2004 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2004 Toyota Celica from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual

Faults:

I just bought Celica 2004 and I owned it for a 3rd week when I noticed that the transmission sounds like grinding when on 1, 2, 3 gear

Please answer guys who have owned celicas. I can return the car and loose a little money (like US $1000),nut I really like it. On the other hand it will be expensive to repair it because I will have to make monthly payments + insurance...

It will be a very expensive car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

2004 Toyota Celica GTS 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Nice car, but needs to be revved like heck to perform

Faults:

My concern is with the fact that Toyota Canada is reported to be so exceptional with customer service. My experience has been the contrary. The Celica GTS has next to no low-end torque and Toyota offers no aftermarket parts to up the ante. They didn't even respond to my request. After I had a true cold air intake system added to give me some "get up and go" I had my engine light come on and noticed some rattles from my exhaust. I asked my dealer about this and they didn't even care to respond. I also wanted to have their credit dept. allow me to pay my monthly's on my credit card and they simply stated: "no, we don't allow that and it won't change in the future". They simply don't care about customer service. It is a joke. Never will they get me again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd November, 2004

27th Nov 2004, 11:17

I have found my local dealerships service department very unhelpful. I took my car in over 2 weeks ago because the engine malfunction light is on. They said the part was ordered. This morning I go to start my new celica and it won't even start. I call the dealership and they tell me nobody is available in the service dept. I am left high and dry the entire weekend without a car.

2004 Toyota Celica GT from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Extremely worried that I have owned the car for only 2 weeks and already had it in the shop twice

Faults:

Engine malfunction light came on after 1 week of ownership censor has to be replaced.

Emergency brake is loose part had to be ordered.

General Comments:

This car handles great.

Factory stereo could be better.

Has a great appearance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

2004 Toyota Celica Premium 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20500 miles
Most recent distance21300 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Very nice car to drive on the open road

Faults:

I have only had the car 2.5 weeks and nothing has gone wrong yet.

General Comments:

I have hankered after a Celica for a while now and with the family grown up and away, loads of space wasn't a necessity.

I love the looks of the car. The performance is good and the interior fine.

Only things I am still getting used to are the rather stiff gear change, but I reckon I'm lazy on the clutch and not pushing it right down. Other thing which is a bit more disconcerting is a tendency for the steering to wander over certain surfaces. It is superb on smooth roads and my local race track (oops!) I haven't really had time to check this problem out, but reckon it may be overinflated tyres or the front wheels out of alignment. Other than that I really like the car. I find it more roomy than expected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2004

30th Jul 2005, 17:50

I am an 'old' man of 59 who took delivery of a new Toyota Celica Premium in October 2004. The drive and handling were superb once I got used to the six gears. The total car design is fabulous and in my opinion cannot be bettered for it's price, looks and performance. Furthermore, my local agent H W Moon in Chorley are great. I get the total package. I'll not only be buying another Celica,subject to my financial situation, but will also be buying a smaller 'shopping' Toyota for my wife. So, that's a 'buying signal' if Moon's give me a good part exchange price for my wife's current car.

Furthermore, I do not work or have any financial interest in Moon's!

23rd Jan 2007, 16:42

I have owned my celica premium for about 18 months now, and am I still like a kid with a new toy, that's when I can get the keys out of my wife's hands. We owned a Carena before hand for approx 11 years, and it served us extremely well, now the kids have grown up we decided on a whim to PX for our Celica I must say it was worth it. I especially liked the Two tone leather seats and door panels, that's what really sold the car to us. Unfortunately I rarely get to drive it as I work away from home and the bride won't let it out of her sight

:- (

Now they have stopped making them, I hope the replacement is as good, I will certainly consider buying myself one as a new toy.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews