1986 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 7 of 12

1986 Toyota Corolla GT-S 1.8L 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A high performance, but highly practical car

Faults:

The plastic radiator started leaking at 75k miles - replaced it with an after-market metal one.

Converted the air conditioning to R134 in 1995.

Seats are pretty worn by now.

The clear coat over the black paint is peeling off.

General Comments:

This has been a really wonderful car to drive, and very reliable. I love the power and handling. Needs to run at high RPM (redlines at 7600) for best performance.

Hatchback with folding rear seats makes it easy to carry large items like lawn mowers or many bags of mulch.

Seems you can't go wrong with a Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

7th Sep 2004, 15:36

Still have the car?

Long_tran@hotmail.com.

1986 Toyota Corolla CS-X 4A-C 1.6L 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4A-C 1.6L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired187600 kilometres
Most recent distance190400 kilometres

Summary:

A great first car!

Faults:

The car needs a new radiator bottle to house excess water.

The right headlight needed to be fixed.

Engine lacks a bit of power in low RPM.

General Comments:

I bought the car early this year for my 18th birthday, also as a first car.

I paid $2,800 for it and it has been the best $2,800 I've ever spent. The car works wonders, its clean, comfortable, easy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2004

1986 Toyota Corolla SR 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance115000 kilometres

Summary:

Absolute junk

Faults:

Crashed the car into a barrier because I didn't have very good judgement. Minor damage to the chassy. I also reversed into another parked car.

I pulled handbrakes and eventually worn the tyres.

General Comments:

A very reliable run-about, very peepy little engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

24th Aug 2005, 13:15

Well maybe if you learnt to drive properly you wouldn't have so many problems.

1986 Toyota Corolla GL 1.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired285000 kilometres
Most recent distance287000 kilometres
Previous cartoyota corolla

Summary:

It is cheap to run

Faults:

When I bought the car it had worn brake pads.

The exhaust pipe had holes including the muffler.

Also the C.V's were worn.

The body had minor rust.

General Comments:

I have always wanted an 86 Corolla just because I like the shape.

And I bought the car because parts for the model are so cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st January, 2004

1986 Toyota Corolla DX from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired82300 miles
Most recent distance82780 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Bargain Basement Beauty

Faults:

The car needed a tune up, as the person who worked on the car before put them incorrectly in and the car was misfiring. The steering wheel shaked when first driven so I had a wheel alignment and tire rotation done which corrected the problem. The oil change was recently done. The cassette player wasn't working, so I had it fixed which cost $92.00 total, but it's the original Motorola and the sound system is killer. It has a small dent in the door and a little paint wear and rust on the driver's side fender which has to be fixed. Total spent so far: $400.00.

General Comments:

I bought this car as a daily beater for $685.00 from the original owner (a very nice lady who was getting up there in age and kept excellent records), while my engine on my RX7 is being rebuilt. I'm going to keep it because it is a wonderful little car. The interior hardly looks like it's been sat in. There are no rips in the headliner or seats, only a small gouge on the driver's side where the window latch is, which I can live with. It doesn't have the greatest pick up or zippy style like the 7, but that's like comparing apples to oranges. My 7 has been nothing, but problems since the original owner didn't take care of it. I had starter problems, transmission, you name it! This car, once I fixed the little things it needed has been a pleasure to drive. It's a lot roomier than my 7 and can seat 5 adults comfortably. Gas mileage is great. I get around 30 mpg on highway, even in it's antiquated state. The seats are comfortable and for what it is a point a to b car, it's more than adequate. From what other Corolla owners have told me, I can expect many more years of enjoyment from this little baby.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2004

1986 Toyota Corolla DX 1.3 from Denmark

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 kilometres
Most recent distance310000 kilometres

Summary:

Wonderful first car

Faults:

As far as reliability goes, absolutely nothing. The only time it was in the shop for something more than a tune up was when I drove it into another car. Which was completely my own fault.

General Comments:

1.3 engine and automatic transmission is perhaps not the best choice, but it was cheap, and incredibly comfortable to drive around town in. It did however lack some power and perhaps a higher gear when on the freeway, the noise was too much at speeds over 130 km/h.

But when all that is said, I wouldn't hesitate one second to buy a Toyota again, the reliability and ease of owning it is just amazing. Nothing ever went wrong with the car and it always starts. Wondeful first car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2003

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 42 reviews