mother is short but round and fits fine. My Dad is average height, but thin and fits fine but prefers the front. My brother is either 6 or 6-1 and just fits. Probably anyone over will not fit as their head will hit the ceiling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2008

2003 Toyota Celica GT 1.8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

This car is awesome

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is awesome.

It is reasonably quick and handles beautifully.

Mileage is as high as my previous car (Corolla) so no trouble with high gas prices.

I totally love the seats, they are super-comfortable and the cockpit-like feel is just awesome.

To top it all, this car is extremely good looking. I've had people commenting on it all the time.

It still has the same old Toyota reliability, so I don't expect to have any trouble with it.

My only complaint is that rear seats are a joke. Although 2 adults can squeeze in, they can get seriously uncomfortable soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2006

2003 Toyota Celica GTS from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Not happy with the car, won't buy another Toyota

Faults:

Engine blew up, dealer replace engine under warranty, but never explain what the problems was, seemed to be very silent about the situation, was without the car for 2 weeks.

Clutch had to be replaced, dealer charged me $2500 wasn't covered under warranty.

Water leaked around driver's window, repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

Engine only performs at high revolutions, which makes interior noisy.

Easy to bog engine down during speed shifting, engine requires more torque.

Manual transmission shifts nicely and smoothly, but it can be difficult to get it into first gear.

Brakes & handling fair.

Interior fit and finish good, but everything looks cheap.

I won't buy another Toyota again too many major problems with the car and Toyota dealer service was extremely poor, and replacement parts are extreme expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2005

3rd Feb 2005, 10:36

The references to speed shifting, engine performing "only at high revolutions" and a clutch replacement (at only 16K km!) that WASN'T covered under warranty all indicate that this owner abused the car.

Then he complains that it doesn't hold up.

Apparently he has now sold or traded it. I feel sorry for whoever gets it after it has suffered the tender mercies of this reviewer.

2003 Toyota Celica T-Sport 1.8 VVTL-i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 VVTL-i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance4446 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

The complete sports coupe

Faults:

No faults so far...

General Comments:

This is a superb car. I had considered a few motors and chose it over an Impreza WRX in the end. Why? - well the Celica may be beaten on performance, but it is much better looking, uses much less fuel and feels much more special.

The subaru was very fast, but at the end of the day you can only tell the difference in performance when you have a very long, very straight road with no speed limits, cameras or other cars - it just doesn't happen.

In the Celica you can have your fun (with a 0-60 of under 7 seconds), slow yourself down (60-0 in 3 seconds) and then cruise around town in what looks like a baby Ferrari.

Theres the difference. While the Subaru will get you respect with rally fans and performance heads, the Celica turns the heads of everybody, young and old.

The engine is sweet with peak power arriving at 6,000 rpm. It is superb when you time it just right so that when you pull out to overtake you are just hitting 6,000 - watch it fly. Then leave it in until just over 8,000, change up to third and you will just be at 6,000 to start the whole process again - sweet!

T-Sport leather seats are excellent an look cool as well.

Gear change on 6 speed box is slick and quick - although geting into reverse can be a pain. (it's next to 1st and the car beeps like lorry to let you know it's in).

CD player is OK, but a tad disappointing.

17" T-sport wheels look cool and the 205 tyres keep the car glued to the road.

Steering is well weighted and gives goo feedback through corners.

Bit disappointed with motorway refinement (though not bad for a sports coupe). Cruise control not even an option, but would be nice for long journeys.

Back seats aren't as bad as many people think - I am 5' 10" and I can fit in comfortably. Some 6 footers mates of mine have managed to shoehorn themselves in before now as well.

My car is Storm Blue - it looks black, but has a blue flip to it, depending on the angle.

My advice - buy one, its the complete sports coupe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2003

10th Feb 2004, 14:38

I am interested to read your review of the T sport. I am awaiting delivery of mine on 6th March - counting the days!!

I have bought one in Chilli Red. I believe that it is in keeping with your comments regarding the mini Ferrari.

You are correct about being looked at by old and young. My test drive was great - bright sunshine, shades on, part of me wanting to take her up 8,000 rpm, but another wanting to make sure I was seen!

I have yet to arrange my insurance. Toyota appear very competitive, however, I would be interested if you have any better ideas.

Regards.

Malcolm Keys - malcolm@keys.eclipse.co.uk.

2003 Toyota Celica 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carLotus Esprit

Summary:

Stylish, fast, brilliant handling and great interior

Faults:

No faults at all. This car is a well built delight to own.

General Comments:

The handling is excellent and very comfortable.

The car is fast and economical.

The stereo is very good and the leather seats and sunroof make the interior even nicer. (Also the climate control A/C is nice on a hot day).

The car is such a pleasure to drive and is quick enough. I have had much quicker cars, but they were no fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2003

27th Mar 2005, 19:42

Tiptronic steals power just like any regular slushbox. Sequential manuals are a different story, but it'll be years before they are "perfected" enough to start to become mainstream. I doubt tiptronic would even exist if Americans weren't so lazy and construction projects had a chance of keeping up with the massive congestion in the cities...

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews