1974 Toyota Corolla Reviews

1974 Toyota Corolla SR5 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership1986
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carDodge D100

Summary:

A great little sporty car before the rust got it

Faults:

When I bought the car, all 4 fenders had virtually rusted off. The rust eventually ate through a plate on the intake manifold and the coolant disappeared very quickly.

The starter would vibrate itself loose about once a month and fall out (literally), and was just about impossible to put back in until I drilled a couple holes in the floorboards to reach the bolts.

The gas gauge never worked.

General Comments:

This was a most drivable car. The 1600cc motor was the performance engine, and in the glove compartment were instructions to increase the tire pressure for prolonged cruising over 100 mph.

It was light and nimble, and a lot of fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2006

4th Aug 2006, 15:20

A 1974 1.6 4 banger is not a performance engine.

21st Aug 2007, 20:56

I don't know, I've got the standard 1200 in the se version, and it pulls harder than our 2ltr van does. great little car. One I've got only has one little spot of rust, and that won't be hard to fix.

23rd Aug 2007, 19:41

It's been 17 years and I still think about my 1974 Corolla. I bought mine in 1986. It had an excellent engine and was surprised that it still had a shine to it's original gold paint colour. And since it just sat in the previous owners garage for 10 years, had no rust and only needed a new exhaust system to pass safety.

I painted it flat black and tore up the country roads with it for nearly 5 years. It was a standard 4 speed-stick, and once, even with 4 passengers, I got the tires to squeak in the 4th gear slot. 4 winters was all I could get out of her before the rust made it too dangerous to drive.

If I ever get the money, I'll find another one and treat her right, which means away for the winter months.

1974 Toyota Corolla sr5 from UK and Ireland

Model year1974
Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carYugo 101

Summary:

A Yugo gets higher performance marks

Faults:

Every thing I had to replace the engine after only 20,000 km, the rear end blew shortly after and now the transmit ion is grinding into gear.

General Comments:

Never Buy this car even if it is given to you turn it down. I beg you to never drive one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th May, 2006

30th May 2006, 09:12

I completly agree I had a 74 sr5 as well and it was the worst car that I have ever owned.

21st Aug 2007, 20:59

There is absolutely nothing wrong with them. you can't kill them. You must have really driven it hard, or the person before you did. Those engines can take a real beating. I've got one, and I'm glad I did.

2nd Mar 2009, 05:55

I personally think anyone who is having problems with these cars cannot be satisfied with any other vehicle around the world. These are the easiest of all available cars.

Maybe the cars you bought were already dead after getting severe regular torture from their previous owners.

I have kept these cars and guarantee these cars are the cheapest and most reliable set of wheels ever built.

Now a days you can't enjoy these little beasts as the manufacturer doesn't built these kind of cars anymore.

Never sell them if you have one in good condition, it's nothing but gold.

Average review marks: 4.3 / 10, based on 2 reviews