2003 Toyota ECHO Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2003 Toyota ECHO - 1.3 Litre petrol from Oman

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance27000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Espero

Summary:

Highly Recommended Budget Car!

Faults:

Problems? Nil.

General Comments:

An outstandingly cheap car to own.

The ECHO lives up to the Toyota mark of quality cars.

All I spent in 2yrs of ownership was 1$ on the electric fuse.

Excellent fuel mileage, up to 30 kilometers per lite cross country.

Traveled over 2750 kilometers non-stop at an average speed of 140 kilometers per hour and without a single jerk or problem.

Highly Recommended Budget Car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2005

29th Jun 2005, 19:00

Wow. It must be a good car if you did not even have to buy gas, only $1 on a fuse.

30th Jun 2005, 02:57

I said Cost of Ownership. Not expenses for the car. Fuel is counted towards expenses to the vehicle, not a liability.

1st Jan 2007, 14:24

Oh! up to 30km per liter fuel consumption? My echo 2001 is only 10 t0 12km per liter city driving.

2003 Toyota ECHO from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

I like it, but liked my CRX better

Faults:

Sometimes a vibrating rattle when stopped. A couple times it down shifted on level road for no reason. Air conditioner could be better.

General Comments:

A very good small car. Lot's of room and 38 to 40 m.p.g.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2005

11th Aug 2005, 15:14

The 'vibrating rattle' would be the ABS kicking in. It has a pronounced 'thrumming' noise. Should only happen on a sudden or hard stop.

2003 Toyota ECHO from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26300 miles
Most recent distance27100 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A solid, inexpensive car that makes a statement...

Faults:

...and that statement is not "I am cheap." It's "I am a smart shopper."

I've only owned this car for a little while. Nothing has gone wrong with it aside from a few things that were fixed by the dealership at the time of purchase. These include:

*Rear defroster repaired.

*Antenna lubed (it was stuck in the retracted position).

*Plastic grille on front of the car was snapped back into position.

*A small plastic piece of trim was re-attached.

General Comments:

The ECHO is great for singles, college kids, or people who just want a good, solid compact car and can pass on the frills. When I pay for a car, I like to think my money is going toward the manufacturing of a reliable vehicle... not into a light-up cup holder or musical ash tray. On the other hand, there are a couple of things that are not standard on the ECHO that I would have liked to have, such as anti-lock brakes.

The ECHO handles responsively, turns tightly, and drives well in rain, snow, etc. It does lean a bit in strong winds. Otherwise, you really don't feel as if you're driving a small, lightweight car. The interior is extremely roomy and the driver sits high. But again, you'll feel how light the car is when you go to pop the hood or roll down the window. My Pontiac required the strength of 20 men to pop the hood... not so with the ECHO.

I can't really comment on reliability yet, since I've only had the car for 2 months. But judging from other reviews and ratings, I expect few problems.

A lot has been said about the ECHO's peculiar stylings. Although my last car was sleek, I was ready for a change. I've always been a fan of the slightly un-glamorous appearance of certain cars, like Volkswagens. At any rate, I'll take my quirky-looking ECHO over an unreliable sports car with poor fuel economy any day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2005

20th May 2005, 00:30

I am looking to buy a 2004 Echo from a couple who have total of 4 cars now. I was a little hesitant at first, but after reading these positive comments, I feel confident to go for this deal. Great Gas mileage is a big plus in my decision.

2003 Toyota ECHO Base 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Most recent distance17500 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

A cheap to maintain little bug

Faults:

The battery went dead because I did not turn the lights off.

The gas gage started acting strangely, but now it works fine without and repair.

General Comments:

This car is great on gas!

This is not the car for you if you want performance--the car doesn't have much pickup, but ECHOs are not meant for performance anyhow.

However, if you are a tall person, be aware of this car. My son was about 5'8 or so when I bought this car. Now, a year later, he's 5'10. His head is close to bumping the ceiling. He cannot sit in the back seat because his head hits the ceiling and is very uncomfortable.

Altogether, this car is great on gas, the performance is OK, but the car is not meant for tall people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2004

23rd Mar 2005, 08:49

I am 6'5 and I cannot believe how much headroom I have in the 2003 Toyota Echo - even if the seat is in the upright position I still have room.

My last car was a 1992 Mercury Topaz which is not for a tall person at all so this is a blessing to me.

6th Dec 2008, 18:48

This review is completely twisted.

The Toyota Echo has lots of room for the driver and passenger in front, and it is basically designed for two people, with lots of room. It is actually a very roomy vehicle for two.

But if you are tall and want to sit in the back row in a two-door vehicle (as the one I tried was) you are out of luck.

2003 Toyota ECHO 1.5L 4 Cylinders 108 hp from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5L 4 Cylinders 108 hp Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Best value car there is. Who needs an SUV?

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

No manufacturer's defects whatever, well-made and solid.

Runs well, handles nicely, looks good. Small on the outside, large on the inside.

Handles well despite small size - 15-inch wheel option helps.

Best low-price car around (although accessories that would be standard on other cars can run up the price).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2003

2003 Toyota ECHO 4 door 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance2200 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Colt

Summary:

The best small car in the world!!!

Faults:

This car is a joy to drive.

There is nothing wrong with this vehicle at all.

General Comments:

This car is very quick.

Very easy to handle, almost no road noise what is great compare to other small cars.

The headlights are fantastic, at night drive it is a big plus.

The seats are comfortable, the heat is great. This little car has lots of room inside.

This is the best car I ever had!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2002

7th Jan 2005, 15:39

This surprises me. I am 6'7" and was able to sit in the front seat better than other compacts. In fact, I think the Echo is one of the tallest cars on the market - taller than cadillacs... Certainly, the brochure boasts a lot of headroom too.

14th Jul 2005, 15:49

QUICK??? obviously the first car youve ever owned.

1st Dec 2006, 17:45

He owned a car prior to the Echo, according to his report.

Read before putting fingers in gear.

18th Nov 2007, 22:39

Very true, manual always gives a lot better performance. If you look at any same vehicle on the market and compare the 0-60 and 1/4 time, the manual will always be 1 second faster then the automatic. That little 1.5 liter with a manual is respectable. Every teenager with a Honda Civic has that same 1.5 liter engine, has a lot of potential!

3rd Sep 2009, 18:15

Best best car ever!! for a small car it's reliable on a highway and quiet.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews