2008 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2008 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 gas from North America

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 gas Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired210 miles
Most recent distance26320 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

I call Corolla the biggest common mistake

Faults:

Fixed under warranty:

Transmission started lagging after around 16000, and finally replaced at 19800kms.

Rack and pinion replaced at 23500.

Not covered/mentioned normal by Toyota:

Rattling at dash and windows and bumper and back seat; some of them fixed by dealer, but they return sometimes!

Frame squeaks when there are four passengers or some load in the trunk.

Engine vibrates at different speeds.

Very loud wind noise at highway speeds.

General Comments:

The car has a very poor ride. Specially on the highway, you feel you're driving a 70's truck in the mud.

Overall, don't buy the car if you go out of downtown or drive faster than 40mph at all!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th April, 2010

8th Apr 2010, 20:51

What frame? The Corolla doesn't have a frame. So it can't be squeaking. Perhaps you mean suspension?

15th Apr 2011, 08:08

I am also disappointed with my 2008 Corolla; the dash squeaks, there is a lot of wind noise, especially if there is a cross wind, and the ride is not the greatest. The fuel economy is nowhere near advertised. I hope it lasts as long as my Tercel.. but somehow I doubt it.

15th Apr 2011, 11:29

Your comments sum up what a lot of people are going through with newer cars... they just can't match the old cars they have had or have... but with manufacturer's costs going through the roof... safety and smog regulations that seem to have no end and a world market that is rapidly changing... it's a miracle that they even stay in business...

15th Apr 2011, 12:38

I just took a 2009 Corolla in to have the alignment checked a couple of months ago. We were told the rear sub-frame assembly had sagged just from the weight of the car and special shims would be required to align it. Pretty poor build quality if you ask me.

6th Jun 2011, 19:58

I have a 2008 Corolla and have problems with the rear dash panel squeaking when the temperature rises. It's OK in winter but summer or high temperatures beyond say 70 degrees F brings out the squeaks.

This is my second Corolla, my 98 Corolla got better gas mileage and was of better quality. The windows on my 08 are slightly thinner glass, the doors are thinner, the seats more cheaply made.

Overall, I think the quality is cut back significantly. I usually keep my cars ten years, but I'm thinking five years max.

2008 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60 kilometres
Most recent distance14900 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Toyota quality has gone down for sure

Faults:

This car just seems to like returning back to its previous house (i.e. dealer)

I have had problems with suspension, with paint, and with the starting. They were mostly fixed under warranty, but four times being in the store is not good record for 7 months.

Worse than all, the handling is horrible in higher speeds, and this one is not addressed by the dealer yet. I also should complain about the high level of noise in cabin.

General Comments:

What happened to the quality of my '99 Corolla? The material seems cheaper in new model, and the quality control is missing. I bought this car just because of the good experience with Corolla, now it seems I should think about domestics (even if they are the same quality, at least they look less ugly!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th January, 2009

6th Feb 2009, 18:16

Toyota reliable? I think NOT. I'm waiting for 2009 list so I can comment on Corolla 2009. It is crapped. Bought it in Aug 2008 and 5 months in I had the following experiences:

1. On the day of pickup, the car was not ready, then had to come back. Second day, they only had one key and lost other two keys. There was a dirty dot spot on the passenger side.

2. Two months in, this damn tire air pressure light came on so I had to back to the dealer. They were advertising the tires had nitrogen and were trying to sell refill package, but luckily I declined. Otherwise, I'll be angry for having to come back every time this light came on. It happened twice so far. Nitrogen package is a rip off. Having to skip work and go back to the dealer for a refill will likely cost you thousands more.

3. Also this car is now equipped with cheap materials or something, because while driving, a rock hit the windshield and it cracked 1/4 of the way horizontal down. Had to pay $100 to shield it. I don't buy it; when the dealer said depends on how fast etc... well I don't know how many rocks hit my Honda 97, but it didn't chip it, why is that eh???

4. Just this Jan 31, 2009. I was about to start this sucky car, and guess what, I couldn't start it. Next morning I called Toyota assistance at 7am. Had to wait for 1 hour for agent. 1 hour for tow guy to come. I was wondering why they gave this assistance card in the first place??? Anyway, the tow guy was able to start it by keep pressing the gas pedal, he said it was flooded with something. People are surprised when they say we have to pump gas for a fuel injection car.

Anyway, I'm wondering what will fail next... so now I say it is a myth that all people think Toyota is reliable. Damn not.

2008 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 gas from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Faults:

I have only 20000 km no problem so far.

Good car during the summer, but a little expensive.

General Comments:

Generally speaking the Corolla it is OK; good mileages, but too light and poor stability on the highway

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd January, 2009

18th Jan 2009, 23:21

Ask yourself why a so-call class leading vehicle is not performing as well as it's supposed to? Highway stability issues refers to how well Toyota is able to duplicate a Volks Rabbit suspension. Germans are knowned to calibrate well any suspension design. I have replaced Toyota front struts with no improvement in ride quality. I finally found that the structure was the issue. Weak stress points. Toyo mechanics could not help since most buyers avoid dealers and no records are available. Cast iron block and simple tech make the beast reliable. But how can you pretend to be the best with a loose structure? Reputation can kill! Then, how can you explain that a 300Hp 4Runner is left behind by a 190HP Dodge?? In fact, Asia, I hope, will lose the war against us. We first land to the moon and they are following since.

11th Apr 2009, 07:24

The reason why Corolla is a little bit unstable at high speed because of the soft suspension. This car is used for daily transportation, not for driving excitement.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews